Fried Green Tomatoes with Scotch Bonnet Hot Pepper Sauce

2 Aug

Sometimes things are just meant to be. Like this recipe. It came together because I was looking at all the big green beef tomatoes (tomate ensalada) that are yet to ripen when I was walking the dog.

I started thinking about “Fried Green Tomatoes” the film, which I’ve never seen and the dish, which I’ve never tried. I wasn’t even sure whether it was a special type of tomato that was always green or if it was just an unripe tomato. I googled it when I got home.

It turns out that they are just sliced unripe tomatoes that are breaded with cornmeal (polenta) and fried. They are usually served with a wedge of lemon and some hot pepper sauce. Hot pepper sauce? That is when it started to come together.

We have a huge scotch bonnet chilli pepper bush on our terrace which was given to us last year by our sister-in-law, Marie Elena, before she moved back to England. This year it has come back even stronger than last year and we have just started harvesting the first lot of red-hot round juicy chillis.

There are literally hundreds of them on there and more and more are turning from green to red every day. I’ve been researching Caribbean dishes that use scotch bonnet chillis and am formulating some recipes in my head that I will be trying and posting soon.

The thing is that these recipes only use one, or at the most, two of these chillis and am just about to have loads. I always freeze my chillis, to keep them fresh, and I just take one or two out as required but I needed to make some room in the freezer, it is full of chillis and figs at the moment.

So I decided to make a hot pepper sauce out of my scotch bonnets to go with the fried green tomatoes. That used up about twenty of them anyway. It is a hot, hot pepper sauce but it has a kind of fruitiness to it as well which is unusual but works perfectly with the tomatoes.

Beware, this sauce is addictive. You think it’s too hot but then you keep going back for more. The Washer Up loves it, but he is the biggest chilli head I know. He just put some on a cheese and tomato sandwich.

Fried Green Tomatoes with Scotch Bonnet Hot Pepper Sauce

For the hot pepper sauce:

Makes a bit less than 250 ml bottle. Vegan, gluten-free. From The Chilli King

  • about 20 scotch bonnet chillis (mine are quite small)
  • 100 ml red wine vinegar (I used sherry vinegar)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 100 ml water

Remove the stalks and any large membranes from the chillis and roughly chop. Blend/process for few seconds until finely chopped. Add this to a small pan with the vinegar and salt & bring to the boil. Turn the heat down and simmer for 5-10 minutes until softened.

When it starts to reduce and thicken slightly add the water and sugar, stir and simmer for a further 5 minutes. Leave to cool.

Meanwhile sterilize your glass bottle by boiling it in water then drying out in a warm oven for 5 minutes.

Once cooled blend the sauce again until smooth and pour it through a funnel into the sterilised bottle, seal and leave to cool. Once opened keep sealed in the fridge, it should last for a few months.

For the tomatoes:

Serves 2. Vegetarian, gluten-free. Adapted from Tyler Florence

  • 2 large green (unripe) tomatoes
  • 100 gr (1/2 cup) polenta (cornmeal)
  • 75 gr (1/2 cup) arepa precooked corn flour (or plain flour)
  • a pinch of cayenne pepper
  • a pinch of paprika
  • salt & black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
  • 75 ml greek yoghurt mixed with 75 ml milk (I used goat’s milk) or 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • salt & black pepper
  • 100 ml (1/2 cup) olive oil
  • lemon wedges, to serve
  • hot pepper sauce (see above)

Mix the polenta, arepa flour (or plain flour), cayenne, paprika and thyme in a bowl and season with salt & pepper. Mix the yoghurt and milk (or put the buttermilk) in a shallow dish and season with salt & pepper.

Cut the top of the core out of the tomatoes and then slice off the top and bottom. Cut each tomato into four 1cm or less slices. Dip the tomatoes in the yoghurt mixture then put them, one by one, in the polenta bowl. Toss the  bowl around to coat the tomatoes completely on both sides.

Heat the oil in a large frying pan over a medium heat. When the oil is hot, fry the tomatoes for 3 -4 minutes per side until golden & crispy. Drain on paper towels and then serve, stacked on a plate with the lemon wedges and hot pepper sauce.

If the film is anywhere near as good as the dish then I need to download it soon. Enjoy!

Things That made Me Smile Today……

Beautiful red berries on a stick in the ground. I don’t know what they are but I bet they’re poisonous!

Pretty red bug probably eating my plants!

33 Responses to “Fried Green Tomatoes with Scotch Bonnet Hot Pepper Sauce”

  1. Veronica Gantley August 2, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I love fried green tomatoes, well fried anything. I am not to sure about that hot sauce. Those hot peppers look dangerous!

  2. Simply Sublime August 2, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    I’m so excited to try this sauce, fried green tomatoes are my absolute favorite!

  3. chicaandaluza August 2, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    How funny – I watched that film about 2 months ago then googled the recipe! Yours look delicious. Will give them a go with my tomatoes. How hot is the sauce? Looks wonderful. I asked Big Man about your red berry plant and he says he thinks it is poisonous, couldn´t remember the name of it but said when he was a niño they used to use the berries in catapults and pea shooters as they make a good “splat”!

    • foodblogandthedog August 2, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      The sauce is hot but it gets you and you go back for more! I’m going to try and make a catapult, it’s ages since I’ve had a good “splat!”

  4. Laura @ SweetSavoryPlanet August 2, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I have scotch bonnets in my garden and I love the idea of making hot sauce with them. The fried green tomatoes look delicious. I haven’t had enough of them this year!

