Provencal Goat’s Cheese Brulee with Fresh Fig and Orange Compote

11 Nov

This is a dish we served at the restaurant. I came up with the idea and The Washer Up translated it into reality. That’s what he does, he makes what goes on in my head happen. I have no concept of how difficult things are, I just know what I want. Thankfully he is very practical (unlike me) and incredibly patient (ditto). We are the perfect team.

You can serve this with any seasonal compote/jam. Cranberries would be nice especially for a Christmas starter/appetizer or snack. I chose to make a Fig & Orange Compote because that is what I am seeing while walking the dog at the moment. The last of the late season figs…..

And the first of the season’s oranges….

I actually still have a huge bag of figs in my freezer so I used up quite a few in this compote. It is flavoured with ginger and cinnamon too.

The brulee is really quick and simple to make. You mix equal parts goat’s cheese, cream cheese and creme fraiche, season it with garlic and fresh herbs then put it in a heatproof ramekin or dish. Refrigerate if possible to firm it up.

Sprinkle with a layer of brown sugar………..

Then you put it under a hot grill until the sugar has caramelised or brulee the top with a blowtorch.

Don’t worry if the cheese bubbles up around the edge of the sugar, that’s part of the fun. Serve immediately with some lovely bread or crackers and get dunking.

I served mine with a delicious Fruit & Seed Loaf that I thinly sliced and toasted. It’s really easy to make, no yeast, no rising, no kneading, no proving. I’ll give you the recipe in my next post.

Goat’s Cheese Brulee with Fresh Fig & Orange Compote

Serves 2, vegetarian

Preparation time: 10 mins Cooking time: less than 2 minutes

  • 100 gr goat’s cheese (weight after rind removed)
  • 1oo gr philadelphia light (or any cream cheese)
  • about 100 gr creme fraiche (or queso fresco batido) you can use less if you like a firmer texture
  • 1 small garlic clove, finely minced
  • 1/2 tsp finely chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/2 tsp finely chopped fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 tsp finely chopped fresh parsley
  • salt & black pepper
  • brown sugar

Blend (or mix) the first three ingredients until smooth. Add the garlic & herbs and mix again. Season to taste with salt & black pepper.

Put into two heatproof ramekins or dishes and smooth the top. Refrigerate now until ready to serve.

When ready to serve, cover the tops with a layer of brown sugar and put under a hot grill until the sugar is caramelised and bubbling. Or blast the top with a blowtorch.

Serve immediately with toasted bread or crackers and the compote/jam.

Fresh Fig & Orange Compote

Makes about 3-4 jam pots (can be halved). Vegan, gluten-free. Adapted from Gateau Passion

Preparation time: 5 minutes Cooking time: 25 minutes

  • 1 kg fresh figs, washed & quartered or cut into eighths
  • 50 gr brown sugar
  • 50 gr honey
  • 1 cinnamon stick, broken in half
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • zest & juice of 1/2 an orange
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • a squeeze of lemon juice

Put all the ingredients in a large saucepan and mix together well. Bring to boiling point over a medium heat, then lower the heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon. When reduced & thickened transfer to sterilised pots or jars. Seal, turn upside down and leave to cool. When cool store in the refrigerator.

 Have a great weekend!!

21 Responses to “Provencal Goat’s Cheese Brulee with Fresh Fig and Orange Compote”

  1. Ayako Mathies November 11, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I love the idea of goat cheese being a brulee. Sounds so good and would love to try.

  2. thecompletecookbook November 11, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I have never been so excited about vegetarian food as I have been since recently subscribing to your blog. Thank you for your awe inspiring recipes.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. Savorique November 11, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Amazing and so unique flavor combination here. It deserves to be on a restaurant menu!
    It somehow makes me think of the recipe of melted goat cheese with heavy cream and garlic and herbs “en papillotte”.

  4. Tes November 11, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    You are one of the people I know who make vegetarian food look so amamzing 🙂 Everything seems so fresh and delicious 🙂

  5. Joanne November 11, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    This is one of the coolest preparations I have ever seen! Totally impressed.

  6. Chica Andaluza November 11, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Now that looks amazing – I´d eat it as a starter and as a dessert! Might have to keep this on my list for Christmas….but will have to try it out first for research purposes of course 🙂

  7. Ramona November 11, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Your photos are exquisite!! I am excited to see a savory brulee. I never thought to do one like that… simply brilliant!! Well done to you and the Washer up!! 🙂

  8. Caroline November 11, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    All I can say is WOW. What a clever recipe. This sounds absolutely amazing, Natalie!

  9. Victoria Challalncin November 12, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    I haven’t seen a recipe that so quickly caught my imagination as this one in a very long time. Original and interesting. Thank you.

  10. peasepudding November 13, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    My goodness, what a beautiful combination, hoping to get figs on my tree this autumn.

  11. Brindusa @ Cooking with my soul November 13, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    I like it very much. I love figs, and always wanting to cook something new with them. Thanks.

  12. happywhennothungry November 14, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    This looks beautiful! Your recipes are always so creative and have the best flavors. Yum!

  13. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide November 14, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    Wow, every aspect of this dish is wonderful on its own. Together they’re even better. Beautiful recipe.

  14. ceciliag November 14, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    This is the most gorgeous post.. beautiful work.. c

  15. sara November 15, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Oh, this looks so so good! Definitely making this next time I have friends over! 🙂

  16. Beth Michelle November 15, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Ok, seriously this is heaven for me. I need to come and live at your house and you can just feed me. No joke.

  17. Miranda November 17, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    This looks incredible. What a fantastic idea!!

  18. Kita November 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    What a stunning brulee. I wish I had someone to help me sort out my ideas! (because patience is something I truly lack!) This looks like it was executed perfectly.

  19. tiffany November 20, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Oh my word this looks amazing! … and there’s that flax seed loaf again! As my brother would say, Nom Nom Nom! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flax Seed, Raisin and Date Breakfast Loaf « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - November 14, 2011

    […] is the bread that I served with my Goat’s Cheese Brulee. It also the bread that I have had for breakfast every day since the first time I made it two weeks […]

  2. Try this flax seed, raisin and date breakfast loaf – made with spelt! » Nature's Legacy for Life – VITA-SPELT® - November 17, 2011

    […] is the bread that I served with my Goat’s Cheese Brulee, says Natalie. “It is also the bread that I have had for breakfast every day since the first time […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth