Individual Fig, Apricot and Almond Granola Crumbles

3 Jul

Breva is the Spanish name for the early crop of figs that ripen around the time of the festival of San Juan (the longest day of the year) at the end of June beginning of July. They are very well prized for their size. Larger than the later crop of  Higos, they have a distinctive pear shape and are not as sweet. There are different colours ranging from a yellowy-green to a purpley-black.

While I was clambering up a slope and balancing on one leg trying to get a decent picture of these brevas on a tree at the side of the road where I walk with the dog, the lady from the finca (farm) called out to ask if  there were any brevas there.

After almost falling over from shock at the unexpected voice through the trees, I hurriedly explained, through my embarrassment, that I was taking pictures (while waving my camera in her face) and not stealing her lovely fruit. I needn’t have worried she wasn’t at all bothered and wouldn’t let us go without taking a large handful of the softest juiciest figs you have ever seen.

I decided to make a “healthy” crumble with these delicious brevas and a layer of almonds because I saw some growing on the same finca.

When I got home I saw that I had some apricots in my fruit bowl that weren’t going to last another day so I added those in too. Apricot and almond is a classic combination that goes really well with the fresh figs.

Don’t bother to peel the figs, just wash and slice them. Stone and quarter the apricots and layer them with the figs in the ramekins . You don’t need to add any sugar, the fruit is sweet enough.

Sprinkle over a few drops of almond extract (or Amaretto) and then scatter a thin layer of flaked almonds over the fruit.

For the crumble topping I used some of my homemade granola that I had saved before adding the dried fruit to it. Add a generous layer to the top of the ramekins and bake for around 12-15 minutes.

Individual Fig, Apricot & Almond Granola Crumbles

makes 3 deep individual ramekins, vegetarian, gluten-free

  • 3 large figs (brevas), washed & sliced
  • 3 apricots, stoned & quartered
  • a few drops of almond extract per crumble (or 1 tsp amaretto per crumble)
  • a handful of flaked almonds
  • homemade granola (without the dried fruit)

Preheat the oven to 180C. Layer the figs and apricots (1 each per person) in the ramekins, add a few drops of almond extract (or 1 tsp amaretto) to each followed by a thin layer of flaked almonds. Top with a generous amount of the granola (without dried fruit) and bake for 12 – 15 minutes taking care not to burn the topping.

You can serve it as it is in the ramekin it doesn’t actually need anything with it, but…..

If you like you can carefully remove the crumble from the ramekin (I got The “Washer Up” to do it, it was his idea!)

And serve it with a blob of vanilla ice cream. If you are feeling really decadent I’m sure it would be lovely with some Amaretto-spiked whipped cream too. This was my dad’s idea. I can’t think of anything that wouldn’t be improved by adding Amaretto cream to it though. Must be in the genes…..!

Buen Provecho!

19 Responses to “Individual Fig, Apricot and Almond Granola Crumbles”

  1. chicaandaluza July 3, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    ¡Enhorabuena! A stunning dessert and love the story of the camera, finca, lady who gave you brevas. People are incredibly generous aren´t they? And the brevas are exactly “en su punto” (as they say round here!). Am waiting for my fig tree to deliver in September….

  2. Marmande July 3, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    How great that you were able to make this with such fresh figs! I love how it is sweet but not loaded with sugar – I would definetly make this when I have figs available by me. Looks delicious!

  3. Maris(In Good Taste) July 3, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    These photos are terrific! I love your plate also

  4. Caroline July 3, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    I’m sure I would have reacted the same way after hearing the woman’s voice, haha! That’s really sweet that she ended up giving you some of the fresh figs, they look so delicious. Great dish to make with them.🙂

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide July 3, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Those look wonderful. I can’t wait for figs to come in here. Like Caroline I too am glad you didn’t fall!

  6. thefooddoctor July 3, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    My mum’s aunt has an amazing fig tree in her garden , we were there last week and we picked a few unbelievable delicious figs…there is really nothing like freshly picked fruits
    Love your crumble..using granula as I topping is a brilliant idea

  7. denise @ quickies on the dinner table July 4, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    Hi Natalie🙂 Thanks for visiting yesterday and leaving such warm words. I have been a bad blogger haven’t I?😉 I love your healthy and super easy take on fruit crumble and aren’t you a lucky duck for having fresh off the tree, organic (?) almonds and figs that are even the very first of the season! Each time I read one of your posts, I’m filled with envy. The figs are gorgeous and so is the wonderfully generous community you live in. Love your photos too – stunning as usual!

  8. sarah July 4, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    I’m just now realizing how much I like figs but I have actually never cooked with them. After seeing this recipe I’ll be keeping my eyes open for them from now on- it looks so, so goooood!

  9. tony ward July 4, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Well…….I know whats on the ‘menu’ for dessert this evening Fresh figs, fresh cream AND Amaretto, foodie heaven for me !!! I’m gglad that there is a healthy element too, que luquo !! xx

  10. tony ward July 4, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    “scuse the bad grammar, what do you expect for first thing in the morning from cold and drizzly C.T. ??

  11. Nami @ Just One Cookbook July 4, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Oh wow! This crumbles are so unique and I love the combination of fruits here. Never heard of, yet these look soooo delicious! It’s perfect to eat with vanilla ice cream…I love this recipe Natalie!

  12. Medeja July 4, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Oh what a lovely fresh fruit.. Looks so healthy and so sweet🙂

  13. rafalitosevadeviaje July 4, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Just love it! I will try to make it! I Like all the fresh and tasty fruits!!! I have already all of them. I bought some almonds from our last trip in Jaen and today a friend of us from Ronda brought me some beautiful figs!! Love figs!!! I remember when I was a kid, my father and I used to wake up really early in the morning to go to the countryside and pick them up! Happy memories. Un besillo

  14. vegansunshine July 4, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Yumm! I love the fig pictures!

    Whitney

  15. tiffany July 8, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    This crisp looks amazing! We’re JUST entering fig season… I definitely want to make this!

  16. Val July 13, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Its still not fig season in my part of the world but I’m hoping the apricots hold out until they arrive because this dish sounds delicious. I love the idea of combining the figs and apricots.

  17. Kate July 14, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    This is lovely. I’ve been fascinated with figs since I made figgy pudding last winter, I will have to try this. Thank you!

  18. Beth Michelle August 20, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Oh how I have missed your fresh and light recipes while I was away all summer!
    This looks so so wonderful. We had these figs in Israel a few months back and I made ice cream with them! I love this idea too. Since I wont have green figs again for another year I will have to try this with the purple figs that are coming into season now🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unbelieveably Easy Fresh Fig and Almond Ice Cream « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - August 16, 2011

    […] is they don’t seem to be going down.  I’ve made Fig Chutney, Fig Jam, Fig Muffins, Fig Granola Crumble, and just recently Fig & Feta […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

