Brilliant Green Broccoli Soup

23 Feb

This one’s for my Mum. She loves broccoli and she loves soup so this should be her idea of heaven. Broccoli soups can be disappointing, sludgy, smelly and look a bit like dishwater if you’re not careful. This broccoli soup , however, is bright green, elegant, nutritious and delicious. The Washer Up claimed it was the best soup he had ever had, high praise indeed!!

The reason it stays bright green is because of the spinach added at the last-minute to boost the colour. What I like about this soup is that the predominant flavour is still broccoli with a background of cheese to give it richness and the touch of spice which brings it all together. You can make this soup as basic as you like just topped with a swirl of creme fraiche, or sprinkle over some toasted breadcrumbs, grated cheese and walnuts.  I found this soup recipe at All day I dream about food it’s from Cooks Illustrated magazine. I also found another recipe at The Dabble  which had great topping ideas my favourite being potato croutons.

To make the croutons I used some leftover cooked potatoes that I chopped into about 1cm dice. Put them on some baking parchment drizzle with olive oil, salt, pepper & a pinch of cayenne toss to coat and roast in a 210 C oven for about 15 – 20 minutes until browned at the edges. Scatter the still hot croutons over the soup and serve.

As I still had some more potatoes left I thought I would try to glam it up a bit more by making a potato gallette to go on top as well. A potato gallette is a flat thin ring of overlapping potato slices usually made with raw very thinly sliced potatoes. My rather rustic attempt using cooked new potatoes, sliced turned out pretty well except the slices didn’t stick together as well as if you used raw potatoes.

To make a gallete, slice a medium new potato (mine was already cooked) as thinly as you can. Lay the discs on a piece of parchment to form an overlapping circle. Drizzle with olive oil, salt & pepper and bake at 210C for 15 – 20 minutes until browned. Keep an eye on them especially if they are really thin, they burn easily. Use a metal spatula to lift the gallete on to the hot soup.

Brilliant Green Broccoli Soup Recipe

serves 2 -3, vegetarian

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large head broccoli
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • a pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • about 1 litre veg stock
  • water if necessary
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 10 squares frozen spinach (or about 15o gr fresh)
  • about 1oo gr grated cheese (I used manchego) parmesan or cheddar would be nice
  • your choice of toppings (see suggestions above)

Cut the broccoli into 1 inch pieces, peel the stem and chop that up into smaller pieces too. In a large pot heat the olive oil over a medium heat, add in the onions, broccoli, garlic, mustard, cayenne, salt & pepper. Cook for about 3 or 4 minutes, stirring until the onion is translucent or starting to brown. Add in about 200 ml veg stock and the baking soda, bring to a simmer, lower the heat slightly, cover and cook for 15 -20 minutes until the broccoli is very soft.

Add in the rest of the veg stock, bring to a boil and add in the spinach. If using fresh, stir to wilt then add in the cheese. If using frozen spinach cook for 2 or 3 minutes more until the spinach is soft, then stir in the cheese. Remove from the heat and blend (carefully) using a stick blender until smooth. Taste for seasoning and add more water if your soup is too thick for your liking. To serve bring back up to the boil and ladle into warmed bowls. Garnish with grated cheese or see suggestions above.

Enjoy!!

22 Responses to “Brilliant Green Broccoli Soup”

  1. Andrew & Margarita February 23, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    I´ll be making this soup, thanks Natalie!

  2. Sarah @ cooking pretty February 23, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    potato galette is a cute idea!

  3. happywhennothungry February 24, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    This soup looks so creamy and delicious! Love the color of the soup too! Yum!

  4. Lau@Corridor Kitchen February 24, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    That’s so weird, I was planning on making a brocolli soup this week. I can’t remember quite what goes in mine though. I think broccoli, onion, potato, tomato and carrot. I do one version with fresh ginger and one version with garlic. The garlic version gets a sprinkle of blue cheese.

  5. fooddreamer February 24, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    Isn’t it a great soup? Cook’s Illustrated really does some lovely testing and gets it right a lot of the time. Love the addition of the potatoes!

  6. Roxan February 24, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Ooo, what a beautiful soup! Broccoli soup is one of my favorites – strangely I even loved it as a kid. I love the potatoes that you included on top, they add that extra touch that really makes this soup special.

  7. Priya Sreeram February 24, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    loved the colour n texture–good one !

  8. Medeja February 24, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    I like how it looks like 🙂 I should get some broccoli 🙂

  9. tiffany February 24, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    It’s like an edible emerald! Beautiful!!!

  10. tony ward February 24, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    loved it, even the ol’ man could manage it!!!
    Those gallete’s spinkled with parmesan just outta the oven….stupendo…How do you do it guapa…..stupendo xx

  11. Kita February 25, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Oh that is a brilliant green! I love that it has the spinach in it too. Its the one leafy green that we can agree about in this household. We love a cheesy broccoli soup here but Im wondering if I can sneak the healthy green in – its looks like its totally worth giving a try 😀

  12. A little bit of everything February 25, 2011 at 4:35 am #

    I’ve seen the soup on Carolyn’s blog also. Yours look so bright, so tempting. LOVE it.
    Thanks for sharing and thanks for sending me a foodbuzz friend request.
    Hope you’ll have a wonderful weekend

  13. Christina February 25, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    Wow!! What a striking color! So pretty…I bet it tastes as good as it looks! 🙂

  14. jenn from muchtomydelight February 25, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Love the idea of potato croutons! And that soup’s color is so loverly. If I may ask, did you take the first few photos outside? I’ve been known to shoot my food in the backyard while standing on a chair for the most natural light. Neighbors must think I’m nuts.

    • foodblogandthedog February 25, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      Yes I always try to take my photos outside if possible ie: if I make enough to shoot the next day! I have a white painted concrete bench on my roof terrace that take all the cushions off of and take photos there. My neighbours think I’m mad too!!

  15. Ami February 26, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    I’ve become a big fan of your site.I tried your greek tomato soup, muligatwany soup, came out very well. Look forward for more yummy posts.

    Tnx for viewing and commenting on my posts.
    There’s an award waiting for you
    http://amisvegetariandelicacies.blogspot.com/p/recognition.html
    Hv a grt wk end!

  16. Lindsey February 27, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    Wow Nat, that looks stunning, and its Definatley still soup weather here! Potato croutons, genius… god I miss croutons. Big hello to ol’ man Tony, Its been a long time… xx

  17. Mateja February 27, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Wonderful photos and yummy bites! Have a wonderful Saturday evening 🙂

  18. Liz February 28, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Gorgeous color…and what lovely garnishes!!! YUM!

  19. Stephanie @ okie dokie artichokie March 1, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Wow, I am in love with this soup. Looks amazing! I love the color (I am a sucker for anything green) and the classy, sophisticated look to it for sure! Very Spring-y, too, and I’m all about that! First day of Spring in just a couple short weeks — woohoo!!

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth