Red Onion Tempura Bhajis

3 Dec

 

I’ve never made onion bhajis before. I had been thinking about making red onion rings using a tempura batter then I found a recipe for Indian Onion Fritters on one of my favourite food blogs http://tesathome.com Tes is from Thailand but lives in India so her blog is full of really inspiring recipes from these two fantastic countries as well as beautiful photos from her travels around India & Thailand.

 Tes’s recipe uses besan which is chickpea flour to make the batter. I didn’t have any but I had some rice flour so I decided to go down the Japanese Tempura batter route but add in the Indian spices. The batter I made was very liquidy so I panicked a bit and thickened it with a few Panko breadcrumbs just to continue with the Japanese theme.

I was really pleased, they turned out to be deliciously light, crispy & spicy just how I had imagined. The colour of the red onions made them look more special. I love it when experiments work out and I hope Tes approves of my fusion of Japanese technique with Indian flavours…

Red Onion Tempura Bhajis

Serves 2 or 3 as a snack or starter,Vegetarian

  • 1 large red onion, cut in half & sliced into half moons
  • 1 small green chilli chopped
  • about 100 gr rice flour 3/4 cup
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • ice-cold sparkling water
  • panko breadcrumbs
  • a handful of fresh coriander, chopped

Mix the rice flour, turmeric & salt together in a bowl then slowly whisk in the fizzy water until you get the consistency of single cream. Add the sliced onion, chopped chilli & coriander and mix well. Sprinkle over some panko breadcrumbs until it thickens into more of a paste.

Heat about 5cm oil in a wok/frying pan over a medium high heat until hot. Take a heaped tablespoon of the mixture and drop it into the hot oil. You can probably do 3 at a time depending on the size of your pan. Cook them for about 2 or 3 minutes turning occasionally until golden brown & crispy. Pat dry on kitchen paper to remove any excess oil.

Serve with a wedge of lemon to squeeze over the bhajis & some yoghurt mixed with lemon juice, mint & salt to dip them in. Eat with your fingers………….Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Red Onion Tempura Bhajis”

  1. Andrew & Margarita December 4, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    It looks delicious, I will certainly try it. And I do have chickpea flour. Will let you know the result . . .

    • foodblogandthedog December 4, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

      Hi margarita, if you are using chickpea flour follow Tes’s recipe. Do the persimmons have to be really soft before I cook with them? I was going to make a persimmon & poppyseed loaf but they are still quite firm..

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

