“Goatherd’s” Pie – A lentil bake topped with local goat’s cheese mash

21 Jan

This is my vegetarian version of Shepherd’s Pie. For those of you who don’t know, Shepherd’s Pie is a British dish made with minced lamb (hence the shepherd) and vegetables topped with mashed potato and baked in the oven. It is classic, British, cold weather comfort food.  I have replaced the minced lamb with lentils and put some goat’s cheese through the mash. The idea came from seeing these goats and sheep grazing together while I was walking the dog…..

They like to eat trees….

I remembered that there is a local goat’s & sheep’s cheese producer in Alhaurin, where we live, that I have been meaning to check out for a while.

“The Shepherd of the Valley Cheeses”

I was greeted by this dog as I got out of the car. If by greeting  you mean, barking constantly, following me and trying to bite me as I left. But don’t let that put you off. They have great selection of goat’s and sheep’s cheeses, just ring on the bell…

I bought this hard goat’s cheese (it looks like Manchego) which is delicious. Every goat’s cheese I’ve bought before has been the soft rind kind that is sold in supermarkets. This is quite different and a nice change. It is quite crumbly and the flavour is sharper than a sheep’s or cow’s milk Manchego.

They also have a goat’s Requeson which is a type of ricotta that I am looking forward to trying next time I go. I will try to take some more pictures then and I would like to have a proper tour of the factory when I’m not being chased by a big dog……

“Goatherd’s” Pie Recipe

serves 4-5, vegetarian

  • 5 medium potatoes, peeled & quartered
  • about 75ml goat’s milk
  • 75-100 gr goat’s cheese, grated or crumbled plus extra for topping
  • salt & black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 big, red (or not) onion chopped
  • 3 celery stalks & leaves, chopped
  • 2 large cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 a large sweet potato (or 2 carrots) diced
  • 5 or 6 mushrooms, sliced
  • a handful of frozen peas
  • about 175 gr (1 cup) uncooked brown lentils
  • 400 ml (2 cups) veg stock
  • 200 ml (1 cup) water
  • 2 or 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp finely chopped fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1/2 tsp fresh/dried thyme leaves chopped
  • 1/2 tsp dried mint
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • a pinch of dried chilli flakes
  • 4 tbsp or more of tomato passata (tomate frito)
  • 1 tsp english mustard
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • breadcrumbs (I used toasted garlic breadcrumbs)
  • grated/crumbled goat’s cheese
  • olive oil

Put the potatoes in cold salted water, bring up to the boil, reduce the heat slightly and cook for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are very tender. Drain the potatoes and put them in a large bowl. Heat up the goat’s milk and pour it onto the potatoes. Mash with a potato masher until smooth, stir in the goats cheese and season well with salt, pepper and the nutmeg. Taste and adjust seasoning/add more cheese. Set aside.

Rinse the lentils in a sieve and pick out any stones. Put them in a small pan with the veg stock and water, bring to a boil then reduce the heat and simmer for about 25 – 30 minutes until the lentils are cooked but still holding their shape.

Meanwhile heat some olive oil in a deep pan, over a medium heat and throw in the onions, celery, sweet potato/ carrots and season well with salt & black pepper. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onions and sweet potato have softened then add the garlic, herbs & spices. Stir everything together until well combined. If it dries out at any stage add a splash of wine or veg stock.  Preheat the oven to 200C. Add the mushroom, peas, tomato passata/frito, Worcestershire sauce & mustard to the vegetables.  Lower the heat slightly and continue cooking, stirring, adding more tomato passata if it’s looking dry. When the lentils are cooked tip them into the veg saucepan, combine everything well, check for seasoning and pour into a baking dish.

Top with the mashed potato, spread it out evenly, sprinkle/crumble over the goat’s cheese, then the breadcrumbs and drizzle with a little olive oil.

Bake in the preheated oven for 25 – 35 minutes until the top is browned and the filling is bubbling around the edge..

Serve with a green salad for lunch or for something more substantial steam some broccoli and serve it with some veggie gravy on the side…

Maybe I should take some for that dog next time….

Buen Provecho!

16 Responses to ““Goatherd’s” Pie – A lentil bake topped with local goat’s cheese mash”

  1. Nadia January 21, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    What a beautiful dish, it looks so vibrant, especially in the 1st pic! Lovely post and I wish I could visit that cheese shop!

  2. happywhennothungry January 21, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Wow this looks delicious! I’d love to go to that cheese shop too. Thanks for sharing!

    • foodblogandthedog January 22, 2011 at 11:36 am #

      I’m kind of scared to go back but I’m sure my cheese addiction will get the better of me!

  3. Medeja January 22, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    Looks very delicious, I think I would prefer your version instead of shepherds pie🙂

  4. Tammy McLeod January 22, 2011 at 5:23 am #

    Gorgeous! This looks just delicious. I love lentils and I’m pretty sure that they sell that cheese near our home. Thanks for sharing them.

    • foodblogandthedog January 22, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      It’s definitely worth hunting for. I’m thinking of more recipes to use it in now, can’t get enough!

  5. Pam @ Sticks Forks Fingers January 22, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    Such lovely photos of the countryside and its goat inhabitants! And the visit to the cheese shop sounds so rustic, like something you’d only ever read about but never really get to experience. Nice recipe, as well. While not a vegetarian, I adore vegetarian dishes and they show up on our menus regularly. I would not have thought to do a shepherds pie with a legume base, and its a genius idea. Thanks for sharing, and letting me live vicariously through your day!

    • foodblogandthedog January 22, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      Glad you enjoyed it! The lentils are a really tasty meat replacement/improvement!!

  6. tiffany January 22, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    I love (hard and soft) goat cheese and I love shepard’s pie… which means I would LOVE this recipe! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Melomeals: Vegan for $3.33 a Day January 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    That looks fantastic!

    I love the name of your blog… I’m a dog lover too..baby is named Jorda!

    (frugangroovin.wordpress.com)

  8. Sortachef January 24, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Yum. I love a good vegetarian casserole like this. Since we have vegetarians and meatatarians in the same household, I always do one of each.
    BTW, I learned once that a ‘cottage pie’, as my English mother-in-law calls it, is named for boiled potatoes sliced on top to look like a roof!
    Thanks for a nice recipe!

    • foodblogandthedog January 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      That’s wierd I’ve always had cottage pie topped with mash! With sliced potatoes on top is usually a Hotpot but I’m sure it’s a regional thing!!

  9. Meg (The Red Spoon) January 27, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    This look wonderful! I like the use of lentils — unusual, but looks absolutely delicious! And, of course, I am a sucker for anything with goat cheese…

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

