Aloo Gobi Filo Tartlet – My Guest Post at Como Water

28 Jan

The inspiration for this dish came to me because at the moment, where I walk the dog in the mornings, they are harvesting potatoes and cauliflowers.

One of my favourite Indian dishes is Aloo Gobi which is potatoes and cauliflower cooked in a spicy masala. It is real Indian comfort food, the potatoes and cauliflower are meltingly soft, this is no time for al dente vegetables!

 Serving it in a filo tart shell just gives it a little contrast in texture. The delicate crisp filo is the perfect vehicle for the Aloo Gobi and it makes it look a bit more special too.

The recipe for this tartlet is over with Tiffany at Como Water. I was really honoured when Tiffany asked me to guest post on her blog.

I first “met” Tiffany as a friend on Foodbuzz and quickly discovered that we have very similar values and taste in food. I would even go as far as to say that we are foodie kindred spirits. I really hope that one day that we can meet in person and have a very long lunch somewhere gorgeous! This is her introduction:

When I was fourteen, I decided to defy the codes of my family and of my community.  I stopped eating meat. With a splash of age, a sprinkle of food documentaries, a dash of books about the food industry, and a bushel of life experiences, vegetarian and vegan food went from being something I approached rather nonchalantly to becoming a way of life. I started comowater.com to share information and to share my meatless meals, to dialogue with people who approach food from perspectives that may be similar to or very different from my own, and to showcase what I cook on average nights and on special occasions. This site is not about conversion or pushing an agenda. Instead, I hope that folks–vegetarians, vegans, flexitarians, pescatarians, and carnivores alike–come to comowater.com to be inspired to make their own vegan and vegetarian cuisine prepared with passion and love.

She also has a “When You Need a Boost Page” filled with really inspirational quotes. This is one of my favourites:

“Everything you could ever want or to be, you already have and are.” ~I Heart Huckabees~
Hop over to Como Water for the recipe and have a look around while you’re there. Say hello to Tiffany from me!

14 Responses to “Aloo Gobi Filo Tartlet – My Guest Post at Como Water”

  1. Sawsan@ Chef in disguise January 28, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    Here you see cauliflower everywhere too and I would love a new recipe to enjoy it. Heading over to Como water

  2. thekalechronicles January 28, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    This looks beautiful and tasty, Natalie, and Como Water is a beautiful blog with an index of exciting recipes to check out. Thank you.

  3. frugalfeeding January 28, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    What a truly lovely idea! I like aloo gobi and this is a wonderful variation – great stuff.

  4. Suzi January 28, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    I love your blog and just saw this in my e-mail. Wonderful photos and the Aloo Gobi looks just fabulous. I have two cauliflowers growing in my garden and they are nearly ready to eat. This will recipe will make good use of one of them. Thanks and have a wonderful weekend.

  5. ceciliag January 29, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    A gorgeous take on one of my favourites! and what is a flexitarian.. is that me? I am going to look it up. if it has not rules it is me! c

  6. Three Well Beings January 29, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    I love the introduction to someone who compliments your style and ethos. The dish is so beautiful! Debra

  7. Tony Ward January 29, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    This is like your favourite Indian takeaway but in a tasty takeway ‘container’, how inspirational guapa. Easy to see how you won the best foodblog of the year with Getaway Magazine…….(the wine was great !!) xx

  8. Chica Andaluza January 29, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Another gorgeous recipe using one of my favourite veggies! Am off to check out Como Water and I see from Tony Ward (above) that you seem to have won a fantastic accolade…congratulations!

    • foodblogandthedog January 29, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      That’s my dad, my biggest fan! The award is from a South African travel magazine that I contribute to, it coincides very nicely with a trip (culinary journey) that I have coming up very soon…..More info in my next post, very exciting news!!

      • Chica Andaluza January 31, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

        Double congratulations then, how very, very exciting for you Natalie!

  9. dassana January 29, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    interesting combination of the aloo gobi with the filo tartlet. aloo gobi is a favorite anytime anywhere.

    when i don’t make rotis at home, we end up having aloo gobi with bread or aloo gobi grilled/toast sandwich with some slices of onions, tomatoes and cheese stuffed inside.

  10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide January 29, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    That’s gorgeous! Your food always looks so amazing.

  11. peasepudding January 29, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Look at that amazing winters day with all that sunshine! recipe looks great I will pop across to Como Water and check the recipe out.

  12. Tes January 31, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Wow such a gorgeous dish. It looks super lovely ad healthy🙂

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

