Natural Beauty and The Beauty of Nature

1 May

These are our white roses that have just come into flower on the roof terrace. Pretty aren’t they? And they smell beautiful too.

When I was in Cape Town, a friend of ours, Paul who supplies health products and supplements, asked to look in my make up bag while I was reapplying my lip gloss one evening. Any woman will appreciate my absolute horror at this request. It’s like asking a woman’s age, totally off limits.

But before I had the time to think up an excuse he had already snatched it out of my hands. I sat with my head facing the other way while he rifled through the contents, tutting and huffing as he did. Now I’m not the tidiest of girls when it comes to things like this but I didn’t think it was that bad.

I dared to look at him and was met by a look of disappointment and disgust. He’s good at that look.

His disdain was not based on my cleanliness (or lack of) but the utter disbelief that I could be so careful about what I put in my body, only buying organic vegetables and avoiding all processed foods, and then having a complete disregard for what I put on my skin. He started to explain that everything that you put on your skin, from deodorants, make-up and moisturisers to perfumes and hair products, are all full of nasty chemicals called Parabens, among other things. All of these get absorbed into the body and are floating around in there causing all sorts of problems, including cancer.

That’s when he told me to chuck it all in the bin. “What all of it?” I said “Even the expensive Clinique stuff?”

“Especially that!” he said. That’s when I started to panic obviously.

You have no idea how attached you are to certain things until someone threatens to take them away. Luckily, he’s a lovely man and he introduced me to a natural, plant-based cosmetics range called Dr Hauschka so I could replace the stuff that I had reluctantly binned.

Dr Hauschka products are 100% natural. They are free from synthetic preservatives, fragrances, colours and dyes and they get as many of their ingredients as possible from certified biodynamic and organic sources.

They also smell and feel fantastic, and they work. My skin has never felt better, honestly. I absolutely love the Rose Day Cream and the Quince Body Lotion. Even the bronzing powder smells like cinnamon.

I always used to check the labels on food before buying it, now I do the same with cosmetic products. Paul would be proud of me.

If you would like to find out more about Parabens and harmful chemicals in cosmetics you could read this report here

Next time you are buying a new face cream, toner, body lotion or blusher, please check the ingredients label, you’ll be shocked at how much rubbish they put in there.

For more information about Dr Hauschka products you can visit their website here

14 Responses to “Natural Beauty and The Beauty of Nature”

  1. ceciliag May 1, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    This is important info too, I so seldom use make up that mine are always woefully out of date.. lovely photos on this page too, i shall check their website… thank you natalie.. c

  2. thekalechronicles May 1, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    I am glad that you have found products that work for you, Natalie, that don’t present health hazards. I, myself, am cosmetic-free, except for a little bit of lotion or sunscreen now and then. I buy the lotion from a small shop in Berkeley that makes its own products.

  3. Susan May 1, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    I have given up wearing make-up because my skin reacts so poorly to most make-up and lotions … I am curious about your product’s moisturizers and cleansers … I tend to do warm water washes, herbal rinses, and jojoba oil as a moiturizer … I fight a chronic skin condition called rosacea so I am constantly watching what I put on my skin and near my eyes.

  4. Rebecca May 1, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    I love Dr. Hauschka’s products! I also recently decided a couple months ago that if I’m taking care of what I put in my body, I should be concerned with what I’m putting ON my body. I was led to Dr. H’s cleansing products and am so happy to find out from you that they sell makeup as well! Makeup is next on my list to switch over…. Thanks for the post!

  5. Heather @ Better With Veggies May 1, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Great post – it’s crazy the things that are in much of our make-up. I transitioned to mineral makeup a few years ago, but I’ve even started reading that some of what is in that isn’t great for our skin. I’ll have to check out Dr. H’s products and see if that would work for me.🙂

  6. Three Well Beings May 1, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    This is so interesting, Natalie. I really haven’t given too many thoughts in this direction, myself. I have used Dr. Hauschka’s moisturizer before, and was pleased, but at some point reverted to my “old” products. I will take a look again! Very interesting, so thank you for the gentle nudge! Debra

  7. Kiri W. May 2, 2012 at 2:18 am #

    Gorgeous pictures!

  8. Xina Lynn May 2, 2012 at 3:25 am #

    I got into organic skincare as a way to try to fight my autoimmune-related acne long before I figured out I needed to be more careful about food, too — and while it’s hard to make the switch and give up all that pricey stuff we’ve accumulated it is amazing at how quickly it makes a difference! And how much you simply can’t trust most anything you can find on the shelves at cosmetics counters. Gorgeous photos, as always!

  9. dassana@vegrecipesofindia.com May 2, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    thats an informative post natalie. i usually don’t use much skin products except for a light moisturizer. i always use natural products and do check the ingredients before buying.

  10. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 3, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    Those are really pretty. You know what else is pretty? Rufus. I don’t think I’ve had a Rufus spotting in some time….

  11. Mandy Vellacott May 4, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    I used to work in the organic industry in the UK. The Company I worked for sourced organic and naturally produced raw ingredients and we then supplied food, medicine and cosmetic manufacturers. Dr Hauschka bought our organic Rose Oil which we sourced in Iran. The by-product of Rosewater production this rose oil was amazing and far superior to the Bulgarian. I still have a little of the rose oil and I guard it very jealously. Your friend was absolutely right. Up to 60% of everything you put ON your body goes into your blood stream. You might just as well eat rubbish if you are going to put rubbish on your skin. If you are going to eat organic you should wear it in your clothing (Cotton is one of the most constantly sprayed crops along with potatoes and tobacco) and your cosmetic products. Good for you for listening and changing so quickly. Here in Spain there are also lots of locally produced lotions and creams which use no chemicals.

  12. The Seas Of Mintaka August 29, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Your recipes are all so sumptious, Natalie. You must spend the whole day cooking! I wish I had more time for cooking….. and blogging…… Meals around my place usually consist of pasta or…… well more pasta! I only use natural cosmetics, well I only use coconut oil, nothing else. It makes an awesome moisturizer, will balance your skin so it is not too oily or dry, if you use unrefined coconut oil it is also antiseptic and will prevent skin affections. It also makes your hair so soft and silky and strong, well both coconut oil and olive oil. I don’t use any other creams or moisturizers except coconut oil and olive oil, even slather my son in olive oil (he hates it!) before his shower, then he washes it off in the shower and his skin is still soft. But he never wants me to do it, he hates it. But these Dr. Hauschka creams sound divine, I might try some out sometime. You can find more information about natural cosmetics on my blog, by the way (although it’s not a blog devoted to the subject). Cheers, Natalie!

  13. The Seas Of Mintaka August 29, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    By the way, where do you get Dr. Hauschka products, Natalie? Can you find them at any herbolario, or do you need to order them from the website? Thanks!

    • Natalie Ward August 29, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      I have only ordered them from drhaushcka.es haven’t found them anywhere else so far.

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

