“When life hands you lemons…”

30 Dec

“…..Make Lemon Curd”

It was mandarins, now its lemons. They are everywhere, people are giving them away. That’s how we came to have a huge bag full. The lemons obviously like the rain..

I would usually make lemonade but it’s not really the weather for it. I’m sure it won’t be long before the sun comes out again but until then its going to be lemon curd. The mandarin jam is nearly finished so I need something else to spread on my morning panettone. The second panettone I made came out the same as the first (a bit like a giant teacake). It tastes great but the electric went off half way through cooking it again so it didn’t rise very much. I’m not making it anymore I’m obviously jinxed Panettone-wise. And anyway, as my friend Tara said “that’s why people buy them”! I wouldn’t usually agree but on this occasion I admit defeat. Luckily they are all reduced now in the sale after Christmas…

Lemon Curd Recipe

makes about 1 & 1/2 jars (double it to make 3 jars, obviously!) I only had 2 jars, vegetarian

  • grated zest & juice of 3 small lemons
  • 2 eggs
  • 175 gr caster sugar
  • 115 gr room temperature unsalted butter, chopped
  • 1 tsp cornflour

Lightly whisk the eggs in a medium saucepan, add the rest of the ingredients and put on a medium high heat. Whisk continuously until thickened about 5 – 8 minutes. Lower the heat to minimum and simmer, whisking for another minute. Remove from the heat and pour into hot sterilized jars (just put them through the dishwasher or fill with boiling water from the kettle and tip out). Seal immediately, leave to cool then store in the fridge.

Serve on hot toasted bread (or panettone). They’re reduced at the moment!!

Enjoy….

    

4 Responses to ““When life hands you lemons…””

  1. qdeviate December 30, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Thank you for this! We just received a special delivery from my mom in Arizona of gorgeous lemons from her trees and would love to try our hand at making lemon curd. We eat eggs, but not cow dairy – do you think ghee or a vegan butter (like Earth Balance) would be a better substitution for the butter in this recipe?

    • foodblogandthedog December 31, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      I really don’t know, why don’t you try making a small amount to see if it works. I’ve never used vegan butter, would be interested to know the results. I am trying to cut out cow products, I only use goats milk and eat sheep & goats cheeses. Butter is the last hurdle. let me know how it goes. Good Luck!!

  2. qdeviate January 3, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    We made lemon curd with honey instead of sugar and decided to use ghee (which is still a cow product…) and it turned out really well! I was happy with the results, but don’t have a lot to gauge it against. Another suggestion I ran across while seeking a butter substitute was to use coconut oil. I was afraid it would change the flavor too much so opted not to try it this time around. While vegan butter might be good to use, we’ve also been trying to reduce our soy intake.

    • foodblogandthedog January 4, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      Glad it turned out well. I’m intrigued with the coconut oil idea. I’m thinking lemongrass & coconut curd, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

