Orange, Ginger and Cinnamon Vegan French Toast

21 Dec

It’s all about the oranges here at the moment. Christmas in Andalucia is punctuated with piles of them, in my house anyway. The smell of a freshly peeled mandarin is the scent of Christmas in my opinion, along with cinnamon it is better than any plug-in air freshener.

So, for me, any excuse for zesting an orange or mandarin and I’m there. Epecially since I have a new microplane zester which is my new favourite kitchen thing.

This is the perfect Christmas breakfast/brunch. Served with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice (topped off with some champagne) and you’re ready for anything. This version is vegan but you can just as easily use eggs, I won’t be offended. It is Christmas after all. I used walnut bread for this, it’s a lovely combination with the orange and cinnamon.

This recipe was the most requested from the Blissful Bites cookbook giveaway I hosted a few months ago. It was acutally a tie between this and the coconut chocolate bars, so I will be doing those aswell. I just have to catch up with myself first. I have at least ten recipes all photographed and ready to go but am finding it difficult to find the time to blog as much as I would like at the moment. Christmas and dog walking have taken over slightly.

Orange, Ginger & Cinnamon Vegan French Toast

Serves 2, vegan. Adapted from Blissful Bites

  • 200 ml (1 cup) almond/rice/soy milk
  • 1 orange, zested & juiced
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup or miel de cana (plus extra to serve)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot dissolved in 100 ml soy/rice/almond milk (0r 2 eggs, beaten)
  • 1 tbsp flax meal
  • pinch of salt
  • 4-6 slices rustic bread, ciabatta is good I used walnut bread

Whisk all the ingredients together (except the bread) in a large bowl until well combined. Put the bread slices in the mixture and leave it to soak up the liquid for at least 10 minutes.

Preheat oven to 180 C and line a baking tray with baking paper.  Lift each piece of bread out of the mixture and place it on the lined baking tray. Bake for 4 minutes then turn it over to bake for another 4 minutes on the other side.

Heat a small amount of olive oil in a frying pan over a medium heat. Cook the bread for about two minutes on each side until browned. You may need to do two batches, if so keep the rest warm in the oven.

Serve immediately sprinkled with a little more cinnamon and drizzled generously with  maple syrup.

I’ve been very busy making my amaretto soaked sultana, cranberry & almond mince pies and easy mandarin jam this weekend. Here are some more of my favourite Christmas recipes that you might not have seen…..

Savoury Feta & Pomegranate Cheesecake, the perfect starter/appetizer

Festive Season Spanikopita with Chestnut & Cranberry, the best veggie main course option

Mandarin Drizzle Cake, for when you put your feet up with a cup of tea or people pop round

Homemade Panettone with Mandarin Jam, another luxurious Christmas breakfast idea

Christmas Biscotti with chocolate & cranberries, easier than you think and great for gifts

Tex Mex Eggs with chilli cheese sauce, the best hangover cure I’ve found.

Enjoy!

21 Responses to “Orange, Ginger and Cinnamon Vegan French Toast”

  1. Haley @ Health Freak College Girl December 21, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    these flavors sound like such a good combination!

  2. peasepudding December 21, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Delicious. I miss the Spanish oranges here in NZ, a few UK bloggers who live here where on a hunt for Seville oranges for marmalade this year and eventually we found a supplier! Have a fabulous Christmas Natalie. Alli

  3. Fred @ Savorique December 21, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    I wish I could digest those French toasts in the morning (2 little ‘burps’ in the morning means you don’t digest your breakfast). But maybe once, I can make an exception and my body will forgive me.

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide December 21, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Oh that syrup you use looks wonderful. Love this recipe too. I got a microplane this year and it’s my favorite gadget now too.

  5. veggiegrettie December 22, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    Oh Natalie that looks soooo good. I love that you used orange zest and absolutely love your pictures.

  6. ceciliag December 22, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    Gorgeous but I hate to tell you… now I seriously want champagne and orange juice and i can’t open a bottle of champagne at 7,30 pm all alone at home.. can i!?.. can I?,, c

    • foodblogandthedog December 22, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      It’s Christmas so you can oficially open a bottle of champagne before 12 noon if you like! Merry Christmas!!

  7. Three Well Beings December 22, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    I learn so much from your posts, Natalie. I didn’t know a thing about the arrowroot dissolved in soy/rice milk! I’ll give it a try! This sounds just wonderful, and I also appreciate the nice list of previously posted recipes you include at the end. I thank you, and so does my family! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, Natalie. And give Rufus a big hug, too! Debra

    • foodblogandthedog December 22, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

      The flaxmeal is an important part of the egg replacement too. Hope you and your family have a fabulous Xmas!!

  8. Tony Ward December 22, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    This one sounds AMAZING guapa !! Particularly like the champagne option with O.J…xx
    Oranges are pretty hectic here at the moment too, but must be careful too much vitamin C seems to be turning my hair grey (er) !!

  9. Chica Andaluza December 22, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Gorgeous – will have to make these for my mum and dad. And I´ve been checking out your Christmas recipes (mandarins…love them!) from last year and now need another week to get organised as I want to make them all!

  10. thecompletecookbook December 22, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    What a great recipe.🙂 Mandy

  11. spicegirlfla December 22, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Mmmm….it looks amazing and then when I read you used walnut bread, even more so!! This will be a wonderful holiday breakfast treat – the syrup definitely tops it off nicely!

  12. Richa@HobbyandMore December 23, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    this is my kind of breakfast! i love orange and ginger together! gorgeous!

  13. Tes December 23, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Oh how come your french toast looks so juicy! I really want this for breakfast🙂

  14. Tammy December 23, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    My orange trees and the neighbor’s trees are over flowing. I’ll be making this. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Tammy December 27, 2011 at 12:16 am #

      Rave reviews on Christmas day! Thanks so much.

  15. Mairi Herbert (@ToastNZ) December 26, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Love oranges too, any citrus really. This may well get a run for New Year’s Day breakfast🙂

  16. tiffany December 29, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    Orange is my FAV citrus flavor! I’d be all over this French toast like white (or brown, I suppose!) on rice!😀

  17. susanmarie December 29, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    I love the flavor combonations and will try your zest idea in my gluten-free pancakes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Return to meal planning | Vegging Out - June 9, 2013

    […] Breakfast 1 — French toast […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

