Tyrokafteri – A Greek Chilli Cheese Dip with Homemade Goat’s Cheese

24 Aug

I’ve made Middle Eastern yoghurt cheese (labneh) before by straining Greek yoghurt in the fridge overnight but I’d never gone one step back and actually made the yoghurt as well.

I read about it at Chica Andaluza. She made yoghurt from cow’s milk and then drained it for longer to make a soft cheese. I really wanted to try this with goat’s milk to see if I could make my own soft goat’s cheese.

It took a little longer than expected to “turn” which may have had something to do with the unseasonably cloudy weather we had as soon as I decided I wanted to put my milk out in the sun, but it worked. I made soft goat’s cheese from goat’s milk and it was easy.

A litre carton of goat’s milk made about 250 gr goat’s cheese spread, which is the size of a tub of Philadelphia, it’s that sort of texture too.

Now I could get on with making a Greek chilli cheese dip called Tyrokafteri that had been wanting to try for a while. The original recipe is a mixture of feta cheese and ricotta blended with chillis, lemon juice and olive oil. I just replaced those with my soft goat’s cheese.

Tyrokafteri Chilli Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe

Makes about 300 ml, vegetarian, gluten-free. Adapted from Epicurious

  • 4 red & 4 green chillis, I used birds eye chillis (use 20 gr if using the larger mild chillies)
  • 250 gr soft goat’s cheese (or 165 gr feta & 85 gr ricotta)
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 35 ml extra virgen olive oil
  • salt & black pepper

Wash the chillis, remove the stalks, cut them in half lengthways and remove the seeds and membrane. Wear gloves or your hands will sting for ages and don’t touch your eyes.

Boil them in a small pan of boiling water for 15 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon and peel off the skin (if using larger chillies) using gloves. If you used small chillies no need to peel. Boiling them takes away some of the heat but not the flavour.

Put the rest of the ingredients and  in a blender/processor and blend together well. I added my chillies two at a time because I was worried about it being too hot, and blended again. Taste and add more chillies until you are happy with the heat. I added all eight in the end and it was perfect. Blend until smooth and season with salt & black pepper. If  you are using feta you may not need any salt.

Pour into a serving bowl and refrigerate until using. It tastes even better the next day.

Serve with toasted pita bread or crudites for dipping or drizzle over roasted or chargrilled Mediterranean vegetables. It’s addictive. I served mine with some baked zucchini fries and I will be posting the recipe tomorrow…

Things That Made Me Smile Today……

I love these flowers, they look like a multi-layered gerbera…..

The bees seem pretty taken with them too….

Hasta Manana!

20 Responses to “Tyrokafteri – A Greek Chilli Cheese Dip with Homemade Goat’s Cheese”

  1. Annie Flowers August 24, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Looks like another lovely recipe. Wondering if you have found a use for the whey from the yoghurt, I’m thinking bread or scones, hate to waste anything. I love the yoghurt so much that I feel very extravagant using a whole kilo to make 250g of cheese!

    • foodblogandthedog August 24, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      I am going to use the whey to make either ricotta or soda bread, not sure yet! I hate to waste anythng either. It is 1 litre of milk (not yoghurt) to get 250 gr cheese, though so not too bad, if you use the whey obviously!

  2. chicaandaluza August 24, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Phew – so glad you got there in the end. I made some yesterday and it took a lot longer than normal too to “set”. It´s currently draining, so if I wait for your courgette recipe I can recreate yor dish (even though it was cow´s milk). Am currently on a big courgette cooking extravaganaza as Big Man came home with 15 mammoth courgettes yesterday!

  3. Annie Flowers August 24, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Sorry,I didn’t read it properly, obviously, sounds very economical then🙂 Can’t wait to see how you do the courgette chips. Love your recipes, really interesting. thank you.

  4. alyce August 24, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Sounds great!

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide August 25, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    This looks amazing. Great pictures as always. Although, no flower competes with Rufus. He’s just photogenic!

  6. Meghan August 25, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    I love that you used goat cheese in this recipe, looks great! Perfect for those zucchini fries, looking forward to the recipe!

  7. carol Campbell August 25, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    this looks lovely,we are back in spain for the weekend so I will be making this.I bought a chilli plant in m and s here today!can’t wait for the zucchini recipe.do you have a recipe for corn fries, I had them in a restaurant in Manchester recently,they were lovely, like big fat chips.
    Love Carolx

  8. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts August 25, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    You made your own goat cheese! That is my hubby’s favorite, I might have to try that for him! This dip with it sounds like something he would just go crazy for!

  9. tiffany August 25, 2011 at 4:04 am #

    You made your own goat’s cheese?!?!?! You are SERIOUSLY my hero! And random… I have pink gerberas on my dining table right now!

  10. Nami | Just One Cookbook August 25, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    I always admire people who makes cheese, tofu, bread…. you know it looks like it requires so much of your attention and of course energy. But I bet nothing is superior than homemade with love and passion. I’d love to try making them one day. Probably they are my biggest goals. I like you ended with beautiful flowers too. Brightened my day!🙂

  11. Cooking through the seasons August 25, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    A nice bright and breezy little snippet here Natalie; love all the pictures and yes the flower is worth smiling about.
    Take care and have a lovely day.

  12. Clarkie @ Beloved Green August 25, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Well done, and it looks picture perfect!

  13. kellie @ foodtoglow August 25, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    That looks simplicity itself, if requiring a bit of time. I sometimes make labneh (adding my homemade za’atar or dukkah mix), and have made my own yogurt but have never thought of making my own goats’ cheese. On my to-do list – but only on a sunny day, which may be tricky up here in Scotland! Loved your made-me-smile pictures, too.

  14. Isabelle @ Crumb August 25, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    I can sometimes find containers of goat’s milk yogurt in the local supermarket, but it’s never occurred to me to strain the yogurt to make my own goat cheese, even though I often make labneh with regular cow’s milk yogurt… what a great idea!
    This dip sounds positively delicious.. and so simple, too. Will definitely try making some once I get around to trying out this goat cheese trick of yours.

  15. thefooddoctor August 25, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I am always in love with your photography🙂
    This dip sounds like a must try! thank you for sharing

  16. Beth Michelle August 26, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I should really try making my own goat cheese. I use it so often its silly havent made some of my own! You have inspired me to try. Your dip sounds sooooo good!

  17. Dani September 7, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    I can’t believe it’s never occurred to me to make my own goat cheese… what a great idea! And the dip looks amazing. (Like nearly everything you post, of course. I’m catching up!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tyrokafteri – A Greek Chilli Cheese Dip with Homemade Goat's … » Greek Recipes - August 25, 2011

    […] Originally posted here: Tyrokafteri – A Greek Chilli Cheese Dip with Homemade Goat's … […]

  2. Baked Zucchini Fries with Tyrokafteri Chilli Cheese Dip « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - August 25, 2011

    […] immediately with Tyrokafteri chilli cheese dip or a basil pesto […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

