A Watermelon Martini Granita for a Mysterious Friend

20 Jul

I’ve been watching these watermelons grow from a distance. Every morning I walk past them with the dog and look down on them. I walk on the road that goes around the top of the field, and have been taking photos from there but I wasn’t happy with them, they were too far away. I wanted to get closer so I had to scramble down quite a steep bank and quickly take some shots before anyone saw me and thought I was stealing.

Don’t you think they look strange just lying there, on the ground?

Kind of like stray, abandoned footballs, hidden in the long grass of your neighbour’s garden, that you are too afraid to ask for back.

The first thing that I think of when I see watermelon is a cocktail we used to serve at the restaurant called a Watermelon Martini. It was a beautiful pale pink colour (there was a lot of vodka in it) and it was served in a martini glass with a pink straw.

A proper girl’s drink, or so I thought.

This pretty pink drink became “The Usual” of one of our best customers who soon became a friend. I can’t mention his name (yes it’s a he) because he might have to kill me.

No seriously, he would have to kill me.

Let’s just say, he works away a lot. I don’t know what he does or where he does it. What I do know is that when he comes home he likes a nice cocktail.

 A nice pink, girly cocktail.

Now this guy is big. As in big, strong and slightly intimidating (if you don’t know him). He has a dangerous job and you’d definitely want him on your side in a fight.

To see him sitting at my bar with a baby pink martini cocktail in his (very large) hands would always completely crack me up. It still does now, and I miss it.

 So, for old times sake, you know who you are. This one’s for you. xx

I wanted to make a granita because Sawsan from Chef in Diguise and Tiffany from Como Water keep tempting me with them.  Tiffany also gave me the idea for the sugar-coated mint leaves as a garnish. The bouganvilla is from our roof terrace and is just the perfect colour to go with this.

Watermelon Martini Granita Recipe

Makes about a litre tub, 4-6 martini size glasses.

Adapted from Como Water & Alcoholic Drink Recipes

  • about 600 gr cubed watermelon, without rind
  • 2 tsp fresh lime/lemon juice
  • 55 gr (1/4 cup) caster sugar
  • 55 ml (1/4 cup) vodka, or more to taste
  • fresh mint leaves
  • sugar
  • a wedge of watermelon to decorate the glass

Remove as many seeds from the watermelon as possible, cut into cubes and put in a food proccessor or bowl with the lime/lemon juice and sugar and blend well until smooth.

Strain the puree through a sieve into a shallow pyrex dish or metal tin. Press the pulp through the sieve with a spatula to squeeze as much juice out as possible. Mix the vodka into the juice and taste. Add more vodka , sugar or lime juice to taste.

Freeze for about an hour until the edges start to freeze. Fold the frozen bits into the middle with a fork. Do this every half an hour for about 4 hours. (I know it sounds time consuming, but it’s so worth it, and you don’t have to sit there waiting for it, just set the timer and get on with something else).

Meanwhile make the sugar-coated mint leaves. Tip some sugar onto a small plate, wash the mint leaves then dip the top side into the sugar. Put these on plate and freeze.

The granita mixture is ready when it forms ice crystals. Rake it with the fork and serve in chilled glasses garnished with the sugar-coated mint leaves and a wedge of watermelon.

Salud!

Things that made me smile today……..

 

Our hibiscus plants in full bloom….

With a watermelon martini granita in one hand and an hibiscus flower behind my ear, the world is a happy place!

36 Responses to “A Watermelon Martini Granita for a Mysterious Friend”

  1. Maris (In Good taste) July 20, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    These pictures are magnificent!

  2. Caroline July 20, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    This drink sounds so refreshing. I could really use one right now.🙂 Your photos are stunning, as usual. I love how adventurous you are with taking your photos. It always seems like you’re climbing hills, stepping through bushes, etc. Worth it to get good photos though!

  3. Visda July 20, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    Yummy! This could be one of my favorite drinks in these hot days. I love watermelon and love martinis. What a great combination. Thanks for sharing. Cheers!

  4. Kelly July 20, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    This looks so refreshing and delicious, not to mention beautiful!! If only I had one right now!🙂

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide July 20, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    I’m Greg and I would love that fruity drink. There I said it! What you girls get to have all the fun? Also, I love that you scrambled down a bank to get the watermelon shot.

  6. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts July 20, 2011 at 3:18 am #

    Those pictures are amazing! Love how you adapted Como Water’s recipe. Love them both!

  7. happywhennothungry July 20, 2011 at 3:34 am #

    This drink looks so refreshing and love the beautiful color!! I think all guys would love this drink whether they admitted it or not🙂

  8. Lyndsey @ Vanilla Clouds and Lemon Drops July 20, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    Yum! This looks so good – my kind of drink! I’ll definitely be giving this a go! Buzzed : )

  9. Angie's Recipes July 20, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Whoever he is…a lucky one! The granita looks just as mysterious as HE!

  10. tony ward July 20, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    I know who it i is , I know who it i is !!! Ole guapa.. xx

  11. Medeja July 20, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Oh I wish I could see such great watermelons at my neighbors… :))) Well I can picture big guy with a pink martini .. it is so cute.. :))

  12. Tes July 20, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Ohhh it looks so lovely and refreshing! I’m calling my husband now “Bring home watermelon!!!”

  13. Jill Colonna July 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Natalie, I just loved your post and that girlie pink cocktail (so funny, your story about Mr. “Mystery”) Looks absolutely stunning and with the bouganvillier garnish, sheer class in a glass. These hibiscus are also gorgeous. You are so lucky where you live, surrounded by watermelons like that!

  14. chicaandaluza July 20, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Love the picture you paint of your friend and his cocktail (which soudns delicious). The watermelons are very early – how lucky!

  15. E July 20, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    This looks and sounds delicious! Once I’m back somewhere that watermelon is readily available, I’ll have to try it🙂 Love the visual of your big, burly male friend drinking a little pink martini.. great post!

  16. tinkerbelle86 July 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    makes me want a drink!

  17. Jean Farmer July 20, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    He is a pussy cat really, made us laugh too when he use to sit at the bar with his Cocktail glass. Just off to make one!!!!!! xx

    • foodblogandthedog July 20, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      It’s about that time! And I’ve still got some left in the freezer…xx

  18. budgetordietrying July 20, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    I could do with a watermelon martini right now! Your photos are great, very creative! And I can totally picture this guy from your description, made me smile🙂

  19. Barbara Rodgers July 20, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Oh, I want a Watermelon Martini Granita! Looks so refreshing and tempting! Maybe I can get Tim to make one for me…. Wish I had a gorgeous hibiscus to look at while drinking it…

  20. Holly July 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    What a gorgeous recipe… and you photography/ability to take food/drink shots is amazing!
    Thank you!
    Also – who knew that wwatermelons grew on the ground! It’s certainly not the kind of thing I’d walk past here… I guess a tree would have to be huge/strong, but the floor shots do seem odd!
    Nice to find you, x

  21. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table July 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Cheers to that guy for having the kahunas to order what he likes. I’d like to order one too, please.🙂

  22. greatestwealth July 21, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Wow that looks like a great combination, can’t wait to make this!!

  23. Celia July 21, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Love a man who isn’t afraid of a nice, pink cocktail. Balances out the whiskey-slinging ladies among us – who needs gender roles. 🙂 That hibiscus is amazing, and a good granita is key for the summer, especially when it’s boozy…

  24. Tori @ The Shiksa in the Kitchen July 21, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    Seems like this guy is secure in his masculinity, as he should be. A great cocktail is a great cocktail, no matter what color it is. And this one looks yummy-liscious.😉

  25. Christina July 21, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    I need to make this cocktail. It sounds like the perfect way to cool down this summer.🙂

  26. Tammy July 21, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Looks fabulous! I could use one right now.

  27. bhavani@ameanderingmango July 21, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    How fresh and summery! I wish we had watermelons growing nearby – it’s rainy and cold here but your drink has given me a warm taste of summer – thanks!

  28. sarah July 21, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Wow. Just wow. This is completely gorgeous and I am going to need one immediately.

  29. denise @ quickies on the dinner table July 21, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I’m smiling now, and I can’t stop🙂

    And I really want a watermelon margarita now. Really!!

  30. peasepudding July 21, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    I love your description of the watermelons in the field and how lucky to have temps that high to grow them. We are down to 14C this week but won’t stop me surfing today, well wrapped up of course

  31. kankana July 22, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    That’s a sweet post .. i didn’t know whether to saw aaww or what??!! This drink sure does look like a girls’ drink .. totally and you clicked it so perfectly with that all that gorgeous bright light.

  32. kita July 22, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    I love me a girly drink too and great post. I thought it was fun to read – not to mention the beautiful pictures of this watermelon martini granita!

  33. tiffany July 25, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    Thanks for the shout out!😀 And love the boozy granita! This is a MUST try (actually all of your dishes are ‘must try’!!!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Moroccan 7 Vegetable Couscous with Saffron and Moscatel Raisins « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - September 29, 2012

    […] some beautiful saffron all the way back from Afghanistan. He is another one of those men (like this pink watermelon martini loving guy) who would have to kill me if I told you his name. No, seriously he would. […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

