My 7 Links Challenge, Pass it on…

21 Aug

There’s a challenge going around the blogosphere at the moment called The Seven Links Challenge. I have been nominated by four different bloggers over the past few weeks and I am very honoured, if not a little apprehensive, to be thought of for this.

I would like to say a massive thank you to the lovely ladies who passed this on to me, starting with E from Legally Blissful, who has just started law school and is following her bliss. Tiffany from Como Water a kindred spirit with a positive soul, Tanya from Chica Andaluza my fellow guiri living the dream in Andalucia, and last but by no means least Sawsan from Chef in Disguise my Middle East meets West kitchen guru.

This is the Challenge:

THE GOAL

To unite bloggers (from all sectors) in a joint endeavor to share lessons learned and create a bank of long but not forgotten blog posts that deserve to see the light of day again.

THE RULES

1)     Blogger is nominated to take part

2)     Blogger publishes his/her 7 links on his/her blog – 1 link for each category.

– Your most beautiful post
– Your most popular post
– Your most controversial post
– Your most helpful post
– A post whose success surprised you
– A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved
– The post that you are most proud of

3)     Blogger nominates up to 5 more bloggers to take part

So here are my “7 links”

Most Beautiful Post…

Chocolate, Fig & Almond Rosewater Brownies….

Or Beautiful Almond Blossom & Amaretti Biscuits

Are you noticing a theme here? I like pink flowers….

Most Popular Post….

Chargrilled Broccoli & Beans with Garlic, Chilli & Sweet Soy Rice Noodles…..

This was featured on Freshly Pressed, the front page of WordPress and had 45oo hits in 2 days. Very exciting!

Most Controversial Post…..

Mint Julep Peaches Via Iran….

This was featured on Foodpress and got quite a lot of hits. I didn’t think this was controversial but I received a comment saying that the book I was reviewing “Reading Lolita in Tehran” was considered by most Iranians to be“baloney”.

I’d just like to point out that all the opinions on this blog are mine and mine only and the last time I looked freedom of speech and expression were legal, at least they are here.

Most Helpful Post…..

Thai Squash Wonton Soup & Spring Rolls….

I don’t know how helpful it is but there’s some pictures of how to fold wontons and spring rolls. And the filling is delicious!

Most Surprisingly Successful Post….

Spanish Onion Soup on the Beach…..

I was really surprised when this made the Foodbuzz Top 9 and ended up at number one. It was the first time I had been featured anywhere. It’s my Spanish take on the classic French Onion Soup.

Or Indian Lentil Dhal with Potato Stuffed Parathas

This one of my really early posts but it still get loads of traffic now through search engines. It must be something to do with the way it’s titled or something, I don’t know.

The Post That Didn’t Get The Attention It Deserved……

Halloumi Tikka Kebab with Turmeric & Cardamom Risotto & Tamarind Syrup

This is definitely one of mine and the The Washer Up’s all time favourite dishes. The texture of the halloumi that has been marinated in yoghurt & spices is a revelation and the complex balance of  flavours makes it a real winner.

The Post I am Most Proud Of……

Definitely Grandad’s Pickled Onions..

They’re amazing and so is he….xx

Okay so now I have to pass this challenge on to 5 other bloggers. I have chosen these five because they are blogs that I enjoy following that are quite new to me and I am really interested to see what they come up with from their archives.

Beth Michelle

Pease Pudding

The Sometimes Zoo

Sunshine & Smile

Crumb

Beloved Green

That’s 6, I know. If you get a chance you should check out their lovely blogs, if you don’t know them already.

And I look forward to seeing your gone but not forgotten posts…

21 Responses to “My 7 Links Challenge, Pass it on…”

  1. itsybitsybrianna August 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    they all look absolutely delicious
    but I would most definitely eat myself sick on the pickled onions!
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

    p.s. saving the recipe ASAP

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide August 21, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    You take such lovely photos. Great round up. That peach post was one of my favorite.

