My Big Fat Greek Salad with Grilled Halloumi

11 Jan

If you’ve never tried Halloumi cheese before, buy some. I promise you its delicious. It’s a Cypriot sheep’s milk cheese and I would go as far as to say it is my favourite cheese. Even saying that makes me feel bad about Feta. I love Feta too it’s just that Halloumi is more difficult to get over here. So, when I do see some, I buy 3 blocks because I know they will sell out quickly and not get any back in for weeks. I think it’s a case of “absence makes the heart grow fonder“. Does that apply to cheese too? I think Feta suffers from being slightly more (dare I say it) common. Now I feel really awful.

The best thing about Halloumi is it doesn’t melt, it cooks. This means you can grill it on a dry pan or griddle and serve it as you would chicken like the Grilled Halloumi Sandwich  that I have posted before. The texture is actually quite meaty when it’s cooked and its salty flavour stands up really well to loads of fresh herbs & lemon juice. This salad is the perfect backdrop from which your Halloumi can shine. In the interest of fairness and equality Foil Baked Feta would be a great alternative if you can’t get hold of any Halloumi…..

Greek Salad with Grilled Halloumi

serves 2 vegetarian

  • 1 pack halloumi 240gr sliced into 1/2cm slices
  • 1 big tomato chopped
  • 1/2 cucumber diced
  • 1/2 shallot finely chopped
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • a handful of black olives (I left them out because I don’t like them)
  • a handful of rocket
  • 1 little gem lettuce heart, cut into quarters, lengthways
  • sea salt
  • 1 lemon
  • a handful of chopped coriander or parsley. Stalks as well.
  • a handful of chopped mint
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 red chilli (deseeded & chopped) optional
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp sumac
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • coriander/parsley leaves for garnish

Put the little gem wedges on the plate, drizzle with a little olive oil, lemon juice & a little sea salt. Put the tomatoes, cucumber, shallot, olives, oregano & half the fresh herbs in a bowl, drizzle with olive oil &  a good squeeze of lemon juice, season with salt & pepper and set aside. In a shallow dish large enough to hold the Halloumi slices mix together about 4 tbsp olive oil the juice of half the lemon, cumin, sumac, chilli, black pepper and the rest of the fresh herbs.

Heat a non stick frying pan or griddle to hot. (Don’t add any oil). Put the Halloumi slices in the pan and cook until golden brown on both sides. When the halloumi is browned put the slices into the dish with the marinade and cover it in the marinade. (You may need to add more oil/lemon juice). When all of the Halloumi is in the marinade add the rocket to the tomato salad and toss together with you hands. Pile this on top of the little gem wedges then arrange your Halloumi slices on top and around the salad. Pour over the remaining marinade and serve garnished with the coriander/parsley leaves.

You could also serve some toasted pita wedges on the side to soak up the delicious marinade juices. This is a dish you could serve to hardened meat eaters and they wouldn’t notice it was vegetarian. It’s so good, please try it!

32 Responses to “My Big Fat Greek Salad with Grilled Halloumi”

  1. Hester January 11, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Holy Halloumi! I’ve never had Halloumi before but you’re making me quite curious about it. Where can I get some?

    • foodblogandthedog January 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      Try a specialty foodstore, it’s not easy to find but worth it!

  2. Dimah January 11, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    This sounds scrumptious! What a fantastic combination of ingredients.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the kind comment!

  3. Christina January 11, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    This looks amazing! I’ll have to look for some of that cheese the next time I’m at the market & try it!

  4. Cakewhiz January 12, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    I have never tried halloumi cheese but that picture makes me want to try it out right away. Heheh.

  5. tiffany January 12, 2011 at 2:35 am #

    I love Halloumi! … the taste AND the fact that unlike most cow’s milk cheeses, it doesn’t bother my tummy!