  5. bhavani@ameanderingmango August 2, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Another great dish idea. I have wonderful memories of my mother in the kitchen with her gloves on, making scotch bonnet hot sauce – delicious and fully of crazy heat! Thanks!

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide August 2, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    These are great looking. They’re so popular down here. They’re easy to overcook and you did it perfectly.

  7. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts August 3, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    This sounds spicy and fabulous! We like to dehydrate our peppers and then grind them into a powder! Great way to add heat to things throughout the year! Haven’t tried freezing them, yet.

  8. Carolyn August 3, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    I have seen the movie, and read the book and tried the dish a few times. But never with Scotch Bonnet peppers! I know them mainly from jerk seasoning, which I love but which I can’t take too much of without something cold to drink and cool my tongue!

  9. Kelly August 3, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    These look gorgeous and so delicious!!🙂

  10. happywhennothungry August 3, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    Wow these tomatoes are beautiful!!! I have never tried making fried green tomatoes, but these look amazing and that hot pepper sauce looks beautiful as well!

  11. tony ward August 3, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Looks great….is the movie anything to do with Thelma and Louise……I think of them in the same part of (whats left of )my brain.!!!
    Those chillies look and sound really dangerous, will give it a go.
    Like you princess, I havent had a good ‘splat’ for a while now !!! xx

  12. Aimee@clevermuffin August 3, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I’ve never tried this! I always wondered after watching the film what they would be like. I’m very excited to give this a go.

  13. Cooking through the seasons August 3, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Hello to you, thanks for popping in to read my blog and for your message.

    Gosh all these lovely growing tomatoes and peppers! I like the sound of the chilli sauce too, and I expect I will be giving that a test in the kitchen soon.

    Cape Town is chilly again today after two days of warm Berg Wind weather. Hope you get to visit in February, it is a nice time to be in Cape Town.

    In the meantime, take care.

  14. pearlandpine August 3, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    I love love love fried green tomatoes but have actually never made them myself. Although after this post I’m guessing that is going to change very soon. Also I have got to get my hands on some of those chilli peppers because that sauce is d r e a m y!

  15. dulcie August 3, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Really lovely photos… Fried green tomatoes are delish and your hot sauce looks quite intriguing although I’m a wimp when it comes to heat! My co-blogger loves hot sauce though, and we’re going to make some soon.🙂

  16. tiffany August 4, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    Can you believe that I lived in NC for two years and never had fried green tomatoes!!! And love the spicy pepper sauce! I hope you were wearing gloves when you touched them!!!

  17. Tori @ The Shiksa in the Kitchen August 4, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Yum, yum, yum! I had fried green tomatoes once and I’ve always wanted to make them at home. The crispy coating recipe sounds divine. Can’t believe you’ve never seen the movie, it’s one of my faves!

  18. Kate August 4, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    This is beautiful and completely perfect for my family in particular. Me being vegetarian and my husband absolutely obsessed with hot sauce. You might have just created our new favorite dish. Love it!

  19. Ann August 4, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Being a southern girl – I love fried green tomatoes…and these are incredible! What a tomato plant! The movie is a great movie….a foodie movie! Awesome post and pictures!

  20. Angie's Recipes August 4, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I always want to try the fried green tomatoes! So yummy! The film was pretty good..actually it has been on TV a few times.

    Those red berries…I really wonder what they are…so pretty…and poisonous.

  21. kankana August 5, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    everything in this dish is making me do SIGH!!! those tini tiny gorgous chilies and green tomatoes and red golden berries SIGH!!!
    I like eating green tomato just raw .. and love even the fried ones. I ma saving this to give a try you version.

  22. Barbara Rodgers August 5, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Gluten-free! Yay!! I can’t wait to try it – it look scrumptious!

  23. Clarkie @ Beloved Green August 5, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Those peppers look absolutely amazing. You always put my rooftop garden to shame!

  24. thefooddoctor August 12, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    I love the fact that the red bug that is eating your plants makes you smile lol
    Atunning pictures as always

  25. thefooddoctor August 12, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    looool that was supposed to be stunning sorry

  26. Kevin August 29, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Beautiful red berries on a stick in the ground. I don’t know what they are but I bet they’re poisonous!

    The plant is the “jack in the pulpit”.

  27. Nicole October 4, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    Mmmm, looks so good.

    The pretty bug at the end is a maple bug.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TGIF! | Smallpeace - August 5, 2011

    […] can’t guess what I’m gonna cook this weekend. Check out the recipe that inspired me on Cook, Eat, Live Vegetarian, then meet us at Smallpeace. Have a beautiful weekend everyone. Hope you are spending it with […]

  2. Caribbean Chargrilled Sweetcorn « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - August 11, 2011

    […] I served mine with some of my homemade Scotch Bonnet Hot Pepper Sauce. […]

  3. Jerk Roasted Squash with Fruit and Nut Rice PIlaf « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - September 21, 2011

    […] I also made another batch of my Scotch Bonnet Hot Pepper Sauce ….. […]

  4. Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - October 4, 2011

    […] The one on the right is polenta, also known as cornmeal or grits. There are different size grounds of polenta. You can use it to make wet polenta with stock or milk or then bake or fry it in slices. Either way make sure you add lots of flavour too it. I also use polenta as a gluten-free breading agent instead of breadcrumbs to give something a crispy coating or topping. Like in these fried green tomatoes. […]

  5. Caribbean Sweet Potato Patties with Spicy Coconut and Spinach Sauce « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - August 31, 2012

    […] plant is producing more chillis than we can cope with at the moment. Apart from making more of my Scotch Bonnet Hot Pepper Sauce, I am trying to find ways of including them in every […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

