Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk and Hazelnut Cookies

9 Mar

Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk & Hazelnut Cookies

Just a quick post because I promised you the recipe for these last week after my first Healthy Baking with Chocolate workshop. I am in the middle of writing (and editing heavily) a speech on the relationship between food and health, particularly cancer, for the Marbella Women’s Week conference next week.

I say I. I mean we. Actually he is doing an awful lot of the editing and an awful lot of adding bits in too. It’s only a ten minute talk. I need to focus. So instead I’m writing about cookies.

Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Now I’m not saying you should eat these every day or anything but compared to most cookies these are much healthier.They are made with olive oil instead of butter. I use honey and maple syrup (or miel de cana) instead of sugar and the wholemeal spelt flour gives them a lovely flavour.

It’s Mother’s Day in the UK tomorrow so these are for my mum. She loves a biscuit with a cup of tea. They probably have too many bits in for her taste but it’s the thought that counts and I’ve ordered flowers in colours that match her lounge cushions and curtains so I should be safe. She does love it when things match.

Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk & Hazelnut Cookies

Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk & Hazelnut Cookies Recipe

Makes 10-12 cookies. Vegan, wheat-free.

  • 150 g wholemeal spelt flour
  •  1 tsp baking powder
  •  1/2 tsp baking soda 
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  •  4 Tbsp maple syrup or miel de cana
  •  1 Tbsp honey or agave syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  •  a few drops of almond extract (optional)
  • 4 Tbsp olive oil
  •  about 70 g 70% dark chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 60 g hazelnuts or almonds roughly chopped

Preheat oven 175 C. Line a baking sheet with baking paper

In a bowl mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nuts and chocolate together  well.

In a jug whisk together the oil, maple syrup/miel de cana, honey/agave, vanilla and almond extract, if using. Pour this into the flour bowl and gently mix together until just combined.

Take a tablespoon of the mix and put it on the lined tray, pressing it down slightly with your fingers. Continue with the rest of the mix leaving  an inch or so in between each so they can spread. Bake for 11 minutes until just golden, leave on the tray for 1 minute then remove to a wire rack to cool. This stops them drying out. Store in an airtight container.

Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk & Hazelnut Cookies

 Happy Mother’s Day Mum!

Now back to the speech…

imagesCAFT0O3W

15 Responses to “Wholemeal Chocolate Chunk and Hazelnut Cookies”

  1. tony ward March 9, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    I’m heading for the kitchen as we speak guapitita. These are fab !! Are you sure they are good for my waistline ? Good luck with speech guapa and go easy on the washerup ! xx

  2. frugalfeeding March 9, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    Yummy! They look god and hearty – perfect with a strong coffee!

  3. dassana March 9, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    loved these cookies. shall try these in some time

  4. musingmar March 9, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    Love how these cookies look decadent, yet in fact are wholesome!

  5. moveeatcreate March 10, 2013 at 1:11 am #

    Spelt plus hazelnuts plus chocolate?! This is like a trifecta of happiness for me!

  6. kellie@foodtoglow March 10, 2013 at 5:37 am #

    Your cookies look so perfect, with efficiently large ‘bits’ Your Mum sounds funny with her live of decor matching and dislike of bits! Best of luck with your talk. Just speak from your heart and you will be fine. As you know I talk on cancer and nutrition for my job. I always remember that people want to know what you’re telling them. It’s not like at school when most kids are disinterested. Your audience will be with you. Let us know how it went.

    • Natalie Ward March 10, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Thanks for the tips Kellie! I need to start practicing without holding my speech now, how do you do this for a job? 😉 Will keep your calm experienced spirit with me on Wednesday & tell you how it goes!!

  7. kellie@foodtoglow March 10, 2013 at 5:39 am #

    Autocorrect is such a pain! ‘Efficiently’ should read ‘impressively’

  8. narf77 March 10, 2013 at 6:21 am #

    Perfect for dunking…just perfect 🙂

  9. Three Well Beings March 10, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    These do seem to be wonderfully healthy and beautifully tasty, I’m sure. I hope I find I have all the ingredients and can possibly make them in the morning before meeting up with family for a birthday party. These would be a nice addition for the birthday girl. Happy Mother’s Day to your mum, and good look with your speech. I’m sure you’ll do well. You’re passionate about the topic, and that goes a long way!

  10. Harriet March 10, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    I made these this afternoon as a Mother’s Day present to myself, they look amazing and taste delicious. Vegan baking is the way to go!

  11. spree March 15, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    You have made me very happy! 😀 These will go into our cookie jar, without a doubt!

  12. Elisabeth - Saker jag bakar March 17, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    These cookies look lovely!

  13. rileyfredericks March 21, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Natalie, when I fist became a vegetarian in every cookbook I bought the desserts always had fruit in them. Just because I love my fruits and veggies does not mean I don’t love my chocolate too! These look amazing I cannot wait to make them for my roommates this weekend, great post.
    -Riley Fredericks ( http://collegecucumber.wordpress.com/ )

  14. Madhavi Sharma April 19, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    looks very delicious! I would love to eat these cookies
    Thanks for sharing the recipe Natalie, Have a great day!

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth