Green Bean, Lentil and Potato Curry with Green Chilli and Mint

23 Sep

Watching these green beans growing in the fields where I walk the dog made me think about using them in a dish as the main ingredient. We eat quite a lot of green beans but always as a side vegetable. I wanted to give them the chance to be the star.

I found a Madhur Jaffrey recipe for Green Lentils with Green Beans & Fresh Coriander in another magazine clipping The Washer Up’s dad, Jim had sent to me. I used that as a base to work from and added a lot more spices and some of my homegrown green chillis.

I had some new potatoes in my fridge so I added those and I used mint instead of coriander because that was what I had. The mint works really well with the beans and the potatoes and gives the whole dish a lovely freshness as well as being a cool partner to the fiery chilli.

This is surprisingly delicious, by that I mean that humble everyday ingredients can be brought together with a bit of spice and chilli heat to create something really special. And you don’t need to serve anything with it, so less washing up!

Green Bean Lentil & Potato Curry with Green Chilli & Mint

Serves 3-4 vegan, gluten-free. Adapted from Curry Easy by Madhur Jaffrey

  • 250 gr green beans, trimmed and cut into thirds
  • 200 gr dried lentils
  • 750 ml water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 425 gr new potatoes, quartered
  • 1 tsp Punchpooran (An Indian whole spice mix that includes: cumin seeds, fennel seeds, fenugreek seeds, black mustard seeds and onion seeds) Available from East End Foods.
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds, then crushed in a mortar & pestle
  • 1 red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves, garlic
  • 2 green chillis, finely chopped (deseeded if you like it milder)
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 500 ml veg stock (maybe more)
  • 1 tin (400 gr) chopped tomatoes
  • salt & black pepper
  • the juice of half a lemon
  • a handful of fresh mint leaves, (about 15) finely chopped plus some sprigs for garnish

Put the lentils and water in a medium pan and bring to the boil. Lower the heat and simmer, partially covered for about 20 minutes until the lentils are nearly cooked and most of the water has been absorbed. Then season with salt & black pepper.

Meanwhile heat the olive oil in a large pan that has a lid over a medium heat. Add the punchpooran, cumin, mustard and crushed coriander seeds and cook until they start to pop. Add the onion cook for about 5 minutes until softened then add the garlic, ginger, chillies and cook for 2 minutes more.

Add in the quartered potatoes, turmeric and garam masala and season well with salt & pepper. Stir to coat the potatoes in the spices then add the stock and tinned tomatoes and bring to the boil. Lower the heat, cover and simmer for about 15 minutes.

Next add in the beans and cook for another 5 minutes with the lid on (If it is dry you may want to add some more stock). Then add in the cooked lentils and cook for a further 5 minutes. By this time the potatoes should be cooked, if not add a bit more stock and give them another 5 minutes.

Squeeze over the lemon and stir in the chopped mint. Taste for seasoning and add more salt if necessary. Serve in warmed bowls garnished with the mint sprigs.

This is actually really good served cold/room temperature as a salad for lunch the next day too.

Have a great weekend…

23 Responses to “Green Bean, Lentil and Potato Curry with Green Chilli and Mint”

  1. Mama J September 23, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Oh, I love all of these ingredients!

  2. kellie @ foodtoglow September 23, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    That is just the kind of dish I like, and it is especially gratifying when you make a sub (coriander for mint in this case) and it really really works. Beans and mint are natural partners, but the warm spices & homegrown chilis add a whole new dimension. Lovely tweak of a Madhur recipe.

  3. kellie @ foodtoglow September 23, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    PS Rick Stein, in his Far Eastern Odyssey boo, has a recipe for panchphoran. I made it awhile ago and use it for all kinds of things – even over scrambled eggs!

  4. Savorique September 23, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    You’ll have me anytime there are lentils in the dish. But my favorite of all remains lentil soup (with carrot and celeri).

  5. chicaandaluza September 23, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Lovely – we have a freezer full of bags fo these beans that have just finished growing. Like you, I usually use them as a side dish, so this is a wonderful recipe. And yay – my chilies are finally turning red!

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide September 23, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    Oh I’m doing a little dance, because I have that book. ALso, I like to dance.

  7. Christine September 23, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Looks wonderful.

  8. bhavani@ameanderingmango September 24, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Another great dish to add to your collection. I really love the recipes that you post – delicious combinations and flavours.

  9. Nami | Just One Cookbook September 24, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    You always put veggies in most delicious way. I love all the spices you added in (I am still new to use spices so you can say I’m clueless which one to use…). Very lovely curry!

  10. Juanita September 24, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    My mouth was watering while I read this. This is really nourishing comfort food at it’s best. Nicely done!

    Green beans have been my favourite vegetable of late, eaten oven roasted with lemon juice, olive oil and salt.

  11. Ramona September 24, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Yum, yum, yum! I would eat this and eat this. I love all the flavors and the ingredients. I have never mixed lentils with green beans before. Lovely! I also must compliment your garden. It is gorgeous! You are eating how we all should…right from the ground up. Love it!

  12. Beth Michelle September 24, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Such great recipe! I love lentils and would love to try them this way!!

  13. Saveur September 25, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    This reminds me a lot of Cotter’s inauthentic Massaman curry I made earlier this summer. I love how you substituted mint for the cilantro.. looks great!

  14. Clarkie @ Beloved Green September 25, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    This looks so refreshing. Love the touch of mint. Gorgeous!

  15. Celia September 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    I’m impressed you were brave enough to both grow and use fresh chillis. Looks like it totally paid off. Yum!

  16. tony ward September 26, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    This looks and sounds great princess. I can see this being an integral part of lots of meals, both casual and formal. I can’t wait to get the ol’ cooking habit going again.Our Garden Route expedition ends today (not fair)

  17. Three Well Beings September 26, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Lentils AND potatoes…my comfort foods! I love the variety of spices, and see at least one, Punchpooran, I will have to find! I think you’ve given me the challenge I’d like to perfect as a “company” dish. I can’t wait! Debra

  18. Caroline September 26, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    What a great curry dish, this sounds delicious Natalie! Your chilli photos are always so pretty…wish I had some fresh ones of my own! Hope you had a lovely weekend. xx

  19. Kita September 27, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I love anything with green beans – they are my ultimate snack food. This dish sounds amazing with the curry and spice.

  20. Dani || Moderate Oven September 27, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh yum. I will definitely have to try this. I have a new (to me) Madhur Jaffrey cookbook and there is a recipe for green bean and mushroom curry that I’ve made several times recently. Also very good. I love her recipes.

  21. Mission Delectable September 27, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Yum… I’m definitely going to have to try this! I really love the idea of mint in this, and am jealous of your homegrown green chiles (they look fantastic).

  22. marvie2008 September 28, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    I want to be your neighbor, Natalie! One of my cooking dreams is to just pick up the veggies straight from the farm to my kitchen😛.

  23. stephanie mears July 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    This was far too wet. 500mls of stock seemed too much, so I used about 250mls and even after adding the lentils, which had no remaining water in them, it was still sloppy.

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

