Desert Island Banana and Coconut Breakfast Muffins

14 Mar

This is the perfect pick me up after all this rain. I wanted something tropical to remind me of the sun that seems to have disappeared for good. Banana and coconut, such a classic combination that takes me back to Caribbean holidays when I was younger. One holiday to Antigua in particular springs to mind. I had the amazing banana bread for breakfast every day for three weeks, it was that good. I’ve never found a banana bread to match it since. That might be something to do with waking up to a view of the turquoise sea and pinky white sandy beach though, it makes everything taste better.

So if muffins grew on palm trees this is what they would taste like. Banana, coconut & honey. So, go with me on this one and imagine yourself stranded on a desert island and all you have to eat are muffins that grow on trees. It wouldn’t be so bad would it? And if the rain is throwing your fantasy off just imagine it’s a tropical thunder-storm, they only last for an hour and it means you can shelter in the bar with an over-garnished tacky cocktail. Or is that just me? Oh yes, this desert island has a bar and a hammock. Well, it’s my fantasy I can have what I like…..

These delicious little fantasy muffins are made with wholemeal flour and olive oil rather than butter. So you can eat as many as you like. In fantasy world that is…..

Desert Island Banana & Coconut Breakfast Muffins

makes 12, vegetarian

  • 250 gr self-raising wholemeal flour
  • 175 gr brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • a pinch of salt
  • 100 ml milk (I used goat’s milk)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 ripe bananas, quartered lengthways and chopped
  • 50 gr toasted walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 50 gr desiccated coconut
  • about 12 tsp honey (a squeezy bottle is easiest)

Preheat oven to 180 C. Sieve the flour and salt into a large bowl, mix in the sugar, cinnamon & nutmeg and make a well in the centre. Mix together the egg, milk & oil in a jug and pour into the well in the flour. Mix together with a wooden spoon until just incorporated. Don’t over mix or your muffins will be tough. Then carefully fold in the banana, walnuts & coconut.

Line a 12 hole muffin tin with paper cases and spoon (or use and ice cream scoop) the mixture into the paper cases about 2/3 full.  Make a hole in the top of the muffins with the back of a teaspoon and squeeze in about a teaspoon of honey (see photo above) don’t worry if it overflows.

Bake in the preheated oven for about 25 minutes until golden brown & cooked. Remove from the muffin tin and leave to cool on a wire rack.

You could add whatever you like to these muffins, some dates would be nice and follow on from the palm tree theme. Or maybe some chopped apples would be good with the cinnamon & nutmeg.

Just keep the fantasy going by imagining yourself on that tropical beach somewhere. You know what, I think the sun might be coming out!  That’s the power of positive thinking for you. I’d better take the dog out before it starts raining again……

8 Responses to “Desert Island Banana and Coconut Breakfast Muffins”

  1. Clarkie @ Beloved Green March 14, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    I could have really used these for breakfast this morning. Yummy!

  2. tiffany March 15, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    I freaking love these pictures! SO adorable! And I love the flavors in these muffins! There’s really nothing better than coconut (except maybe banana and coconut!)

  3. happywhennothungry March 15, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    What creative photos! Your muffins look and sound delicious! I love the flavor!

  4. Kita March 15, 2011 at 4:59 am #

    I love banana in muffins. I swear that’s why they exist. I love the coconut too. These look delicious.

  5. Medeja March 15, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Oh, they are just too good for breakfast🙂 I love such muffins with bananas, though I havent tried to add coconut

  6. Katrina @ In Katrina's Kitchen March 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Delish!! I think muffins SHOULD grow on palm trees! Oh wait, that wouldn’t help me here in Ohio.😦 lol ♥- Katrina

  7. Susan March 16, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    I sometimes lay in bed early in the morning and wish for a kitchen fairy to make the coffee and muffins … then I get up and do it myself.

    These muffins look like a likely addition to the muffin repertoire! Sans palm trees, of course.😉

  8. the good soup March 17, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Susan, I make that morning wish too. And then I feed my baby instead and forget to have breakfast!

    Oh, and my desert island would have macadamia nuts. and caprioskas.

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