  3. Ramona August 21, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Wonderful recipes and your pictures are gorgeous! I loved all your choices. It always makes me sad to see the link that should have gotten the recognition it deserved (but didn’t) because they are always such beautiful dishes! You taught me something too: I need to be more aware how I title my dishes so they are more visible via search engines. Good tip! : )

  4. E August 21, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Hooray! I’m so glad you did this🙂 All of the photos made me really hungry, though…!

  5. Maris (in Good Taste) August 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Thanks for the reminder of all these lovely posts. The photos are fabulous

  6. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts August 21, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Great links! Love looking back at all the old posts!

  7. chicaandaluza August 21, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Lovely! Hadn´t seen the wonton one before (where on earth do you find the wrappers or does some lovely person bring them over from the UK?). Love the onion soup on the beach – I did a post on the same thing (the soup that is) early on at the start of my blog. The onions here are perfect for it. Great too to revisit your grandad´s pickled onions – can´t wait until I find some to make my own.

    • foodblogandthedog August 21, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      I get the wrappers from a Chinese supermarket in Fuengirola, I get alot of things from there and there’s an Indian shop there too! I’m just about to drain my “yoghurt” fingers crossed!!

  8. tiffany August 21, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    I loved this trip down memory lane! I’m a bit fan of your blog and have been following for awhile! There was NO need to be apprehensive my friend😀

  9. Isabelle @ Crumb August 22, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    Awwww… I’m so flattered to be on your list! Now I’m going to have to go dig up 7 posts of my own (not to mention 5 bloggers to nominate… gulp).
    PS – I totally missed that halloumi kebab. So glad it got a chance to shine here… anything that delicious-sounding should never be allowed to sink into obscurity.

  10. tony ward August 22, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    well done princess….I think you’ve got the pecking order right.Although I must say I have a sweet spot for the date and coconut thingies, for reasons we’ve spoken about.Maybe I’ll make a few more later…who knows. Thanx to you and your bloggers for the birthday wishes, was a great evening and thanx for the Champu !!! xx

  11. Nami | Just One Cookbook August 22, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    Wow Natalie! I’m so happy you did this – I’m fairly new to your site and I was so happy to see your old posts! I love the dish for Amaretti Biscuits…looks antique Chinese dish – the orange and blue with gold rim..so cute! Your parathas are amazing!!!

  12. thefooddoctor August 22, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Thank you so much Natalie for your kind words..
    I love your recipes and your photography is always stunning..
    I can’t wait to try the halloumi one and the fig brownies mmmm

  13. Alli August 22, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Thanks for passing the challenge on to me, i like the ideas of digging into past post and hope to bring up some surprises. I’m also please to discover your brownie recipe, yum

  14. Clarkie @ Beloved Green August 22, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Great listing! It is fun to go back and see if I missed any along the way, and I’m glad you put the Almond Blossom & Amaretti Biscuits, because those are delightful. I guess I better be on my way to working on my own🙂

  15. Caroline August 22, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    You definitely deserve to receive this award from four different bloggers. I need to post my 7 link challenge soon…I’ve been behind! Those kebabs look scrumptious.🙂

  16. Tes August 23, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I love all of these post🙂 The pictures of them are so stunning🙂

  17. sarah August 23, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Great line up!! I liked getting to go back and reading some of your earlier posts. I’m not sure I could brave such a search through my own archives!

  18. Aimee@clevermuffin August 24, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I’m not suprised at all you’ve been nominated four times, these photos and dishes look amazing! The Mint Julep Peaches picture has amazin colours in it. I can see why it would of been so popular.

  19. jacquelincangro August 24, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    I’m glad you were nominated for this award since it gave me the opportunity to read these older posts. I definitely want to try the lentil recipe. It looks delicious and simple to make.

  20. Beth Michelle August 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Thanks for passing this along Natalie!! I love all your picks and I am not sure how I ever missed that amazing Halloumi tikka?!?!

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

