Flax Seed, Raisin and Date Breakfast Loaf

14 Nov

This is the bread that I served with my Goat’s Cheese Brulee. It also the bread that I have had for breakfast every day since the first time I made it two weeks ago. I love it.

It is packed with seeds and fruit and sweetened with honey. There is no yeast involved so no kneading, no proving and no waiting two hours for it to double in size. You just mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, tip it into a lined loaf tin and bake it for 1 hour 50 minutes.

I added flax seeds and flax meal (ground flax seeds) to the original recipe that I found on Cooking Through the Seasons. If you haven’t added flax meal to your diet yet here’s a few reasons why you should really think about it. This information is taken from About.com.

Flax Seed Nutrition

Flax seed is very low in carbohydrates, making it ideal for people who limit their intake of starches and sugars. And its combination of healthy fat and high fibre content make it a great food for weight loss and maintenance.

Flax Seed is Rich in Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Omega-3 fatty acids are a key force against inflammation in our bodies. Mounting evidence shows that inflammation plays a part in many chronic diseases including heart disease, arthritis, asthma, diabetes, and even some cancers.

Flax Seed is High in Fiber: You’d be hard-pressed to find a food higher in fibre than flax. This fibre is probably mainly responsible for the cholesterol-lowering effects of flax. Fibre in the diet also helps stabilize blood sugar, and, of course, promotes proper functioning of the intestines.

Flax Seed is High in Phytochemicals: Flax seed is high in phytochemicals, including many antioxidants. It is perhaps our best source of lignans, which convert in our intestines to substances that tend to balance female hormones. There is evidence that lignans may promote fertility, reduce peri-menopausal symptoms, and possibly help prevent breast cancer. In addition, lignans may help prevent Type 2 diabetes.

Flax seeds need to be ground to make the most of the nutrients available. This bread contains both flax meal and flax seeds. It is also de-licious.

Flax Seed, Raisin & Date Loaf

Makes 1 loaf, vegetarian/vegan. Adapted from Cooking Through the Seasons

Preparation time: 15 minutes Cooking Time: 1 hour 50 minutes

Ingredients A

  • 200 gr spelt (or wholemeal) flour
  • 50 gr flax meal
  • 100 gr oats
  • 75 gr shelled sunflower seeds
  • 50 gr All Bran flakes
  • 50 gr raisins
  • 50 gr sesame seeds
  • 50 gr flax seeds
  • 50 gr cornflour (cornstarch)
  • 50 gr dates, stones removed and finely chopped

Ingredients B

  • 500 ml Greek yoghurt (or oat milk)
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp honey/agave syrup
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp molasses (miel de cana)

Preheat oven to 180C and oil a 12cm x 25cm loaf tin (1 litre capacity), then dust with flour.

Mix all the A ingredients in a large bowl. In another large bowl whisk together all the B ingredients.  Add the B  ingredients to the A bowl and mix everything until well combined.

Tip into the oiled and floured loaf tin and spread it out evenly. Sprinkle the top with a few more sesame, sunflower & flax seeds.

Put in the preheated oven and bake at 180C for 20 minutes. Reduce the heat to 150C and bake for a further 90 minutes. Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin before turning out (if you can wait that is). You may need to run the knife around the edges and bang it upside down to get it out.

Cut yourself a thin slice with a serrated knife and toast under a hot grill for a few minutes. While it is still hot spread over some butter (or olive oil spread) and enjoy.

For your next slice (which will be straight after you have finished the first) you may want to add something like a Fig Compote  but you may just want keep it simple. It’s so good with just butter. It’s good untoasted too, I just really love it toasted.

Okay I’ll stop gushing about it now, but only if you promise to try it…..

Things That Made Me Smile Today………….

Malaga….

Best city in the world….

Still the best kept secret in Andalucia…….

23 Responses to “Flax Seed, Raisin and Date Breakfast Loaf”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide November 14, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Great photos, as always. Flax seed is one of my favorite ingredients for bread. I like how dense yours is, so rich looking. When we were in Ireland and Scotland last year the breads were so hearty. You don’t see that here. Yes, I make my own, but still!

  2. Savorique November 14, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I don’t have celiac decease but still wonder how we could make this bread gluten-free. It seems so close to it and somehow I feel it is easily “convertible”.
    The cross section photos are so appetizing, bravo!
    When are you opening in bakery?😉

  3. VogueVegetarian November 14, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    My husband loves breakfast breads. This one looks especially tasty. I’ll have to give this a try this weekend. Love your “things that made me smile today”. Thanks for spreading the happiness.

  4. Steph@stephsbitebybite November 14, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    I love breads that are packed with crnuchy seeds and chewy sweet jewels! I wish I had a huge slice of this right now! Warmed with a pad of butter🙂

  5. ceciliag November 14, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    A lovely bread, and I add flax seeds and flax flour to everything, I am in complete agreement.. c

  6. peasepudding November 14, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    I’m so glad you posted this recipe it is an amazing looking loaf, i have all the ingredients too to make it.

  7. Three Well Beings November 14, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    For our Thanksgiving weekend I have a whole house-full of guests! I’m trying to pull things together, and I’m sure this would even freeze well? I sprinkle flaxseed on my cereal, but this is a most deicious addition. And I would love to pair it with the Goat’s Cheese Brulee. Quite delicious! And your “happy” photos are amazing! I’d be happy, too! Debra

  8. Kim Bee November 15, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    This loaf is one wonderful recipe. It just looks amazing. And your pictures are stunning.

  9. thecompletecookbook November 15, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    What an incredible loaf! I have just written flax seed onto my grocery list and have put myself in the naughty corner for not using it to date!
    Beautiful photos too.🙂 Mandy

  10. Tes November 15, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Oh these are perfect slice for breafast! Hearty and healthy🙂 The pictures are so gorgeous🙂

  11. frugalfeeding November 15, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    What a great looking breakfast. By the sounds of it I’ll need to try these so called flax seeds. I shall visit the health food shop tomorrow!

  12. dassana November 15, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    what a healthy recipe for a bread. i always use powdered flax seeds as a topping with my meals. and i love them for the health benefits they offer to vegetarians.

  13. bhavani/ameanderingmango November 16, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    I want a slice of this delicious looking loaf now! Would be perfect with my cup of tea…Another great recipe!

  14. Chef Scar November 16, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    Man can live on bread alone, this proves it! Can’t wait to bake some.

  15. Tony Ward November 20, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    gonna give this a whirl today guapa. You make it sound so easy to produce . Vamos haber (its your Father we’re talking about here !!) xx

  16. tiffany November 20, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I am ALWAYS looking for ways to get more flax seeds in my diet! Thanks for sharing this loaf (p.s… I am playing catch up on your blog, prepare for A LOT of comments in the next hour or so :D)

  17. Ramona November 20, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    What a gorgeously healthy bread!! I would eat this even if it wasn’t so wonderful for me. Well done. : )

  18. luvnspoonfuls November 22, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    Looks delicious…I know I would love it. Sturdy, chewy and tasty…what’s not to love?

  19. Caroline November 22, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    That bread sounds/looks muuuch healthier than the banana bread I recently made! Looks fantastic, Natalie. Great way to incorporate healthy ingredients.🙂

  20. sarah @ two tarts November 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I just tried these “Salty Almond & Date” crisps over thanksgiving – they were amazingly delicious (and expensive). http://www.amazon.com/Lesley-Stowes-Raincoast-Crisps-Almond/dp/B002WG3PBG/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

    I think your bread recipe sounds like an excellent jumping off point for replicating them. And gorgeous photos, as usual!🙂

  21. Mairi Herbert (@ToastNZ) December 3, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    I love easy bread, warm out the oven slathered in butter there is nothing better. All those seeds & fruit make this bread sound like a real treat.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quince Frangipane Tartlets « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - December 2, 2011

    […] It’s been a while since I posted anything sweet so this was the perfect opportunity. You can make little tartlets or one big one. I used half spelt flour to make my pastry and it worked really well. The pastry is really sweet & crumbly and the spelt flour gives it a nuttiness which I really like. I also use it to make my Seed & Fruit Breakfast Loaf. […]

  2. Wholemeal Spelt Flour Soda Bread Recipe « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - December 12, 2012

    […] gorgeous toasted. If you want to try a fruitier version which is brilliant for breakfast try my Flax Seed Raisin & Date Breakfast Loaf too. […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

