Date, Walnut and Coconut Energy “Truffles”

24 May

It’s normally at about 4pm that I get a sugar craving. It must be an English thing, something to do with afternoon tea maybe. Not that I ever have afternoon tea but I definitely feel the blood sugar levels crashing at about that time.

Apparently afternoon tea was invented in Victorian times when the ladies fashion was to wear very tight-fitting corsets and waist-cinching dresses. They would come over all faint in between lunch and dinner and had to be revived with a piece of cake and a dainty sandwich.

As you may know, I am currently following a detox, vegan, gluten and sugar-free diet so no cake or sandwiches allowed. I usually have an apple but that does get a bit boring all the time. I found this recipe for Date & Walnut Power Balls somewhere but I couldn’t print it out because the printer wasn’t working. I wrote the recipe out instead but forgot to write the name of the blog I found it on. So, if I stole these from you, thanks and let me know so I can give you some credit.

Because credit where credit is due, these are quick, easy and sweet enough to feel naughty but are so not. Vegan, gluten-free and refined sugar-free but delicious enough to serve with coffee after dinner. You can even do the whole Ferrero Rocher tower thing in a “really spoiling us” moment. It’s not compulsory though, I just couldn’t resist.

Date, Walnut & Coconut Energy Truffles

makes about 15 balls, vegan, gluten-free, refined sugar-free

(Thanks to Dzenana from The New Tastement for this recipe and for reminding me where I got it from!)

  • 1 cup (150 gr) stoned dates, preferably Medjool
  • 1 cup (100 gr) walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup (50 gr) desiccated coconut (unsweetened), plus extra for coating

Soak the dates in water for about an hour then roughly chop them. Blend everything together well so there are no big chunks and the mix comes together.  Tip some coconut onto a small plate. Take small amounts of the mix in your hands, squeeze it together and roll it into small balls. Then roll in the coconut. Store in an airtight container.

These are perfect for that mid-afternoon pick-me-up, as an energy boost pre or post exercise, as well as an after dinner treat. You can change-up the nuts and dried fruit for whatever you like, just make sure you soak the dried fruit first.

What time is it? I’m feeling a bit faint…..

Things That made Me Smile Today

Our first hibiscus flower of the year came out this morning….

Pale pink camelias looking like the perfect bridal bouquet….

22 Responses to “Date, Walnut and Coconut Energy “Truffles””

  1. thefooddoctor May 24, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I loved dates and these look like a perfect treat..
    I really love the idea of “things that made me smile”..a wonderful way to appreciate little joys

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 24, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    Great pictures. I don’t think the afternoon sugar craving is English, although you did give the world many great things.

  3. Carolyn May 24, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I have all the ingredients for these and I think they might be a no-sugar snack my kids would actually like. I will definitely make them. Don’t feel too bad about “stealing” them, I’ve done that once or twice and you handled it perfectly!

  4. Linda May 24, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Yum! Walnuts, dates and coconut so simple and delicious! I too look for that afternoon pick me up and this sounds perfect! I had posted and followed a similar diet as you are on; I do/did feel so much better! Good luck to you!

  5. Felice May 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    I am another who has all of these ingredients right in the cupboard so I can;t wait to try them. I think they would make a perfect treat for my husband when he gets back from training. I also have a similar recipe that replaces the dates with dried apricots.

  6. Caroline May 24, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    Well these just look fantastic! I’m right there with you on the sugar craving, but unfortunately, I have one all of the time–not just at 4 p.m. Great photos as usual, and I love your plate. 🙂

  7. Roxan May 24, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Mmm. these look so good! Healthy desserts/treats are the best aren’t they? Like you, I also turn to apples quite often – they taste good and have a long shelf life! But, like you I also get a bit bored of them at times too. I am totally making these.

  8. Dzenana May 25, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Wow! I got very excited when I saw this post!
    I originally posted the recipe abot two weeks ago, and I’m very, very, very glad that you’ve enjoyed it!
    (http://thenewtastement.blogspot.com/2011/05/date-and-walnut-powerballs.html)

    (I actually have a big, proud grin on my face right now!)

  9. happywhennothungry May 25, 2011 at 4:08 am #

    I always crave something sweet right after dinner! These “truffles” look beautiful and I love how healthy they are. I definitely need to make these for my after-dinner sugar craving!!

  10. Christy May 25, 2011 at 4:33 am #

    What LOVELY and adorable truffles these are!!:) They just make me wanna grab one from your plate (from my pc here:)
    Ohhh, hibiscuses are abundant here in my country…hehe, they are after all, the national flower;)

  11. paleo menus May 25, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Wow!! Awesome. Great pictures. I got very excited when i saw this blog.
    I really love the idea of “things that made me smile”..a wonderful way to appreciate little joys.
    Thank you so much for sharing….

    Here I have some more recipes.
    paleo menus

    Regards, Johny

  12. tony ward May 25, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    I am making these as we speak….just ‘cos I can and…..its Wednesday and I always spoil myself on Wednesdays !!!
    Great pics too dahling. xx

  13. tiffany May 25, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Ferrero Rocher! 😀 These truffles are adorable… AND guilt free. The perfect snack! I hope your detox is going well P.S. Love the hibiscus!

  14. sarah May 26, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Oh wow, those look incredible! I love the coconut flakes on the outside. Lovely flower pictures too!

  15. Ami May 26, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    Hi Natali,

    Glad you’re gonna try fried noodles recipe. Let me know how how you like the taste?
    Tk care…

  16. Beth Michelle May 26, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    These look really good!! I always have dates in the house, I love them. My husband would love love love these. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Maris (In Good Taste) May 26, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Not only do these look delicious but your pictures are gorgeous and I am in love wit the plate!

    • foodblogandthedog May 26, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      Thanks everyone! Just to let you know the plate is from Habitat, it seems to be very popular! It’s the closest thing I’ve got to a cake stand 😀

  18. Olivia May 26, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    That looks so good, I’ll def have to try it since I crave sugar every afternoon as well 🙂 Lovely flower photos too!

  19. Corinne brennan May 27, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    Hey! These look awesome! I recently posted choco chip protein poppers which had dates almonds and coconut in them! Think I’ll try these next time, thx 😉

  20. Thas @ Cooking with Thas May 28, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    Such delicious and healthy truffles! I can only think of finishing up the entire platter in just one sitting, too good they are.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dates, Nuts, and Balls | The Yummy Year Project - June 12, 2011

    […] came across them on Natalie’s blog Cook Eat Live Vegetarian and from there found that the creator of this recipe is Dzenana from The New Tastement.  This is […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth