Pretty Pickled Peppers Recipe

5 Sep

As in “Peter Piper picked a peck of…..”. A peck is a lot by the way, about 8 pints worth. I didn’t buy that many, I resisted from buying the whole crate of organic Pimientos Picante that were shining up at me from the floor of one of the stalls at the market on Sunday.

I bought quite few though, enough to think “What the hell..?” when I got home and realised that I already have a freezer full of our own homegrown red and green chillis and a scotch bonnet bush that is producing more than we can cope with at the moment.

I’m a sucker for them though, it didn’t even cross my mind, as I stuffed a few greedy handfuls into a bag, paid and left with a smile on my face and thoughts of pretty jars of pickled peppers on imaginary wooden shelves in a pantry that only exists in my dreams rushing through my brain. What can I say, it’s an addiction.

Pretty Pickled Peppers Recipe

Makes 1 big jar, vegan, gluten-free. Adapted from David Lebowitz

  • about 350 g chilli peppers (mixed red & green)
  • 350 ml vinegar ( I used a mix of apple, sherry, rice and white wine vinegars)
  • 350 ml water
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp course salt Himalayan or kosher
  • 2 tbsp coriander seeds
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 2 tbsp black peppercorns
  • 2 bay leaves

Pierce the peppers all over a few times with the tip of a knife and pack them into a sterilised jar. Put the rest of the ingredients in a saucepan, bring to the boil then lower the heat and simmer for 5 minutes.

Pour the entire contents of the pan into the jar with the peppers until they are all covered with the pickling liquid, seal with a lid and leave to cool. When cooled store in the fridge. You are supposed to leave them for at least a week but we couldn’t wait that long.

Apparently they get better the longer you leave them but we served them to our friends the next day and they were really good. Jeanne is now known as The Chilli Queen.

Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Pretty Pickled Peppers Recipe”

  1. frugalfeeding September 5, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Those are gorgeous peppers – oh to bite into one of them 😀

  2. Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen September 5, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    I can see the appeal.. part of what I love about canning is how pretty and sparkling the jars look once they’re done up! And the crunch.. these look awesome!

  3. Three Well Beings September 6, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    I love peppers! These are so beautiful and I immediately thought how pretty they’d be as gifts! Right now the farmer’s markets are just brimming with beautiful peppers, so this gives me a lot of inspiration! Debra

  4. spree September 6, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Would you just look at that peck of pretty pickled peppers! Really beautiful Natalie and something I’d love to put in a jar (then pop in me mouth!) Lovely photography as always too!

  5. Marvie September 7, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    I’m also a sucker for pickled peppers! I always buy them, but homemade is always the best! I’ll try this one 😉

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth