Pink Hibiscus Flirtini

26 Nov

As it’s the weekend and it is officially holiday season I thought I would share a little cocktail with you. After the success of my Golden Jasmine Martini and seeing this double page article in The Independent (The Washer Up’s dad sends me all food & drink related articles, thanks Jim!), it had to be with tea. Apparently cocktails made with tea are the next big thing.

The English summer garden party was all about people drinking cocktails out of flowery teacups. The Royal Tea cocktail created for the Royal Wedding in April was with Beefeater gin, chilled Earl Grey tea, lemon, sugar & lime.

Being more of a vodka girl myself it was a toss-up between a Flirtini and a Cosmopolitan. I chose the Flirtini because of the use of cava/champagne. I do love bubbles and it is nearly Christmas.

Influenced by the beautiful hibiscus plant on our roof terrace that greets me with fresh new blooms every morning and the fact that I bought a box of Hibiscus & Rosehip Tea in the one euro bins in Alcampo supermarket, Hibiscus tea it was.

The Cosmopolitan is definitely next on the list though, especially because of the hibiscus tea’s similarity, in both colour and flavour, to cranberry juice.

Pink Hibiscus Flirtini

serves 2-3

  • about 150 ml brewed, strained hibiscus & rosehip tea, left to cool
  • 2 or 3 shots vodka
  • a handful of ice
  • cava/champagne/prosecco

Put your glasses in the freezer to chill. Put the ice in a cocktail shaker along with the strained, cooled tea and the vodka. Shake well and pour into the chilled glasses. Top up with chilled cava. Serve immediately.

 Be creative and try adapting your favourite cocktails to include an appropriate tea. Alli at Pease Pudding has a gorgeous looking Velvet Berry Tea Rum Slushy. I’m thinking a Mint Tea Mojito….

I’m sure you will enjoy yourself trying, have a great weekend!!

15 Responses to “Pink Hibiscus Flirtini”

  1. Tony Ward November 26, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    O.K. O.K. you talked me into it guapa !! Its just coming in to Summer her e so I’ll have to improvise with the Hibiscus !! Will a geranium do (pink of course !) ?? Have a lovely weekend. x

  2. Suzi November 26, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Oh what a nice cocktail. Looks very refreshing and a nice color. I have hibiscus in bloom by my front porch. This may be my new martini drink. Thanks!

  3. Jill @ MadAboutMacarons November 26, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Natalie,
    If it’s good enough for the royals…
    Seriously, this is incredible. Love the idea of these flavours in there – and bubbles? This is definitely serious Christmas fare! Love it.

  4. Chica Andaluza November 26, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    So pretty, so delicate…and cava too, my favourite!

  5. Savory Simple November 26, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I recently discovered hibiscus tea and love it. This looks right up my alley.

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide November 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Oh Katherine would love this! So would I. Great photos too.

  7. Professor Vegetable November 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Oh, I love hibiscus. I’ve been brewing that stuff for years!!! Plus, vodka makes all things better. This cocktail sounds divine!!!

  8. ceciliag November 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    I love that flirtini, i really want that flirtini, maybe I shall adopt it as my christmas drink! c

  9. peasepudding November 27, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Oh my goodness I love this, anything with bubbles in it and in a posh glass and I’m happy. I have another cocktail coming inthe next few days, another slushy but I will need to break the mould and try anew style

  10. alyssa November 27, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Beautiful cocktail! I love it!!!

  11. dassana November 27, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    both me and hubby said wow in unison when we saw the first photo. the cocktail looks great..

  12. Three Well Beings November 28, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    Hibiscus tea! Yum! All I can say to this wonderful holiday cocktail is YES! Can’t wait!! Debra

  13. spree November 29, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    What a gorgeous cocktail that is in your beautiful photos!

  14. Smallpeace November 29, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    This is such a festive holiday concoction. Plus, I now have something else to do with all that dried hibiscus I brought back from my trip to Egypt! Perfect.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to burlesque your cocktails | Burlexe - March 14, 2013

    [...] (Image from Cook Eat Live Vegetarian) [...]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Living the Dream Up A Mountain Somewhere In Andalucia

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Life, leadership and community supported agriculture...

The Kitchen Operas℠

Vegetarian Whole Food Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,034 other followers

