Avocado Bean Salad With Lime, Cumin and Coriander Dressing

18 Apr

I just had to share with you my latest “go to” lunch salad. It’s quick, easy and delicious. It’s also vegan & gluten-free but that’s not the point. The point is that I’ve had it for the past three days and I still love it. That is a record for me as I have an extremely short attention span when it comes to food. I get bored really quickly, I need new things all the time. So here it is my new favourite salad, until I get bored and find another one…..

Avocado Bean Salad with Lime, Cumin & Coriander Dressing

serves 1, vegan, gluten-free

  • a big handful of rocket/mixed leaves
  • 1 small avocado, stone removed and chopped
  • the juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1o0 gr cooked red beans or pinto beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 spring onion/scallion, finely chopped
  • 1 spring garlic, green parts, finely chopped
  • 6 cherry tomatoes, halved or quartered
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 or 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt & black pepper
  • a handful of sunflower seeds
  • fresh coriander leaves

Put the salad leaves in a large bowl with the chopped avocado and squeeze the lime juice over the avocado to stop it turning brown.  Add the rest of the ingredients apart from the sunflower seeds & coriander leaves and toss with your hands to coat everything evenly. Pile the salad into a bowl or large plate and top with the sunflower seeds & coriander leaves. Serve with an extra wedge of lime on the side if you like.

This would be really good with an ice cold bottle of lime wedged Coronita or even a classic Margarita…….Salut!

I have a fantastic recipe for the rest of the can of beans that I will post in the next few days , so save them. Get ready for South American Bean Cakes with Arepa Bun and Tomato Chilli Salsa…!!

9 Responses to “Avocado Bean Salad With Lime, Cumin and Coriander Dressing”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide April 18, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I had to go back and look at the recipe, because I kept just staring at the pictures and going mmmmm.:) The recipe looks great too.

  2. Roxan April 18, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Go-to salads are the best! This one looks great too, I love the ingredients you’re using… it seems to be really balanced with good fats, carbs etc. Yum!

  3. Rita April 18, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    That’s for me! I can eat anything with avocado, cumin and coriander. I love salads and this is a really fresh one.🙂
    P.S. I’m sooooooooooooo sorry I’ve been away from the blogosphere. I’m so dedicated to my baby that I really have little time to spare.

  4. Megan April 18, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    This is my kind of salad! Especially when paired with corona or a margarita!🙂 Nicely done, thanks for sharing!

  5. happywhennothungry April 19, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Love this salad! It would be perfect to bring to work for lunch. The ingredients are all fresh and beautiful. Nice job!

  6. Brindusa @ Cooking with my soul April 19, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    This is a great salad.I like the addition of sunflower seeds. Next time try with pumpkin seeds, not to get bored🙂 Thanks for the recipe.
    Have a nice day.

  7. Mama J April 22, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    All your recipes are absolutely fantastic looking- this salad is no exception!

  8. the good soup April 25, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Rufus, know the feeling. Rita, know the feeling!!😉

  9. thefooddoctor August 12, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I need to get some avocado ASAP!

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