    • foodblogandthedog January 12, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      I’m off cow’s milk products too. Surprisingly all my favourite cheeses are sheeps cheeses. Manchego, Feta & Halloumi. I love them all..

  6. Sandra January 12, 2011 at 3:54 am #

    I never had that kind of cheese, I will go hunting for it!!!:)) salad looks awesome!!!

  7. tony ward January 12, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    feed back from the Halloumi marketing board….when can you start and do yo want money ???
    We are doing it for supper tonight(with the olives too !! )
    lol xx

  8. happywhennothungry January 12, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Wow this looks so fresh and delicious! I’ve never had Halloumi cheese before, but now I’m very curious and will have to buy some!

  9. freshandfoodie January 13, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    This looks fresh, delicious and wonderful. I love these types of salads.

  10. Tiffany January 13, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    I saw your beautiful salad on the freshpress homepage and I think my mouth started watering! It looks so delicious! I haven’t heard of Halloumi but I’ll definitely look for it and try this recipe. I’ll be back to visit. =)

  11. jungaehyuk January 14, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    It’s so funny… I’m half Greek and I’ve never heard of this cheese. I need to find it though… and put it in my tummy. :3

    • foodblogandthedog January 14, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      A lot of people haven’t heard of it! I am a bit of a cheesehead!

  12. Nadia January 14, 2011 at 2:35 am #

    beautiful! I love halloumi and grill it all the time and then drizzle it with olive oil and a sprinkling of zaa’tar. Don’t feel guilty about “dissing” feta, it is kind of common.

    I love this salad and will definitely be trying it out! yay for more halloumi recipes!

    • foodblogandthedog January 14, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      I don’t have any Z’atar, will have to look for some because I’ve seen it used in a few dishes I want to try..

  13. tooyoungtowrite January 15, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I love halloumi.On Sundays we always have grilled and it’s quite amazing to see some of it left for the family table. That’s a great recipe by the way. I’m sure we’ll prepare it for tomorrows launch!

    • foodblogandthedog January 17, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      Just checked out your blog, you write very well! Nice to meet a fellow Halloumi fan!

  14. Krissy January 15, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    This looks great! Can’t wait to try! I noticed I just got the same pingback and was also featured on foodpress (crab frittata) with your salad. Spam?

    • foodblogandthedog January 17, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      I loved your photo of the crab (feet?). Which pingback did you mean the iqaone?

      • Krissy January 17, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

        Yeah that’s the one I meant.

  15. thewonderingchef January 17, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    I share your passion about halloumi! In fact, I do the same thing when I find some in Budapests gourmet shops. There is one hungarian version , well at least one company is doing it, but instead of grilling it melts:( Anyway, the salad sure looks amazing, and Halloumi is a good way to spice up a traditional salad..thank u for the idea!

  16. Lindsey January 24, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Hi Nat, Halloumi is a slice of heaven. I love the squeak when you bite it. A delayed reply I know, but I’m slowly working my way through your blog, backwards I know! You should try the said cheese dusted with a flour ( I used gram flour) and smoked paprika mix on both sides, before frying In a little oil. Heaven with a Spanish flavour. Lx

    • foodblogandthedog January 25, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Have to make sure I’ve got some when you come over!! Never tried it floured, sounds extra crispy will give it a go, thanks x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Big Fat Greek Salad with Grilled Halloumi (via Cook Eat Live Vegetarian) | the delicious foods - January 17, 2011

    […] My Big Fat Greek Salad with Grilled Halloumi (via Cook Eat Live Vegetarian) Posted on January 17, 2011 by inislamicworld If you've never tried Halloumi cheese before, buy some. I promise you its delicious. It's a Cypriot sheep's milk cheese and I would go as far as to say it is my favourite cheese. Even saying that makes me feel bad about Feta. I love Feta too it's just that Halloumi is more difficult to get over here. So, when I do see some, I buy 3 blocks because I know they will sell out quickly and not get any back in for weeks. I think it's a case of "absence … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

