Thanksgiving Mezze Part 1: Butternut Hummus

22 Nov

This is one of the dishes I will be serving as part of my Thanksgiving mezze. I am English and live in Spain but this year I have decided to “adopt” the Thanksgiving concept and cook a fabulous dinner for some people I would really like to thank for their support over the last year.  The positivity I feel and gratitude I need to express is something I would never have imagined possible at this time last year. I feel more healthy, happy and alive than ever and for that I am truly grateful…  Thank you!

Anyway back to the mezze, as Thanksgiving is a time for sharing, I thought that a mezze would be the perfect thing. A delicious vegetarian feast in the middle of the table for everyone to pick at and enjoy. I came across this recipe for Pumpkin Hummus on this amazing blog www.tasteofbeirut.com  There are so many delicious recipes that I want to try on this blog but the Pumpkin Hummus was just perfect for Thanksgiving. I have adapted it slightly by using butternut squash instead of pumpkin which I roasted.

Roasted Butternut Hummus Recipe

Adapted from a Taste of Beirut recipe

Serves 4 Vegan

  • 1/2 butternut squash 750 gr plus
  • olive oil
  • salt & black pepper
  • a pinch dried chilli flakes
  • the juice of 1 & 1/2 lemons
  • 4 cloves garlic minced with a pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp tahini

Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Scrape out the seeds from the squash and spread them out on a sheet of foil, picking off any stringy bits of squash then set aside. Cut the squash into small pieces (about 1 inch triangles) and put them on a lined baking sheet/tin. Drizzle with olive oil, season with salt & black pepper and sprinkle with good pinch of chilli flakes then toss everything together with your hands so evenly coated. Roast the squash on the middle shelf of the oven for 35 – 40 minutes until  tender. Put the squash seeds on the bottom shelf of the oven (on the foil) and toast for about 10 – 15 minutes until slightly browned. Sprinkle with salt and leave to cool.

When the squash is tender, remove from the oven and leave to cool slightly before pulling off the skin. Blitz the squash with a stick blender or pulse in a food processor until smooth-ish.

Mix the minced garlic with the lemon juice then add the tahini and stir to combine well. Add the tahini mixture to the squash and blitz again to combine. Taste for seasoning, add more salt if necessary.

Place in a serving dish sprinkled with the toasted squash seeds and serve with leek & cumin seed flatbreads (see my recipe) or with some lavash or pita triangles.

This is the ultimate dip for me – all the flavour of hummus with the added sweetness and colour of butternut squash. I’d make double if I was you, it disappears really quickly….

6 Responses to “Thanksgiving Mezze Part 1: Butternut Hummus”

  1. tony ward November 22, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    This one looks scrummy dahling.
    Wish we could be there for the thanksgiving too.
    We want you to know we too give thanks everyday princess ,that you are living and loving the life you fought so hard to stay a part of.You two(we gotta bring in the washer up here) are such special, special people and we are lucky to have you in our lives.
    Lots n lotsa luv always and forever xxxxxxx

    • foodblogandthedog November 22, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

      I wish you could both be here too! Or maybe that we could be there…won’t be long xxx

  2. Damaris @Kitchen Corners November 22, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Taste of Beirut is awesome, I have to agree.

    This recipe is so great. I love seeing it spread on the internet. It’s convincing me to try it.

    Great blog by the way.

  3. Liz @ Blog is the New Black November 23, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    Bn hummus sounds delicious! Love this idea.

  4. tasteofbeirut November 23, 2010 at 5:15 am #

    Thanks a million for the compliments; love the idea of using butternut and adding a smidgeon of chili flakes! yumm; will have to try this next time!

  5. Sara November 24, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Butternut squash hummus is a great idea! We love hummus but sometimes I feel I would like to give it a twist and this is a great one!

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

