Granola Flapjacks

22 Jan

 

I don’t know what the difference is between a granola bar and a flapjack but this is a mixture of the two. It has the oaty base of a flapjack, the nuts, seeds & dried fruit of a granola bar and it’s square like a flapjack. You can put whatever you like in them – I used almonds, hazelnuts, coconut and some mince-pie filling I had left over from Christmas. You could use any nuts, seeds and dried fruit you have around like dried cranberries, macadamia nuts, dried apricots, pumpkin seeds, sultanas or even chocolate chips….

Granola Flapjacks Recipe

makes 16, vegetarian adapted from a Nigella recipe I got from Wilde in the Kitchen

For this recipe I have used cup measurements because that is the amount you need and the weight depends on the nut/fruit you are using. If you don’t have cup measures just use a teacup and use the same one for everything.

  • 2 & 1/2 cups rolled porridge oats
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 cup dried cranberries/sultanas/ chopped apricots or a mix
  • 1 cup hazelnuts or seeds
  • 1 can condensed milk about 45o gr

Preheat the oven to 130C. In a big bowl mix together all the dry ingredients. In a small saucepan heat up the condensed milk until it is a more pourable liquid. Pour it over the dry ingredients and combine everything together well with a wooden spoon. Line a 9 x13 inch, or similar, baking dish with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray. Tip the mixture into the baking dish, pressing it down gently until evenly distributed. Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour. Allow to cool completely, on a wire rack, before cutting into 16 squares. Store in an airtight container with baking parchment between the layers.

These are so easy to make and there is no flour, butter, golden syrup or added sugar to worry about –  just the condensed milk (it’s calcium)!! Great for kids and adults for breakfast, snacks or afternoon tea…..

Tea anyone?….

    

22 Responses to “Granola Flapjacks”

  1. tiffany January 22, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Looks great! (I HEART sweetened condensed milk!)

  2. Tammy McLeod January 23, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    I’m with Tiffany – anything with sweetened condensed milk. This look like fun to make and have on hand.

    • foodblogandthedog January 24, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      I’ve run out already need to make some more, the Washer Up takes them to work!!

  3. Medeja January 23, 2011 at 4:11 am #

    Oh I love this recipe🙂 I really have to try it whenever I can..

  4. steph@stephsbitebybite January 23, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    These look so great! It’s like oatmeal, but bars, but pancakes all in one! To. Die. For!

    • foodblogandthedog January 24, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Don’t know if in the US flapjacks are pancakes but you’re the second person to say that?!

  5. tony ward January 23, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    watch this space. I am making theses AS WE SPEAK !!!

    Scary ??

  6. tony ward January 23, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    who’s a clever boy then……must be genetic !!

    An ice cold glass of desert wine works well with this (now there’s a suprise )

  7. Kita January 24, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    These look absolutely snack worthy. Could I throw dried bananas in here as well? Not sure why, but when I first glanced at the picture thats what I thought I saw and now I wanna try it.
    I thought flapjacks were a pancake? Off to google.

    • foodblogandthedog January 24, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      The bananas sound like a fab idea especially with the coconut! Flapjacks are definitely not a pancake in the UK, maybe in the US, I don’t know?!

  8. La Phemme Phoodie January 24, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    I believe I have all the ingredients on hand. I love the combination you used and that it is adaptable to other ingredients as well.

    • foodblogandthedog January 24, 2011 at 11:52 am #

      It’s a fantastic use for half used packets of nuts and seeds or whatever you have in the cupboard!

  9. happywhennothungry January 24, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Wow this is so creative and def looks delicious!

  10. Gwen~healthymamma January 24, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    What a wonderful recipe! This is going straight into my recipe box! Love it.
    love your blog too, can’t wait for more yummy recipes.
    I’d love to see you on Simply Healthy Family if you would like!
    Cheers

  11. Rumana Rawat January 25, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Oh I love this recipe

  12. denise @ bread expectations January 25, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    I don’t have the sweet tooth I used to, but when I was a kid, I used to eat condensed milk by the tablespoon when no one was looking *blush* These look wonderful, and I know they’re good for me, cos well, they’re loaded with calcium LOL

    Wanna know something else spooky? I have that blue plate😉

    And I LOVE it!

    • foodblogandthedog January 25, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

      Everyone is loving the condensed milk! You can use it to make fudge too, might have to try it out. I am bookmarking your bread recipes and will definitely be trying one of them, just have to be confident!!

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

