Apple, Pear and Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins

18 Feb

Apple Pear & Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins

This is the next recipe from my Sweet & Healthy series that I didn’t realise I was doing until I just looked at all the recipes and photos I had waiting to publish and noticed that they were all sweet treats that are good for you. The previous recipe in the (now) series was for this Vegan Banana Bread with Dates & Almonds.

Apple Pear & Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins

This is because The Washer Up likes something sweet to take to work with his lunch and I always end up snacking on whatever it is too, so it has to be healthy. These are brilliant for breakfast if you don’t have time to make anything and terrific for that afternoon tea break when you need a sweet fix.

Apple & Pear Oatmeal Muffins

They are like sweet apple and cinnamon porridge in a handy portable muffin disguise. And the oats really do keep you full for longer, it’s true. There is no butter and no sugar in these just olive oil and honey for sweetness. I made them using ground almonds to keep them gluten-free but you could use wholemeal spelt (or normal) flour instead.

I adapted the recipe from an amazing website called The Healthy Chef. I have the feeling it won’t be the last time I use one of her recipes if these muffins are anything to go by.

Apple Pear & Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffin

Apple, Pear & Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins

Makes about 12 muffins. Gluten-free. Adapted from The Healthy Chef

  • 200 g (2 cups) rolled oats (GF)
  • 125 g (1 cup) ground almonds (or wholemeal/spelt flour)
  • 25 g (1/4 cup) flax meal (ground flax seeds)
  • 80 g (1/2 cup) raisins (I used moscatel, so juicy)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 250 ml/1 cup (2 small pots) goat’s (or Greek) yoghurt
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 4 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large apple, grated
  • 1 pear

Preheat oven to 160 C and line your muffin tin with paper cases.

Add the oats, flax meal, raisins, yoghurt, oil, vanilla, baking powder, cinnamon, honey and beaten eggs to a bowl and mix together. Leave to soak for 10 minutes to soften the oats.

Then grate in the apple with the skin and any juice up to the pips and mix through. Then add the ground almonds (or flour) and fold in gently.

Use an ice cream scoop (or large spoon) to fill the muffin cases then sprinkle over a few oats. Bake for 15 minutes then slice the pear into thin circles and place one on top of each muffin. Return to the oven for another 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Brush the tops with a little honey while still warm. Serve warm or at room temperature. Store in an airtight container.

Apple, Pear & Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins

Coming up soon in my Sweet & Healthy series: Chewy Fruit & Nut Muesli Bars and Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk & Hazelnut Cookies.

Hasta Pronto!

imagesCAFT0O3W

26 Responses to “Apple, Pear and Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins”

  1. Enchanted Seashells February 18, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    So delish and healthy. I’ll just have to do the conversions,, unless you have a recipe for us US bakers??

  2. Natalie Ward February 18, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Will add the cups now for you, sorry!

    • Enchanted Seashells February 18, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

      Thank you! I would make these all the time when hubs comes home. What do you think about adding chia seeds?

      • Natalie Ward February 18, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

        Sounds like a great idea, Let me know if you try it!

  3. VogueVegetarian February 18, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

    I loved your last recipe in this series! I’ve made significant diet changes in the last year including almost entirely eliminating white sugar. I also love ways to incorporate gluten free sweet treats. I look forward to more healthy sweets in this series. Oh, and I LOVE how you keep away from refined flours. Every one of your recipes is something I can add to my saved files. Thanks!

  4. frugalfeeding February 18, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    Gorgeous, Natalie! So rustic – I adore them😀

  5. moveeatcreate February 18, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    What a wonderful way to take advantage all of the seasonal fruits right now! I love this!

  6. jammed-thoughts February 19, 2013 at 12:42 am #

    These look gorgeous! could i sub some other ground nut/seed for the almonds? I’m out of those, but i’ve got cashews and sunflower seeds!

    • Natalie Ward February 19, 2013 at 11:07 am #

      I’m not sure having never tried it and I don’t know if cashews go to a powder/flour when ground. You need a floury consistency. Let me know if you try it!

      • jammed-thoughts February 28, 2013 at 10:24 am #

        Just made em today! I only did a half cup of cashew flour (they ground splendidly, as long as you don’t do it too long and make butter!) with half a cup of whole wheat, since I wasn’t sure the structure would hold. Also did chia eggs in place of real ones – they turned out great! Completely my kinda muffin, not at all overly sweet. The cashews added a really great flavor!

      • Natalie Ward February 28, 2013 at 10:49 am #

        So pleased it worked with the cashews! I love how versatile these things are!

  7. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide February 19, 2013 at 1:46 am #

    You have such wonderful attention to detail. Look how pretty those are.

  8. kellie@foodtoglow February 19, 2013 at 3:06 am #

    I can’t tell you how delicious these sound, and so moist too! The Washer Up is a lucky boy

    • tony ward February 19, 2013 at 8:59 am #

      are you SURE these are good for me AND my ever expanding waistline, guapa ?? Look and sound de lish !! xx

  9. peasepuddinga February 19, 2013 at 4:37 am #

    I love the description of portable porridge in a muffin! My kind of breakfast and I lobe the apple slice on top.

  10. Tammy February 19, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    Funny how we get on a series sometimes, isn’t it? Love pears in dishes like this.

  11. musingmar February 20, 2013 at 12:42 am #

    These muffins sounds lovely! The combination of Apple and Pear is quite appealing.

  12. Three Well Beings February 20, 2013 at 7:18 am #

    I love these, and I’m a lot like the washer-up…I need something just a little bit sweet with my lunch. They have a really pretty appearance, too. I think I have all the ingredients!🙂

  13. Frenchfemme February 23, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    Just made my first batch. Omitted the flax seed (didn’t have any!) and used half spelt to almond. Whole family enjoyed them and my 5 year old wanted seconds. Yum.

    • Natalie Ward February 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

      Great news, thanks for letting me know!!

  14. Katherine Jones February 24, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    Hi Natalie, I discovered your blog when looking for beet root recipes and fell in love with it immediately. Although I’ve been ogling the pics and recipes for a while this is the first recipe I’ve tried. I’m scoffing my second muffin as I type this. They are very good, will be great for breakfast and are as you said, like porridge in muffin form. I’m planning on trying your leek and rosemary soup later this week. I only have butter beans though, do you think they’ll do or should I get canellinis?

    • Natalie Ward February 24, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      Hi Katherine, glad you like them! I’m sure butter beans will be lovely in the soup it will just be a little more chunky which is never a bad thing!

  15. Sonia February 24, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Hola Natalie! Te vengo a visitar y veo que tienes un precioso blog, con recetas deliciosas como estas MUFFINS ideales para tomar a la hora del te!!
    Me quedo por aquí para no perderme tus novedades y descubrir recetas umh!
    Gracias por todo lo que me ofrecistes! Muchos sabores, aromas, visiones, contrastes para todos los sentidos…el resultado una delicia y un momento extraordinario. Espero volvamos a coincidir!!
    Salu2
    Cocinandovoyrecetandovengo.
    Sonia.

    • Natalie Ward February 24, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

      Gracias Sonia! Me ha encantado a conocerte ayer en el curso, me has ayudado mucho! Ahora voy a visitar tu blog y ver tus recetas. Seguro que coincidiremos pronto!

  16. Odette October 22, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    Hi Natalie! I prepared them the other day and they were delicious, my 20 months old loved them as well! But we don’t eat them so fast here so do you think that I could freeze them…?
    Thanks a lot!

    • Natalie Ward October 22, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      I don’t see why not🙂 Glad your little one enjoys them too!

Leave a Reply

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Tony Ward on everything

The gospel according to me!

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

Kitchen Operas

Gluten-Free Deliciousness

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth

