Watermelon Agua Fresca

9 Jul

Just a little something to quench your thirst if you are suffering like me in this unbearable heat. Sorry if you are in the rain somewhere but you can pretend it’s sunny and cheer yourself up with this refreshingly tropical drink if you like.

When it is this hot all I seem to do all day is drink water. Water is good but I do get a bit bored of it after a while. Agua Frescas are fruit based non alcoholic punches popular in Latin America and the Caribbean. It is basically just pureed fruit with water, lime juice and honey to sweeten. This is a non alcoholic version because I wanted something refreshing to drink during the day but I’m sure a little vodka or rum would make it into a lovely cocktail.

I kept the watermelon rinds to make watermelon pickle. The recipe will follow in my next post.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

Makes 1 big pitcher/jug. Vegan, gluten-free

Prep time: 20 mins

  • 2 kg (4 pound) watermelon (1 small/med)
  • 250-300 ml (1+1/2 cups) cold water
  • 1 +1/2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • 1 +1/2 tsp honey
  • ice cubes, lime slices & mint sprigs to serve

Cut the watermelon into quarters then slice into inch wide triangles/wedges. Cut the flesh from the rind leaving a little pink on (if you would like to make watermelon pickle with them). Blend the flesh in four batches with about 4 tbsp (1/4 cup) of water each time until smooth.

Carefully pour the blended watermelon through a sieve into your pitcher/jug and press out any extra juice from the pulp collected in the sieve with a spatula. Continue with the rest. You may want to add a little more water to the finished juice.

Add the lime juice and honey, mix well and taste. Add more lime/honey as required. Store covered in the fridge. Serve over lots of ice with lime slices and sprigs of mint as garnish.

Keep the rinds for the watermelon pickle recipe that follows in my next post.

Salud!!

16 Responses to “Watermelon Agua Fresca”

  1. spree July 9, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    That speaks cool on a hot summer day better than a sprinkler twirling in the grass (which is a hard thing to beat, if you didn’t know)! 🙂 Beautiful Natalie!

  2. thekalechronicles July 9, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Watermelon with lime makes a delicious agua fresca — mint is nice in it, too. Can’t wait for the watermelon pickle recipe.

    • tony ward July 9, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      Hija,,,stupendito, keep some on ice for next week, I’ll bring the Vodka.!!! xx

  3. frugalfeeding July 9, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    That looks good! It must be REALLY refreshing and has a wonderful colour😀

  4. dassana July 9, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    beautiful colors… am waiting for pickle post

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide July 10, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    Great one!

  6. musingmar July 10, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    This looks so enticing, and sounds delicious. I definitely must make some of this the next time we’re at the cottage … sounds like a perfect beverage for a hot day at the beach! And, as always, your photography is simply stunning.

  7. El Oso con Botas July 10, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Watermelon always refreshing ¡¡

  8. Smallpeace July 10, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    I am forwarding this posting to my family in Ireland, who are in desperate need of a little summer sunshine. Such cheerful photos, I’m hoping it will cheer them up. Poor dears.

  9. Sawsan@ Chef in disguise July 11, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    I love watermelon and I make drinks out of it all summer but I have never tried it with lemon juice and honey, will have to give it a try real soon and I can’t wait for your pickle recipe

  10. sarah July 30, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    My kitchen is finally unpacked, it’s 100 degrees out, and I have two big watermelons sitting on my counter. I think this might be fate…

  11. kellie anderson July 23, 2014 at 9:31 am #

    Hi Natalie. A voice from the future (2014!) Weirdly I’m thinking of doing both a watermelon aquafresca AND a rind pickle. Is it okay to adapt your drink recipe? I’ll link to you, of course.

    • Natalie Ward July 23, 2014 at 11:17 am #

      Of course it is! Just to let you know why I’ve been so quiet recently, we’ve reopened the restaurant we used to have! Have a look here http://www.santiagoskitchen.com
      Still following your gorgeous recipes & photos though, just no time to comment, take care Kellie, Natalie xx🙂

      • kellie anderson July 23, 2014 at 11:28 am #

        Wow Natalie! Just looked at your gorgeous site and the menu. Stunning. Just stunning. No wonder you have been quiet on the blogging front. I am going to pin it and hopefully come over your way in the not too distant future. I’ve never stayed in Malaga, only used its airport. Destination restaurant, I’d say🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet, Spicy Watermelon Pickle « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - July 11, 2012

    […] is what I made with the watermelon rinds I had leftover from making the Watermelon Agua Fresca in my last […]

  2. Watermelon Cutie Pops | life through the kitchen window - August 4, 2012

    […] for Watermelon Agua Fresca on the stunningly beautiful blog, Cook Eat Live Vegetarian. Check it out here, and I’m sure you’ll agree with me that the food photography on this blog is […]

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

