Baked Zucchini Fries with Tyrokafteri Chilli Cheese Dip

25 Aug

So here you are as promised, these baked zucchini fries are the perfect vehicle for the Tyrokafteri chilli cheese dip that I posted yesterday. They are also really good with a basil pesto mayo.

I first had zucchini fries at a bar/restaurant called Liquid Lounge in Puerto Banus about 8 or 9 years ago. Liquid Lounge is not there anymore unfortunately but, at the time, it was the place to be in Banus. They had an amazing cocktail menu and a chef that thought he was Marco Pierre White. The food was modern Italian/British and they had zucchini fries as one of the starters.

I had them every time we went. They came with a basil pesto mayo and it seemed to me that everyone was ordering them as a side dish as well. We used to think that they must have had one person in that kitchen just doing zucchini fries. They were that popular.

I knew as I saw these courgettes growing where I walk with the dog that Zucchini Fries was going to be my first courgette recipe of the season. Definitely not the last though.

I have made them at home quite a few times and I’ve always deep-fried them in breadcrumbs. I made this version gluten-free and baked them instead of deep-frying. You know what, I think that they might actually be better this way.

The “breading” is  a heavenly mixture of finely grated parmesan/manchego, crushed fennel seeds, ground almonds, cornmeal (arepa flour or polenta), oregano, chilli flakes and gluten-free breadcrumbs. And they do crisp up nicely in the oven too, if that’s what you’re worried about.

Baked Zucchini Fries Recipe

Serves 2 as a snack or side dish, vegetarian, gluten-free. Adapted from Prairie Table

  • 1 medium courgette/zucchini
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 35 gr (1/3 cup) finely grated parmesan or manchego cheese
  • 35 gr (1/3 cup) ground almonds
  • 35 gr (1/4 cup) arepa cornmeal (or polenta)
  • 35 gr (1/4 cup) gluten-free breadcrumbs
  • salt & black pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seeds (then crushed)
  • 1/2 tsp dried chilli flakes
  • olive oil

Preheat the oven to 200 C. Line a baking sheet with baking paper and brush it all over with olive oil.

Tip all the dry coating ingredients in a freezer/ziploc bag season well with salt & pepper and shake to combine well.

Wash & dry your courgette and trim off both ends. Cut the courgette in half into two even cylinders and cut each half lengthways into 8 fries. Make sure each piece has some skin to hold it together.

Put the beaten egg in a shallow dish or plate and season with salt & pepper. Toss 2 pieces at a time in the egg until coated on all sides, then drop the pieces into the freezer bag. Seal and shake about well to make sure they are well coated, then place on the lined, oiled baking tray. Repeat with the rest of the fries.

Drizzle over a little olive oil so that each piece has a little and bake for about 20 minutes until golden. Take the tray out of the oven and use tongs to turn them over. Put them back in the oven for about 5 minutes to crisp on the other side.

Serve immediately with Tyrokafteri chilli cheese dip or a basil pesto mayo.

I served them with my version of a Greek Salad too. Cos lettuce, tomatoes, chickpeas, red onion, cucumber, black grapes, (I don’t like olives), fresh mint, fresh parsley, dried oregano, olive oil, lemon juice, salt & pepper.

Enjoy!!

28 Responses to “Baked Zucchini Fries with Tyrokafteri Chilli Cheese Dip”

  1. tiffany August 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    How AWESOME that those fries are baked! (my tummy can’t really take fried food anymore!). You got such great color!

  2. chicaandaluza August 25, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Stunning – and baked too! I still have courgettes waiting to be used….:)

  3. Three Well Beings August 25, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    This is a dream recipe for me! I have a garden bursting with fresh zucchini and I was about to begin grating for the freezer and future zucchini bread or cake. I wonder how many zucchini fries I can eat in one sitting without feeling too guilty! The salad is amazing, too. I know what we’re eating for dinner tonight!

  4. thefooddoctor August 25, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    WOW! that breading mix sounds amazing..I can’t wait to try it

  5. Caroline August 25, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Oh my gosh, YUM! I want some right now, these look amazing. Zucchini is one of my favorite veggies…and it’s of course even better when covered in breading.🙂

  6. Coco August 25, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    I love Zucchini fries. These will be so great with a basil pesto mayo. Making me hungry !

  7. tony ward August 26, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    OMG, thats just perfect and solves the ‘what shall I have for nibbles’, when we are at Viola later in the Cape Quarter.They, of course, fry them and have a alioi dip. YOURS NOW….thats a whole new ball game !! They sound and look fabulous, really crunchy too I’m guessing ? I’ll try to make the pesto too the next time I have my chefs hat on!!
    Disfruta su fin de semana guapa. xx

  8. Annie Flowers August 26, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Looks delicious going to try this weekend🙂

  9. Angie's Recipes August 26, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    oh how yummy! They look very crunchy and delightful.

  10. Ева Тонева August 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Looks fantastic!

  11. Beth Michelle August 26, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    YUM! These look so beautiful. Great job!

  12. Liz August 26, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Oh, my! Those zucchini fries look so crispy and delicious! And your Greek salad? I could just dive in…mmmmmmm

  13. Kelly August 26, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I LOVE baked zucchini, this looks incredible!! Love your photos!🙂

  14. faceling August 26, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Can’t wait to try those fries! They look delicious – hats off🙂

  15. The Travelling Chopsticks August 26, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Ooh..I think I have to try and make these, they look fantastic! Great colour for being baked!

  16. Thas @ Cooking with Thas August 27, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    These are just beautiful and l love the fact that it’s baked and not fried. Will try this soon, bookmarked!

  17. Tes August 27, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    The last picture took my breath away! I really love colorful salad🙂 Your baked Zucchini looks delicious🙂

  18. Tammy August 27, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    I love that you baked these! Sometimes I have so many zucchini that I don’t know what to do – what a great option.

  19. peasepudding August 27, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I love the coating with cheese and fennel, oh to have Manchego cheese, would you believe it costs about €10 for a small wedge here! I even brought a load back from Sydney the other week because EU cheese is much cheaper there. I’m definitely making these.

  20. kita August 28, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    I had my first zucchini fries at a bar in St.Louis! They are super delicious and I love the sound of dipping them into that basil pesto dip too. I’ve only had these with marinara sauce, but both of those dips sound great!

  21. luvnspoonfuls August 28, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    These look soooooo delicious! I can’t wait to try this as I love this appetizer (I like your addition of nuts to the coating…fabulous!)

    Lovely photos too!

  22. Adriana @ GreatFood360° August 29, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    I love the combination of ingredients for the coating. These fries look so tasty!

  23. Clarkie @ Beloved Green August 30, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    These look absolutely divine.

  24. carol Campbell August 30, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    we tried the cheese dip,I only had feta but it was lovely.Looking forward to the zucchini bakes now we are home,do you know where i can buy free range organic eggs in alhaurin?i only get them at hypercor but don’t go there very often.
    we also did the green tomatoes agin with the arepa flour,worked much better.the chilli sauce turned out completely different,but still great.
    lcx

    • foodblogandthedog August 31, 2011 at 1:24 am #

      Glad you liked the cheese dip! They sell free range eggs in Mercadona, not sure they’re organic though. The only other place I get them is from people/neighbours who keep chickens!! Good luck!

  25. jeralkeendy August 31, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Yumm! Thanks for the recipe, gonna try this soon🙂
    http://jeralkeendy.wordpress.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Italian Courgette Crostata with Goat’s Cheese, Garlic and Basil « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - October 11, 2012

    […] have a go at making this deliciously light Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread or these very moreish Baked Zucchini Fries as […]

  2. Deep Fried Courgettes – Zucchini Fritti | Chica Andaluza - October 14, 2013

    […] could try Natalies beautiful Baked Courgettes instead and check out her fantastic blog which is packed full of amazing vegetarian […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

