Za’atar Spice Roasted Red Cabbage Steaks

6 Mar

Za'atar Spice Roasted Red Cabbage

Red cabbage may not be your favourite vegetable. It wasn’t mine.  I have always loved the colour of it though. You’ve got to love food that is such a beautiful shade of magenta. When I run past these purple and green striped fields of  cabbages I can’t help but smile.

Cabbages

Another thing that makes me happy is the price. They are so cheap at the moment at the farmer’s market and if you have ever bought a cabbage you will know how far it goes. I mean these things go on for ever.

I use about a quarter of a white cabbage in this fridge emptying favourite Minestrone Soup that I now serve topped with a swirl of homemade basil pesto, it makes such a difference to the flavour.

mont 3

You can’t really use red cabbage in that soup though, it turns everything purple. Other than using it to make my Grandad’s Pickled Red Cabbage I have never done anything exciting or blogworthy with this beautiful Brassica. Until now that is.

Za'atar Red Cabbage Steaks

I found a recipe for roasted red cabbage steaks on Drizzle & Dip that immediately caught my eye.  She used a different spice mix but the idea is the same and I have been wanting to incorporate Za’atar into a recipe for a while.

Z'a'atar Spice Oil

Za’atar is herb and spice blend popular throughout the Middle East most often made with a mix of dried oregano, thyme, sesame seeds, sumac and salt. There are other variations if you want to research it more.

It has many uses but its most common guise is to be mixed with olive oil, rubbed over flatbread dough and baked. You can also dip your toasted flatbread straight into a pot of it on the table. It can be used as a quick and easy marinade or rub for meat, fish and vegetables as well, as I have done here.

Za'atar Roasted Red Cabbage Steaks

Za’atar Spice Roasted Red Cabbage Steaks

Serves 2-3 as a side dish. Vegan, gluten-free.

For the za’atar

  • 1 Tbsp sumac (used ground cumin or coriander if you can’t find it)
  • 1 Tbsp fresh or dried thyme
  • 1 Tbsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  •  a few grindings of black pepper
  • a pinch of red chilli flakes

Mix this all together and store in an airtight container.

  • 3 – 4 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 a red cabbage (or more)  cut into 1/2 – 1 cm thick slices 
  • sea salt to serve

Mix the oil with the za’atar in a small bowl. Preheat the oven to 180C and line  baking sheet with baking paper.

Lay the cabbage steaks out on the baking sheet and spread the za’atar oil all over them, you may need some more oil. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes depending on thickness and serve sprinkled with sea salt.

Za'atar Roasted Red Cabbage

Serve these as a side dish or for a party as part of a mezze table with some Baba Ghanoush, Muhammara, Sweet Potato Filo Cigars , Roasted Beetroot Hummus and this Lebanese Lentil Salad. Just a suggestion.

Za'atar Red Cabbage Steaks

Make some more of the Za’atar straight away so you will always have some for dipping bread into or for a quick salad dressing or to serve over a plain hummus. The possiblities are endless.

You will be addicted, I am.

Za'atar Spice Oil

Things That Made Me Smile Today

Rainy Day Dog

This little fella was all ready for the rain. He was really working that outfit and Rufus was a little jealous of all the attention he was getting…

imagesCAFT0O3W

12 Responses to “Za’atar Spice Roasted Red Cabbage Steaks”

  1. Carol CAMPBELL March 6, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    Looks heavenly!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Elle Draper March 6, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    This sounds lovely! I’m going to make that dressing and use it to coat sliced courgettes before oven roasting them. Or I might just dry fry the courgettes and drizzle the dressing on afterwards.
    Yum! Was looking for a new flavour for tonight’s dinner – so you’ve really helped. Thanks!
    Elle xx

  3. Hannah @ Dispatches from the Gypsy Roller March 6, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    This is such a clever use of red cabbage. Typically I use it grated in salads but I’ll have to switch things up and try your recipe 🙂

  4. musingmar March 6, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    I made my own za’atar recently for a chicken dish and loved it. Your version is a little different, and sounds good with the red cabbage!

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide March 7, 2013 at 1:15 am #

    Tell Rufus he’s got nothing to worry about… oh my look at that cutie… ooops I mean Rufus you’re good! Great looking steaks!

    • tony ward March 7, 2013 at 8:23 am #

      Hija ! you’ve taken things up another notch with this one,sounds delice dahling. When the red cabbages come back I’ll give it a whirl. Besitos. xx

  6. Natasha March 7, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    I bought sumac the other day and I really like the taste, but I wasn’t sure how to use it. This is perfect.

  7. Tammy March 8, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    Natalie, you post arrives at a perfect time. I don’t have this particular spice mix but I do have cabbage and I have been contemplating it!

  8. Luv'n Spoonfuls March 11, 2013 at 12:04 am #

    These look SOOOOO good! I love Za’atar, and luckily I can find multiple variations where I live (or have also ordered it online). It is a great spice blend to use on almost anything, but I had not seen it used this way before. Can’t wait to give it a try!

  9. Lioness June 6, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you! Just made this and the cabbage is delicious! I am generally a horrible cook and love to eat fresh and colourful veggies – well, meals, really – and I’d never been able to properly cook red cabbage before. It always turned out too sickly sweet. Life-changing! I’ll try to make za’atar from scratch when my I run out of my ready-made mélange.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creamed Cabbage Soup | Can't Stay Out Of The KitchenCan't Stay Out Of The Kitchen - March 9, 2013

    […] Za’atar Spice Roasted Red Cabbage Steaks […]

  2. Staking Out the Steak Out | Agrigirl's Blog - March 14, 2013

    […] with the same impeccable timing that she shows in all of her recipes, Natalie from FoodBlogandtheDog showed up on time with seasonal red cabbage – something that is ample in our home this week. […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth