Quince Frangipane Tartlets

2 Dec

Quince are definitely an unusual and underrated fruit. Until I moved to Spain I had never even seen one let alone tasted one. The Spanish love the quince and make an exceedingly sweet paste/jelly called Dulce de Membrillo that is delicious served with Manchego cheese. It’s a classic tapa. If you would like to make some, Chica Andaluza has the recipe.

They look like a big yellow, gnarly apple and have a kind of peach fluff on the skin when they are on the tree. The flavour and texture are similar to an apple but it has a delicate floral perfume. They are in season here at the moment so I wanted to make something gorgeous with them to showcase their delicious flavour.

It’s been a while since I posted anything sweet so this was the perfect opportunity. You can make little tartlets or one big one. I used half spelt flour to make my pastry and it worked really well. The pastry is really sweet & crumbly and the spelt flour gives it a nuttiness which I really like. I also use it to make my Seed & Fruit Breakfast Loaf.

This information is from Livestrong.com

Spelt, an ancient cereal grain, is a distant cousin to wheat. It has a nutty, slightly sweet flavor. Use spelt flour as a substitute for wheat or white flour when baking bread. Because spelt flour contains gluten, you are less likely to compromise the texture of baked goods. Compared to wheat flour, spelt flour is richer in many nutrients, such as protein and minerals.

Spelt flour has a high water solubility, making it easier to digest for those with a wheat intolerance. Spelt and whole spelt flour offer more soluble fibre than both standard and durum wheat flours. Soluble fibre is particularly beneficial for lowering blood cholesterol and regulating blood sugar levels.
Quince Frangipane Tartlets Recipe
 
makes 3 x 4 inch tartlets, vegetarian
(Easily doubled to make 6 small 4 inch  or 1 large 9 inch tart)
Adapted from  Apt. 2B Baking Co.
Prep time: 1hr 20 mins Cooking Time: 25-35 mins
 
For the quince:
  • 550 ml (2 1/2 cups) water
  • 225 gr sugar
  • 1/2 lemon, cut into wedges
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large quince, peeled cored and cut into 16 wedges

Put the sugar and water in a small saucepan over a medium heat and stir until the sugar dissolves. Add the lemon wedges, squeezing a bit of juice into the pan too, vanilla and quince slices, stirring to combine.

Bring to a simmer and cook gently until the quince are soft  and fork tender but not mushy. About 10-20 minutes depending how ripe your quince is.

Set aside and leave to cool in the syrup until you are ready to use them.

For the sweet pastry:

for 3 x 4 inch tartlets

  • 165 gr (3/4 cup) flour (I used half plain half spelt flour)
  • 4 tbsp icing/confectioners sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 65 gr (4 1/2 tbsp), cold, cubed butter
  • 1 small egg yolk, save the white for later

Combine the flour, sugar & salt in the bowl of a processor and pulse. Add the cold butter and pulse again until the butter is the size of small peas. Then add the yolk and pulse until the mixture starts to clump a bit.

Lightly butter and flour your tart tins and gently press the dough into them, as evenly as possible over the bottom and up the sides. Freeze the tart shells for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180 C. Prick the bases of the tarts with a fork and bake until they are lightly golden. Up to 10 minutes (more for a large tart). Leave to cool on a rack while you make the frangipane.

For the Frangipane:

  • 45 gr (3 tbsp) soft butter
  • 75 gr (1/3 cup) sugar
  • 40 gr ( 1/3 cup) ground almonds
  • 1 egg white (saved from above)
  • 1 tsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp cornflour/cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  •  pinch salt

In the bowl of a processor, pulse the butter and sugar until smooth. Add the almonds and blend, then add the flours, then the egg white, then the extracts and salt. Pulse until just combined.

To assemble:

Preheat oven to 180 C. Divide the frangipane between the cooled tart shells, it should come up just below the edge. Take the quince slices out of the syrup and dry on kitchen paper. Arrange them prettily fan-like on top of the frangipane. You may have some quince leftover.

Place the tartlets in the oven and bake until the frangipane is golden and set 25-35 minutes (longer for a large tart). Leave to cool on a rack and dust with icing sugar just before serving.

Serve with vanilla ice cream and flaked almonds.

This is a really lovely dessert or afternoon tea. The almond frangipane and subtly fragrant quince are a delicious combination.

Have a great weekend!!

18 Responses to “Quince Frangipane Tartlets”

  1. Kelly December 2, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Your little tart is so cute and looks incredibly delicious, such a lovely recipe! If you haven’t already, feel free to stop by my blog and check out the $50 Williams-Sonoma gift card giveaway going on right now! xoxo

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide December 2, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    This needs to be on Food Press too! Beautiful.

  3. veggiegrettie December 2, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    That looks amazing! I love almond based tarts.

  4. Nami | Just One Cookbook December 2, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    I’m literally drooling right now, and no joke. The tartlets look gorgeous and so delicious!!!!! I’ve learned about quince this year after seeing other people using it (Italians) and I only wish I can eat this at this moment…my tea is ready.🙂

  5. Savorique December 2, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Funny, I bought quince paste last weekend!
    Haaa frangipane… You know the most famous tart using frangipane? Galette des Rois biensur!😉 I hope you’ll also share a recipe of this one in January.

  6. ceciliag December 2, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Divine. We used to have a quince tree on the beach when i was a kin, dad made quince jelly, i will NEVER forget trying to bit a raw one just to see! YUK! but this looks good.. c

  7. Chica Andaluza December 2, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Thanks for the mention Natalie! We are still getting a few quince from the lovely neighbour and the pastry and frangipane with it sound amazing. I have some little tartlet tins that would be perfect…what am I waiting for?!

  8. Caroline December 3, 2011 at 2:54 am #

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. I want a bite right now! Perfect dusting of confectioner’s sugar on top.🙂

  9. Mairi Herbert (@ToastNZ) December 3, 2011 at 3:38 am #

    Just lovely🙂 I adore quince & have traveled far & wide across Auckland to get my hands on some when they are in season. This tart sounds wonderful, especially as I am also a fan of spelt flour. Will keep this one on file for our next quince season here in NZ🙂

  10. Parsley Sage December 3, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    Beautiful post! Your tart is absolutely lovely! We had quince for the first time in Spain last year and thought it was delicious🙂

    Buzzed!

  11. Tony Ward December 3, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Stupendo guapa…..I would love this for breakfast…..can if I like !!!
    Congrats on the wordpress accolade.
    Have a lovely weekend. lol xx

  12. Tes December 3, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Oh the pictures of this post is so beautiful🙂 I would really love to try this tartlets🙂

  13. kellie@foodtoglow December 3, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Beautiful, enticing images to go with a beautiful, enticing recipe. Believe it or not quinces grow successfully in Scotland (not commercially though) and I shall procure a few from a neighbour’s tree and give this a go.

  14. Suzi December 3, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    This is lovely. I have never seen quince before, thank you for posting this and explaining what this fruit is. Delightful.

  15. peasepudding December 3, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    I love any frangipane tarts and what a great idea for quinces. Father inlaw used to have a tree but he took it out unfortunately. I have just been for Sydney for work and you kow how much I like Manchego and we don’t get it here often so I came back with some :0)

  16. Stephanie Russell (@StephRussell26) December 4, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    This looks gorgeous, Natalie. I’ve never tried quince before. Have always heard wonderful things though. I’ll need to keep my eyes peeled for them this season.🙂 I’d be tempted to make a jam out of it or some kind of chutney.

  17. sarah December 4, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Gorgeous! If I ever run into a quince I know exactly what I’ll do with it now!!

  18. Three Well Beings December 5, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    I don’t know quince at all, but I think I can purchase at a specialty market. This looks great. And I’m getting better with metric conversions (although you’ve helped me along with this recipe) so I’d like to try. I did purchase spelt flour for the seed loaf…then we lost power for a few days and it’s waiting to be made! I look forward to tasting both recipes! Debra

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

