Chocolate Pistachio Fudge

23 Dec

As this is probably my last post before the big day I thought I would share something Christmassy with you. This fudge is really easy to make and makes great gifts. Just wrap it in cellophane and tie up with a ribbon.

It’s actually one of Nigella’s Christmas Recipes. I do love Nigella even though she does come out with the cheesiest waffle sometimes. I’m saving up for her hips, not long to go now, especially after picking at this fudge. You have to trim the edges to get them nice and straight you see. You can’t waste it.

Chocolate Pistachio Fudge

Makes about 64 pieces, gluten-free. Adapted from Nigella Lawson

Prep/Cooking time: 15 mins Refrigerate: 2 hours or more

  • 350 gr dark chocolate (70 % cocoa), chopped
  • 1 small can (sweetened)condensed milk (397 gr)
  • 30 gr butter
  • pinch salt
  • 150 gr shelled pistachios

Put the chopped chocolate, condensed milk, butter & salt in  a pan, over a low heat and stir to melt.

Put the shelled pistachios in a freezer bag and bash with rolling pin until broken but still chunky.

Add the nuts to the melted chocolate mixture and mix together well.

Pour the mixture into a throwaway foil baking tray 23 cm square (or a 23 cm square baking tray lined with baking paper) and smooth it out evenly with a spatula.

Leave to cool then refrigerate until set firm. About 2 hours should do it but overnight is better.

Remove/cut away the foil tray or lift the fudge out with the baking paper. On a clean board cut into 8 rows then cut those into about 8 pieces each. You may have to trim the edges (and eat them). Store in the fridge.

They look pretty with a light dusting of snow. That’s the nearest we’re getting to a white christmas this year. That and the tree, which is always white…..

Merry Christmas Everyone, have a fabulous one!!

24 Responses to “Chocolate Pistachio Fudge”

  1. veggiegrettie December 23, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Hi Natalie! Gorgeous pictures. What program are you using to make the photo collages? Have a very merry Christmas🙂

  2. Fred @ Savorique December 23, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I like that you are not adding any sugar since I believe condensed milk is already a little sweet.

  3. Tony Ward December 23, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Well thats my Christmas Eve taken care of. Wrapped in cellophane and made with love.
    Love the tree, did the C.T. danglies fit on there.

    Lots n lotsaluv guapiton. xx

    • foodblogandthedog December 23, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

      The dangly hearts look lovely on the tree thank you! The Dr Hauschka pressies are under the tree!! xx

  4. Angie@Angie's Recipes December 23, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Gorgeous fudge!

  5. Sicily Home Holidays December 23, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    It has to be very tasty! i love pistachio! Happy holidays from Italy!🙂

  6. helenofmarlowe December 23, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I see there’s no sugar here. Are you using sweetened condensed milk?

    • foodblogandthedog December 23, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

      Yes it’s sweetened, sorry we just call it condensed milk in the UK I’ll amend the recipe now thanks.

  7. peasepudding December 23, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    OMG, that is so easy I can’t believe I toiled over a boiling pot of sugar to make mine. I’ll make this with niece and nephew who are coming. Have a fabulous Christmas, no snow for us either more like a BBQ and a surf!

  8. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide December 23, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Yum pistachios. This looks great. Merry Christmas to you, Rufus and the washer upper. Hmm, I think I got that last one wrong!

  9. Molly @ Toffee Bits and Chocolate Chips December 23, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    oo delicious! merry christmas!

  10. Steph@stephsbitebybite December 23, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Oh my heavens! Is this not delicious or what! So chocolatey, and with PISTACHIOS!!

  11. thekalechronicles December 23, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Love your instructions to “bash” the pistachios — what a great word for it. And I’m sure I would love pistachio fudge. Merry Christmas! — Sharyn

  12. Chica Andaluza December 24, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    Great recipe – I don´t usually have much luck with fudge but this looks so straightforward. Have a wonderful Christmas Natalie and look forward to “seeing” you back when it´s all over…Felices Fiestas guapa! PS. You can´t have Nigella´s hips as I have them for the moment and I think they´re here to stay for a long while😉

  13. Three Well Beings December 24, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    One word–YUM! Tomorrow I’m preparing the Mexican Tortilla Lasagne for my daughter’s birthday dinner. I’m excited to roll out something fresh and exciting. I’ll be sure to give you the credit! Merry Christmas, Natalie! Debra

  14. Tammy December 24, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Great photos Natalie!

  15. Savory Simple December 25, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    This looks delicious!

  16. Beth Michelle December 25, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Your fudge looks amazing!!
    Merry Merry Christmas!

  17. ceciliag December 25, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    That is beautiful fudge, very prettty, I hope you are having a great christmas break.. take care.. c

  18. Three Well Beings December 27, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    Had to let you know, Natalie, that the Mexican Tortilla Lasagne was a huge hit! I only wish you could have heard the raves from around the table. I told my guests the story of your restaurant with your comment that vegetarian lasagne can be a “lazy” restaurant choice, and my nephew declared that if this were served at a restaurant he’d be back! So I now have a family “signature” dish…thank you! Debra

  19. Tony Ward December 27, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Well…….just made the fudge,with almonds,(couldnt get pistachios here ?) It looks fab and will, I’m sure, greatly enhance my waistline to the Demis Roussos proportions I aspire to !! (NO,NO POR FAVOR !!)
    Shall be taking a few ‘samples’ to friends this evening to show off.(the fudge, not the waistline guapa !) xx

  20. sarah December 28, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh. My. I’m not sure what else to say here except- w o w.

    Oh and your decorations are lovely, hope you had a fabulous holiday!

  21. tiffany December 29, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    I love the photo with the big bite out of it! Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!😀 Merry Christmas! (Sorry I’m late!). HUGS!

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

