Rhubarb, Ginger and Almond Crumble

14 Jan

I hope you realise that I am risking arrest by sharing this recipe with you. I could be charged with possession of an illegal substance or intent to supply. Apparently it is illegal to grow rhubarb in Spain because it is poisonous to goats. No I’m not joking, it’s true!

You can find tinned rhubarb in British supermarkets here but that’s not the same. For a start it’s not pink which is kind of the point of rhubarb really. The stuff in tins is a sloppy green excuse for rhubarb so when you do come across some of the real stuff, you always buy it and quite a lot of it. And before you ask, no, I’m not revealing the name of my supplier.

The best way to keep the bright pink colour of the rhubarb is to roast it rather than boiling the **** out of it. That way it keeps its shape better too. The crumble topping is a Nigella adaptation. I used spelt flour rather than plain but it’s the ground and flaked almonds along with the brown sugar that give this crumble a really crumbly, crunchy, texture and nutty flavour.

The rhubarb is roasted with orange juice then topped with orange zest and crystallised ginger. These are classic tried and tested flavour combinations that compliment each other beautifully.

Rhubarb, Ginger & Almond Crumble

Makes 2 individual crumbles, vegan, wheat-free

For the rhubarb:

  • 4 or 5 sticks rhubarb
  • 1/2 orange zest & juice
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp chopped crystallised ginger
  • 1 tbsp ground almonds

For the Crumble:

  • 6 tbsp spelt flour (You can use wholemeal or plain)
  • 6 tbsp brown sugar
  •  6 tbsp ground almonds
  • 3 tbsp flaked almonds
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ginger powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 3 tbsp olive oil spread (or butter), chopped

Preheat the oven to 180 C and line a baking tray with baking paper. Cut the rhubarb into 3cm long pieces and place on the lined tray. Pour over the orange juice and sprinkle over the brown sugar. Roast  for about 10 minutes.

When cooked mix the rhubarb with the crystallised ginger, orange zest and 1 tbsp ground almonds in a small bowl. Spoon the rhubarb and any juices into two ovenproof ramekins.

Mix together all the dry ingredients for the crumble in a bowl then add the chopped spread/butter and rub the butter into the flour mixture with your fingertips. You want it to be quite lumpy so you get some nice crunchy bits.

Tip the crumble on top of the rhubarb and bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes until the crumble is golden brown and the rhubarb is bubbling.

Leave to cool slightly before serving.

Serve this on its own or with some ice-cold pouring cream in a jug on the side to drizzle into the bright pink rhubarb pool at the bottom of the ramekin. Heaven……

Just keep it to yourself, alright?!

27 Responses to “Rhubarb, Ginger and Almond Crumble”

  1. spree January 14, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Poisonous to goats?! Oh how sad for them! This looks delightfully delicious to me! (I promise to not breathe a word to the rhubarb police!)

  2. thekalechronicles January 14, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    I had baked rhubarb for the first time a couple of years ago. What a revelation! No more sickly pink mush. Your crumble looks and sounds delicious.

  3. Fred @ Savorique January 14, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    The crumble is looking amazingly good for one that has no butter in it. But it look quite sweet too :p The rhubarb’s bitterness should bring the right balance hopefully.

  4. mikstidbits January 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    wow looks absolutely delicious!

  5. Savory Simple January 14, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    This looks wonderful!

  6. Chica Andaluza January 14, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Well I never, my pals Florence and Freddie grow it – and I don´t think they know it´s illegal! Gorgeous recipe, I love rhubarb and I adore crumble. And of course, beautifully photographed as ever Natalie🙂

  7. frugalfeeding January 14, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    That looks seriously yummy. I had no idea it was poisonous to goats and no idea it was illegal in Spain! Mad! Congrats on getting some – you make it sounds like cocaine or some other ignominious substance. This looks wonderful. If only you had year-round access to my rhubarb plant!

  8. ceciliag January 14, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    MM, it is not too good for ruminants but however!! making it illegal is a little radical! and thank you for the roasting tip. I have rhubarb tucked away out of sight where the animals cannot get it because i LOVE it! I can’t wait for spring!!

  9. Beth Michelle January 14, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Thanks for putting it all on the line to share this amazing post with us!!! I cant believe rhubarb is illegal to grow in Spain!!! Thats so crazy! Im glad you were able to get some because this looks so delicious.

  10. Kim Bee January 15, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    This looks really delicious. I have rhubarb growing in my yard. We end up with two much and give tons away. Crazy I know.

  11. thebigfatnoodle January 15, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    Can’t believe ut’s illegal!?!! Love the simplicity of this dish. I never liked rhubarb before but it’s definitely grown on me.

  12. Cooking with Friends with Arts January 15, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    Wow! Tomorrow, I’ll want one this!!!!!!!

    Good idea..and good recipe!

  13. Three Well Beings January 15, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    Well, you rule-breaker you! The goat story is just so funny, yet if true, I guess I should show some compassion for the animals! It’s interesting to me that so many of your recipes make me think directly of who in my family would most enjoy my effort! This one has my dad’s name all over it, and I have never before cooked with rhubarb. Now I’m quite excited. And I’m reporting that yesterday I bought a Kabocha squash…so now I will make your Azuki bean soup. You’re helping me stretch my culinary muscles! Debra

  14. Andrew January 15, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I couldn’t help notice that you seemed to have gobbled half of it even before you took a photo!

    Looks great! Didn’t realise rhubarb was illegal here – explains it’s rarity!

  15. peasepudding January 15, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Look at you doing pudding! The silly goats shouldn’t eat the rhubarb leaves they are poisonous to all aren’t they? I just roasted some rhubarb off before my trip and going to make a pudding when I get back home. I luuuvvvvv rhubarb and your crumble looks fab.

  16. Ramona January 15, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Hope you don’t hear sirens… What a crazy law. I love the color and texture of this crumble. Well done… I’ll keep your rhubarb “situation” under my hat.

  17. Daily Dose of Fresh January 15, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    drooling……….lovely use of the rhubarb.

  18. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide January 15, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Goodness, I bet this even had (the other) Rufus drooling.

  19. Professor Vegetable January 15, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    I’m leaving some buzz. I wish I could buzz it twice. Once because it looks delicious and another because you risked arrest! I love rhubarb so much!

  20. Tony Ward January 15, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Illegal, ? por favor!! This makes me want to eat loads of it guapa.
    Its that child thing, you’re told not to do it so you do it AT LEAST twice !
    Great recipie and stunning pic’s, whats happening to my waistline ? x

  21. Just A Smidgen January 15, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Sooo happy to have found your blog.. your food styling is so pretty, I love your dishes.. I also didn’t know the bit about roasting the rhubarb, I’ll be doing so in the future!

  22. TasteFood January 15, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    I love rhubarb – ginger, rhubarb and almond is a great combination!

  23. kellie @ foodtoglow January 16, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    I adore rhubarb and do a quite similar crumble, but I grind up g-f oats to make oat flour and tend to use cardamom instead of ginger – both are lovely and warm spices/roots. Almonds really add a gorgeous note to crumble topping. If I think about it I like to make double (triple!) the crumble and store it in the freezer for a quick pud whenever our dinner is on the ascetic side. Love your images, as always.

  24. sara January 17, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    Yum, this looks fantastic, I love rhubarb!🙂

  25. Tammy January 18, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    hmmmm, no candied ginger on hand. Think I can use regular root and up the brown sugar?

    • foodblogandthedog January 18, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      I would use about a teaspoon or less of fresh grated then taste it. You may not need to add more sugar…

  26. magicofspice January 19, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    How absolutely delightful is this! I never heard that rhubarb poisonous to goats…odd🙂

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

