Golden Jasmine Martini

22 Sep

I walk past this beautiful jasmine plant every morning with the dog and brush past it to release it’s exotic perfume.

I’ve been thinking about what I could make with jasmine. I have jasmine green tea that I drink every morning and was exploring ideas around that. I thought about making a Jasmine Tiramisu (or tea -ramisu) because The Washer Up made an amazing Tiramisu with Darjeeling tea when we had a special menu from the region of Darjeeling in India. I still might do that but it is a lot of work (and calories).

I was flicking through some newspaper cuttings The Washer Up’s dad had sent me. He cuts out anything to do with food and sends it to me along with any classic books he may have picked up in a charity shop, thanks Jim for keeping my brain functioning and furthering my literary education!!

In one of the clippings there was a recipe for a Rose & Lychee Martini. This got me thinking about a Jasmine Martini, an alcoholic iced tea, a Mar-tea-ni if you like. I love the golden colour it’s very elegant & expensive-looking.

Golden Jasmine Martini

serves 2, vegan, gluten-free

  • 1 heaped teaspoon jasmine green tea
  • boiling water
  • 3 or 4 ice cubes
  • 2 measures vodka (or gin) be as generous as you’re feeling, about 100 ml should do it
  • 1 tbsp 15 ml sugar syrup or honey
  • jasmine flowers to garnish

Put your martini glasses in the freezer to chill for as long as you can. Half an hour is good.

Make a cup of jasmine tea with boiling water and leave it to steep for a few minutes. Add the honey or sugar syrup and stir to dissolve it.

Put the ice cubes in a cocktail shaker and pour the tea, through a strainer (to catch any tea leaves) into the shaker and add the vodka or gin. Shake well until ice-cold and strain into the frozen glasses. Garnish with jasmine petals and enjoy.

Serve this as an aperitif before a fragrant Asian meal or with canapes to people you’d like to impress….

Cheers!!

23 Responses to “Golden Jasmine Martini”

  1. Cooking through the seasons September 22, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    this sounds like such fun!

  2. Suzi September 22, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    I subscribed to your post and added you to my links list and this just came in my e-mail. I would never have thought to make this. I have jasmine bushes around my house and drink jasmine tea as well, how creative, this is fabulous. Can’t wait to make this for my two girlfriends that love martinis’. Thanks so much.

    • foodblogandthedog September 22, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      Thanks for subscribing and the link! I hope you and your girlfriends enjoy these, they’re very ladylike!!

  3. Andrew Sloan September 22, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Natalie, I am speechless at your creativity, I will have to try this one!

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide September 22, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Looks wonderful. We garnished our wedding cake with jasmine, which I may have already mentioned. Hi to Rufus!

  5. The Travelling Chopsticks September 22, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Oh my goodness – what an amazing looking drink!! And your pictures are stunningn too…this would be a fantastic welcome drink at a summer party!!

  6. chicaandaluza September 22, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    So beautiful – made me run out to look at my jasmine in the garden! Where do you buy your jasmine tea?

    • foodblogandthedog September 22, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

      There’s a shop in the indoor market in Fuengirola that sells every type of tea loose. There’s also a spice/herb stall there that sells loads of stuff. I haven’t been for a while, need to make a trip down there!!

  7. Liz September 23, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    SO beautiful! Especially that last photo~ Great cocktail.

  8. Kita September 23, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    Love this little mar-tea-ni! I have been itching to make some new cocktails and this one sounds beautiful annnnd like it would do the job! Great pics too!

  9. peasepudding September 23, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Lovely idea, martinis are hubby’s favorites. I made lavender martini once but didn’t think of infusing it with tea. Now you have me thinking after drinking Dilmahs rose and French vanilla tea…could be a cocktail on the horizon.

  10. Three Well Beings September 23, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    The pictures are so enticing! I look forward to doing just as you suggest…I have a couple of martini enthusiast friends…I can’t wait to impress them! Debra

  11. Tes September 23, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    All I can say is it’s so beautiful and refreshing 🙂

  12. Maris (In Good Taste) September 23, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous! Your photos are amazing!

  13. happywhennothungry September 23, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    What a beautiful martini!! Love the jasmine.

  14. Nami | Just One Cookbook September 24, 2011 at 2:47 am #

    Although I don’t drink alcohol, this jasmine martini sounds and looks fabulous… I’d definitely have a sip (or even more…).

  15. alyssa September 25, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    This sounds like a great drink! Your pictures are so pretty. I do hope that you make a tea-ramasu, a great idea!

  16. tony ward September 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Thats my girl….tea with alcohol…perfecto guapa. I dont need to impress people, they need to impress me.But….they will be amazed at this posting not to say just a little sqiffy after the sampling ritual !!!
    Great posting princess, love it (or shall I say I’m sure I will ??)

  17. Divya September 26, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Sounds so exotic! I never make martinis at home… I think it’s about time :).

  18. Beth Michelle September 27, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    This sounds like such an awesome cocktail! We have a jasmine plant in our front yard and I just love it. It smells soooo good and the little white flowers are so pretty!

  19. Tony Ward September 29, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    this one’s for the lovely “G” xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Celi Diet – Colourful food: Eat Pretty | thekitchensgarden - October 19, 2011

    […] from Midnite Chef.   AND just when you thought it was safe, how about a wee drinky while you are thinking about what to cook for the Body Beautiful tonight. The honey version of course!! This is from Cook […]

  2. Pink Hibiscus Flirtini « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - November 26, 2011

    […] holiday season I thought I would share a little cocktail with you. After the success of my Golden Jasmine Martini and seeing this double page article in The Independent (The Washer Up’s dad sends me all […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth