Wholemeal Persimmon Pancakes with Maple Syrup and Persimmon Sauce

6 Nov

Persimmons aren’t the prettiest looking things. That coupled with the fact that the name for them in Spanish is caqui and you can understand why I wasn’t that bothered about trying them.

We also had a bit of a disaster last year with them. We were out walking the dog and, because I was intrigued by them, I asked  The Washer Up to pick a few to take home. He did, and put them in his jacket pocket until we got home.

The thing is with caquis is that when they are ripe they are really soft, like an overripe rotting tomato with a tendency to split at the slightest provocation. Which is what they did in his jacket pocket. The pocket that also housed our mobile phone at the time. Ooops…

Needless to say the phone was completely jammed up, literally with persimmon jam, and never recovered. This year we took a carrier bag.

Like I said, they are really squishy when ripe so I just pulled off the stalk tops and squeezed the bright orange pulp out of the skins and pureed it in a food processor. I have no idea what else you could do with them.

So, what to do with quite a lot of persimmon puree? I saw a recipe for vegan pumpkin pancakes in Blissful Bites and thought I’d swap the pumpkin puree for persimmon. Well they are both orange.

Vegan Wholemeal Persimmon Pancakes

Makes about 12 pancakes, vegan. Adapted from Blissful Bites

  • 1 or 2 tbsp cooking oil
  • 150 gr (1 cup) wholemeal flour or spelt flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  •  1 tsp baking soda
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (or miel de cana) plus extra to serve
  • 330 ml (1 1/2 cups) unsweetened almond milk or rice milk
  • 5 tbsp (1/3 cup) persimmon puree (substitute with pumpkin puree but add 1 tbsp more maple syrup to the batter)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

To make the persimmon puree, (they need to be very ripe and squishy), take off the stalk ends and squeeze the pulp out of the skins into a processor. Blend to a smooth puree and taste. If you would like it sweeter add a squidge of honey or agave nectar.

Mix together the dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl whisk together the wet ingredients. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry and whisk well so there are no lumps.

Heat a frying pan/skillet over a medium heat, add 1 tbsp of oil and rub it around the pan with some kitchen paper (or use oil spray). When the pan is hot add a small ladle about 4 tbsp (1/4 cup) of the batter into the pan and leave it until the edges start to get firm and the top bubbles. (You can probably do 2 or 3 at a time).

Flip the pancakes carefully and press down with a spatula, leave to cook for a few more minutes. Transfer to a plate and keep warm in a low oven while you cook the rest. You will probably need to add a bit more oil for each batch.

Serve drizzled with lots of maple syrup (or miel de cana) and a big spoonful of the persimmon puree.

So that’s Sunday brunch sorted then…

Enjoy!!

21 Responses to “Wholemeal Persimmon Pancakes with Maple Syrup and Persimmon Sauce”

  1. Ayako Mathies November 6, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    My Italian friend insisted that the name of the fruit in Italian is originally Italian but it sounded too much like the Japanese name “kaki” which you say in Spanish is “caqui”.

    Your persimmons actually look very Japanese while our pears and your pears are so totally different.

    And the puree and the pancakes combo sounds divine.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diospyros_kaki

  2. Ramona November 6, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Looks delightful and yummy! I had to laugh about jammy in pockets…. I don’t know how, but my kid’s pockets seem to get all “jammed” up somehow. I dread laundry day. Glad you brought a bag this year.🙂

  3. Alison November 6, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    These look amazing! Thanks for sharing!!

  4. chicaandaluza November 6, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Oh dear – sticky phone! I like them just a litle less ripe, cut through the middle and eaten with a teaspoon. Also nice with the purée mixed with cava … a beautifully coloured cocktail!

  5. veggiegrettie November 6, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    I have always been a lover of persimmons. When I was younger my mom would buy them and then put them in the windowsill until they were good and soft then slice the tops off and give them to my sister and I to eat with a spoon. It wasn’t until later that I discovered there were other varieties of persimmons…I also really like the variety that is crunchy like an apple. I have both kinds in my kitchen right now and persimmon pancakes sound like the perfect Sunday breakfast🙂

  6. Savory Simple November 6, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever tasted persimmon. I keep seeing delicious sounding recipes with them, I think it’s time to finally get my hands on some.

  7. Tony Ward November 6, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Great stuff chica, as always. I love the chicandaluz suggestion too !! Wonder why ??
    LOL xx

  8. Savorique November 6, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    This is a great weekend breakfast. I guess all types of maple syrup work. I have amber at home.

  9. Nava Krishnan November 6, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Surely I would like to try this recipe as persimmons are not cheap over here.

  10. thefooddoctor November 6, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    I second Tanya
    I like mine a little less ripe, they are really good eaten with a spoon
    In arabic they are called kaka which is even worse than the spanich name lol but they do taste good

  11. peasepudding November 6, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Your persimmons do look very cute, ours seem to be monster ones here, even so I still love them and they are at the best when ripe. The puree looks lovely, perhaps also good for a daiquiri?

  12. spree November 7, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Aha! I’ve been WONDERING what to do with a persimmon! My daughter just asked me the other day and I had no answer to give her. (And thanks for the hint on what NOT to do with them – I’m one who loves collecting things outdoors and filling her pockets.)

  13. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide November 7, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    There is a persimmon tree behind our house and it’s killing Katherine because the fruit is too high. These look wonderful. I won’t show her unless we figure out how to pick them!

  14. happywhennothungry November 7, 2011 at 2:44 am #

    These pancakes look amazing!!! I’ve never tried pancakes with persimmons before. How creative!

  15. Three Well Beings November 7, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    I find overly ripe fruit at the bottom of my work bag from time to time! I forget I’m carrying an extra banana or maybe an avocado. Fortunately no electronics are involved in my mess! I love that you just thought to exchange persimmon for pumpkin. I often have access to excess persimmons from friends’ trees, simply because so few of us know how to cook with them. This is such a great recipe! I can’t wait. Debra

  16. alyssa November 7, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    The pancakes look very tasty! I’ve never had persimmons before, what do they taste like?

    • foodblogandthedog November 7, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      They taste sweet and the texture is like a cross between a plum, apricot & tomato, sort of!!

  17. tiffany November 9, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    I could eat pancakes for breakfast, lunch, AND dinner… especially when they’re guilt free like these! YUM! And guess what I got in the mail today!!!!!!😀 HUGS!

  18. VogueVegetarian November 9, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Lovely! My local farmer/grocery delivery service just brought me 6 of these today. I have never seen them and never tried them. I can’t wait to try this out this week. Thanks for the inspiration!

  19. luvnspoonfuls November 10, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    Looks completely fantastic, and I can almost taste the persimmons (which I L.O.V.E.)! Great recipe…can’t wait to give it a try (we have lots of super ripe persimmons at the store right now). Cheers!

  20. Beth Michelle November 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Oo I love persimmons. We have them in abundance here. I usually cut them up in salads but I love the idea of pureeing them into a pancake mix. So delicious.

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

