Pink Lychee Bellini Cocktail

7 Sep

I had never tried fresh lychee before I bought these. I thought I didn’t like them because the ones I had tried out of a tin tasted, well like tin, and syrup. Not a good combination.

So I bought these because they were cheap mainly and because The Washer Up kept trying to persuade me that they were lovely. And he was right. I don’t think I’ve ever said that before, that he was right I mean. He will be pleased.

It turns out that underneath that pink prehistoric armoured shell there is a delicately perfumed, lightly floral tasting, opalescent jewel of a fruit that is elegant, cool, sweet and delicious. Nothing at all like tin, which is nice.

I was going to make Lychee Martinis as that seems to be the lychee cocktail of choice but I saw Jamie Oliver doing Venice the other day and he was explaining the history of the Bellini that was invented in Harry’s Bar in Venice (something to do with the delicate peach colour resembling the golden glow in Bellini’s paintings) and he showed how to make an authentic one.

He used white peaches with their red skins still on (to get the light peachy colour) and he crushed the whole thing in his hand  through a sieve into a jug. He then mixed the pulp with Prosecco (Italian sparkling wine) and poured it into the glass.

I tried to crush a lychee through a sieve, (there’s a first time for everything) but it didn’t work so I just pureed the fruits (without the seeds) with a stick blender. The puree is a milky white froth that I poured into the bottom of each glass and I topped it up with pink rose cava (Spanish sparkling wine) because I wanted it to echo the beautiful colour of the lychee skins. You could use normal sparkling instead for a more frosty effect.

Salud!!

Have a great weekend everyone!

20 Responses to “Pink Lychee Bellini Cocktail”

  1. Allison September 7, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Lovely! And I like how you got the resulting drink to be pink, like the lychee peels, even though the fruit itself is white. I absolutely love fresh lychees. Lychee drinks with boba were my favorite treat in SE Asia.

  2. Lauren September 7, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Beautiful! I don’t think I’ve ever had fresh lychees, either, and that’s a shame. As a side note, I absolutely adore your champagne flutes.

  3. Rhian September 7, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    I’m gonna def try this, it’ll be my first drink when I’m off the wagon in October xx

    • Natalie Ward September 8, 2012 at 8:02 am #

      Are you not drinking till after the marathon then? Respect!

  4. thekalechronicles September 7, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Pretty.

  5. Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen September 7, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    This is sooo pretty!! I love this drink and will try it out on my girlfriends!

  6. spree September 7, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Good golly Miss Molly that’s pretty! I think I need to invent an occasion for such a drink! Beautiful, lovely and utterly feminine. Love it!

  7. Lori Lipsky September 8, 2012 at 6:06 am #

    Beautiful glasses, plate, linen. The colors are lovely. Thanks for the lychee introduction.

  8. tony ward September 8, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Now you’re talking guapitita! I too had only had tinned, we probably are guilty of that crime (your Mother and I ). Only you could turn a minus into a plus and then into a cocktail…..must be genetic dahling.

  9. Mandy Vellacott September 8, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    Sounds lush. Are you buying the fresh Lychee here in the markets? or in the Supermarket?

  10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide September 8, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    That’s sexy and you know it! Oh yes, I just did that.

  11. Tammy September 8, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    elegant! I think the pink rose cava set them off beautifully and your beautiful flutes.

  12. kellie@foodtoglow September 9, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Love this ballet-pink drink! Strangely I have had plenty of fresh lychees but never the tinned kind. Doesn’t sound like I should bother with the tinned now… The perfume from a freshly peeled lychee is rather intoxicating, isn’t it? I bet the taste in this drink is equally intoxicating. Btw, I always thought the prehistoric skin looked like titchy little armadillos!

  13. musingmar September 10, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    I’ve never tried fresh lychee, and this certainly looks like a good way to start. These would be wonderful for a garden party (and I imagine just as good imbibed indoors).

  14. Ayako Mathies September 10, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    The best fruit!

  15. The Mistress of Spices September 29, 2012 at 3:07 am #

    I absolutely adore lychees! At the peak of their (very short) season here in Thailand, we get enormous ones…it’s just great. I love the idea of a bellini with them!

  16. Conor Bofin September 30, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Lychees are so tasty. The cocktail looks excellent.
    Best,
    Conor

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Life, leadership and community supported agriculture...

The Kitchen Operas℠

Vegetarian Whole Food Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,137 other followers

