Sweet Potato and Lentil Dhal

18 Dec

So here it is, as promised, the recipe for my Sweet Potato Dhal that makes the perfect accompaniment to the crunchy Spiced Red Cabbage that I posted yesterday.

This is actually a combination of two of the very first recipes that I posted on this blog about a year ago, Sweet Potato Curry  and Indian Dhal Soup with Potato Stuffed Parathas. I love both of these dishes so much that I couldn’t choose which one to cook which is why I decided to combine them.

I’m so glad I did.

Sweet Potato & Lentil Dhal Recipe

Serves 6 as  part of a meal, vegan, gluten-free

Prep Time: 15 mins Cooking Time: 30 mins

  • 1 tbsp coco oil (or veg oil)
  • 2 tsp panch pooran (a whole spice mix) or use a combination of cumin seeds, mustard seeds & fennel seeds
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic finely chopped
  • 1 or 2 red chillis (depending on you & the chilli) finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 150 gr dried quick cook lentils
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 2 large sweet potatoes scrubbed well & cut into 2cm chunks
  • 1 tin (400 ml) chopped tomatoes
  • about 800 ml veg stock
  • about 200 gr (1/2 tin/ jar) cooked lentils, blended to a puree
  • the juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • a squeeze of honey (about 1 tbsp)
  • a handful of chopped coriander plus leaves for garnish
  • salt & black pepper

Heat the coconut/veg oil in a large pan over a medium heat. Add the seeds and cook until they start to sputter then add the onion and stir to coat in the spices. Cook  for about 4 minutes until softened then add the garlic, chilli, ginger and the rest of the powdered spices with a splash of the veg stock to stop it burning. 

Cook for another minute then add the dried lentils, sweet potato and chopped tomatoes. Season well with salt & black pepper and add the veg stock.

Bring to the boil then turn the heat down and simmer for about 20 minutes or until the sweet potato is soft.

Add the blended cooked lentils and heat through for another 5 minutes. Add the lemon juice, fresh coriander and honey. Taste and season with more salt & pepper if necessary.

Serve garnished with fresh coriander leaves, the spiced red cabbage, basmati rice and some Indian bread to scoop it up.

Things That Made Me Smile Today…….

All these dogs have been abandoned and are being looked after by a charity called SOS. This is just a small selection of them and unfortunately the charity has been evicted from their usual site so all the dogs have either been temporarily fostered out or are in Cat & Dog World (a kennels) while they try to find a new premises.

The usual volunteers have gone back to Sweden for Christmas so I have been walking these dogs with my friend Martine every moring for the past few days. They are all so beautiful and really friendly. All they want is love and for someone to give them a forever home.

18 Responses to “Sweet Potato and Lentil Dhal”

  1. Fred @ Savorique December 18, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Wait a minute, only 20 min to cook the lentils? Which type are these?

    • foodblogandthedog December 18, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      They’re brown quick cook lentils, I’ll amend the recipe, thanks!!

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide December 18, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    You are… oh look I’m a top click, I bet it’s because people think your dog has his own blog… anyway, you are so nice to walk those dogs. Both of ours are rescue dogs. I love the photos. And I really like the recipe too!

  3. Ramona December 18, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Love the dish… I made a soup with the sweet potatoes and lentils and it was a hit. Who knew they would go so well together… so I know your curry will be a hit too.🙂 Great photos!

  4. ceciliag December 19, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    Oh honey, i hope these dogs find their homes.. they have distracted me,, wonderful hat you are walking them.. c

  5. Three Well Beings December 19, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    I’m so glad those precious pups have someone walking them who obviously cares about them. I hope they find good homes, of course! I love lentils! I had to laugh, though, because I just bough a “foil pouch” of Lentil Dhal to take to work tomorrow for my lunch. I have a feeling I won’t be quite as excited about it now that I’ve read this delicious recipe! Yum! Debra

  6. Tony Ward December 19, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    LOve the Indian influence for Xmas week, just a little bit quirky and unexpected. NOT like you at all princess !!
    Those pups look adorable and you are the Mother Teresa of the campo. xxx

  7. Bake Club December 19, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Thank you, I made this tonight and it was really tasty. Didn’t have time to do the spicy cabbage but had our usual raw cabbage and carrot salad with sesame seeds. The dahl was a super combination of spicy sweetness – the lemon juice and honey really add a punch too.
    I’ll certainly be making this again!

    • foodblogandthedog December 19, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      Wow that was quick! I’m so pleased you liked it, it’s one of my favourites!!

  8. Luiz December 19, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Nice recipe! I’ll make it tomorrow.
    Kisse from Brazil!

    Luiz

  9. thecompletecookbook December 19, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Grand recipe!
    Hope those pups find homes soon!🙂 Mandy

  10. Chica Andaluza December 19, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Natalie – good for you for what you are doing for those lovely dogs.l My neighbours volunteer at a dog shelter in Rincon de la Victoria called (I think) APARIV. Anyway, to the recipe…gorgeous. My parents arrived today and we are going to have a very meat filled Christmas knowing my Spanish family, so this would be perfect for us some time this week. Delicious!

  11. thebigfatnoodle December 20, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    I love dhals so am always on the look out for new recipes, thank you. It ‘s amazing the care you’re giving to these dogs, I wish there were more people like you in the world.

  12. Caroline December 20, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Sweet potatoes are my favorite…this sounds fantastic! And that’s so sweet of you to help those dogs out. I really hope they find a home soon. They’re all adorable. x

  13. tiffany December 29, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    Pairing sweet potato with dahl is such a great idea! You are a genius, but, you knew that!😀

  14. Zulaiga Abrahams January 27, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    I stumbled upon your blog on Facebook on the Getaway blog awards. Saw this recipe and happened to have all the ingredients, as I love dhal and my baby loves sweet potato. Just made it for my husband and our guest and it was a hit….so delicious!!! I usually make spicy food, but love the warmth of this dish…yummy! Will be trying a few of your other recipes soon. Fritters are calling my name.

    • foodblogandthedog January 28, 2012 at 3:17 am #

      So glad you liked it, it’s one of my favourites too, real comfort food!!

      • hihihihi December 23, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

        best b good trying it for an Indian murder mistery party

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

