Mini Orange and Almond Wholemeal Bread Cakes

1 Mar

The inspiration for this recipe came from Denise at Bread Expectations. She made cute little sweet bread cakes using Panko breadcrumbs rather than flour and topped them with berries and sugar. This idea really appealed to me as I had just made a huge amount of wholemeal breadcrumbs in my new food processor. I save the ends of the wholemeal bread that I buy and freeze them. My food processor broke ages ago and I have only just replaced it so I had a huge bag full of bread waiting to made into breadcrumbs.

So what do you do with three, one litre ice cream tubs worth of wholemeal breadcrumbs? Well, I used some to make my Veggie Burgers, froze a load and I just had to try these breadcrumb cakes. It seemed like fate. I didn’t have any berries to use but what I do have is oranges. At times it seems like I have the whole of Andalucia’s orange harvest in my kitchen. Not that I’m complaining…..

The trees are beautiful to walk past every day and the oranges I have at the moment that were given to me by Rhian are so sweet and delicious. I want to make the most of them. The other trees that always seem to be growing side by side with the oranges are almonds. They obviously like to be around each other so I need no more inspiration than that……

Also Denise’s recipe called for vanilla extract. I have run out and you have no idea how difficult it is to get vanilla here. You can’t even buy that nasty vanilla essence. So I used almond extract instead and added in some ground almonds for good measure.

These little cakes are made with yeast. Now, me and yeast have issues. As in, it never does it’s thing for me. I called these cakes “mini” because they didn’t rise but I still wanted to share them with you because they are really moist, light & delicious. Denise thinks it may be because of the wholemeal breadcrumbs having less gluten than the white Panko. So, feel free to use panko or homemade white breadcrumbs if you want a rise. (Not the fine store bought kind). Whether they rise for you or not these little sweet bread cakes are definitely worth the risk…..

Mini Orange & Almond Breadcrumb Cakes

makes 12, vegetarian. Adapted from a Bread Expectations recipe

  • 1oo gr soft butter
  • 100 gr caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 oranges
  •  a few drops of almond extract
  • 100 gr wholemeal breadcrumbs (or Panko)
  • 50 gr ground almonds
  • 1 packet dried yeast 7 gr
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar mixed with 1/4 tsp ground ginger

Butter/oil a muffin tray or use muffin cases. Zest 1 orange. Segment both oranges over a small bowl to catch any juices. First peel the oranges with a knife on a board by cutting off the peel & pith from top to bottom all the way around. Hold the orange over the small bowl and segment the orange by cutting out each segment  in between the membranes. When you have cut out all your segments  and set them aside, squeeze the remaining membranes to release the juice into the bowl.

Add the yeast to the orange juice (there should be about 6 tbsp juice) stir it around and leave for 10 minutes to froth. Cream the softened butter, caster sugar and salt together until light & creamy then beat in the eggs one at a time until fully incorporated each time. Add a few drops of almond extract, 3/4 of the orange zest, the breadcrumbs, ground almonds and the yeast mixture when it’s had 10 minutes. Mix everything together well until you have a sticky, porridge like batter.

Half fill the 12 muffin cups with the mixture, top each with 2 orange segments and sprinkle over the brown sugar and ginger mix. Finally put some of the remaining orange zest on top. Leave the muffin tray in a warm place for an hour or until almost doubled in volume (Hopefully)!

Preheat the oven to 190 C. Bake for 15 -20 minutes until golden.

Leave to cool slightly then remove from the muffin tin and cool on a wire rack.  These little cakes are perfect for afternoon tea. So get out your best china tea set dust them with icing sugar and invite your friends round for a chat..

You can ask them how they get on with yeast……..!

15 Responses to “Mini Orange and Almond Wholemeal Bread Cakes”

  1. Roxan March 1, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Even as mini cakes, they look delicious! I would really love to have one with my cup of coffee right now.
    And great idea to make your own breadcrumbs. I should do that too – but when I think about it i eat even the ends of the bread. Maybe I’ll start leaving those behind…

  2. Steph@stephsbitebybite March 1, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    These sound heavenly!! I love almond, and then paired with tangy orange…Mmmmmm

  3. happywhennothungry March 2, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    Wow these look delicious! I love the almond and orange combo. Your photos are beautiful too!

  4. A little bit of everything March 2, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Your cakes looks absolutely delicious. I’d love to be invited over to talk about yeast while enjoying this beautiful cakes.
    Thanks for sharing, hope you’ll have a wonderful Wednesday

  5. tiffany March 2, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    The almond-orange combo makes me all warm inside! These breadcrumb cakes look D_I_V_I_N_E! 😀

  6. Mary @ Delightful Bitefuls March 3, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    Ok, that combo sounds (and looks!) ridiculously fabulous!!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  7. Medeja March 3, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    They are lovely! and those hearts you made on top.. lucky you that you have fresh oranges 😀

  8. Susan March 3, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    First of all, thanks for visiting The Spice Garden … nice to see your comment. Next, thanks for these beautiful pictures of sunshine and blossoms and oranges! Late winter in New England is an extremely depressing scene! 😉 Photos and commentary from one living where it’s sunny and warm are a real pick-me-up! Your citrus-y panko sweet bread recipe looks delish … another Denise recipe! I do love her blog!

  9. Clarkie @ Beloved Green March 3, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Ooooah, I love your plates, so pretty! The bit of orange on top just makes this sound delightful, makes it sweet but not too sweet.

  10. Rita March 3, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    These mini bread cakes look delicious!! And I love the idea of using oranges. BTW, are those trees yours? If so, I’m rather envious… 😛
    P.S. I answered your question about fennel risotto on my blog… 😉

  11. Laura March 4, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    I was swooning with jealousy until you got to the no vanilla part. I feel certain that would send me into crisis mode. Maybe you should do a food swap with someone stateside, like our vanilla for your smoked pimenton or something?

    Anyway I just stumbled onto your blog and am loving it. And what a fantastic idea for the heels of store-bought bread. I am going to start doing that…

    • foodblogandthedog March 4, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      Glad you found me, I am going to check your blog out now. My cousin from England is coming over soon and she is bringing me some vanilla. I wanted here to bring some of my grandad’s pickled onions too but she can’t with the 100 ml liquid restrictions!!

  12. denise @ bread expectations March 4, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    Natalie – you are brilliant! Now I wish I had done orange and almond too! Maybe I will! It seems a very Andalusian (Moorish?) combination to me, which completely appeals to my obsession with all things related to your part of the world. Your photography always inspires and again you’ve given me a bad case of saucer envy (where DO you find these beauties??!)

    You’ve done me proud with your very own version of these little cakes and thanks for the lovely mention 🙂 You may have issues with yeasty beasties, but if they refuse to work with your brand of kitchen genius, it’s their loss 😉

    • foodblogandthedog March 4, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      The flavours are definitely a little Morisco in their influence! I even thought about putting orange blossom water in their too but didn’t want to over power it. Rose water could be interesting as well!

  13. Mateja @Indulging Life March 5, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Now I just want to move and be your neighbour. All those beautiful ornage trees…..and your sweet creation is amazing! Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth