Caribbean Chargrilled Sweetcorn

11 Aug

The sweetcorn plants that I walk past every morning with the dog are starting to show their sweet kernels, which means it must be nearly ready for harvesting.

This recipe could easily be adapted to suit a variety of different influences. I made it Caribbean because I have so many scotch bonnet chillis at the moment but I have also made a Thai version with birds-eye chilli, ginger, red curry paste and fresh coriander which is also fantastic.

You start by making a flavoured butter (or I used an olive oil spread) that you pack as much flavour into as possible. Then you remove the corn silk from inside the leaves, but keep the leaves on.

Smear the flavoured butter all over the sweetcorn kernels then cover them back up with the leaves. Heat up your griddle pan or barbecue to hot and cook for about 12 minutes rotating slightly, with tongs, every 3 minutes until all sides are cooked. The leaves with be blackened, you may need to open a window!

Caribbean Chargrilled Sweetcorn Recipe

Serves 2, vegan, gluten-free. Inspired by Como Water (Tiffany made a version using harissa paste which I will be trying out next time)

  • 2 ears of sweetcorn, with leaves still attached
  • about 3 tbsp olive oil spread (flora) or butter
  • 1 or 2 spring onions, finely chopped
  • 1 scotch bonnet chilli pepper, stemmed and finely chopped
  • 1 or 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  •  a small handful of fresh parsley, chopped (marjoram would be nice too, I couldn’t get any)
  • 1 sprig fresh thyme leaves, stripped
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice
  • a tiny pinch of ground cloves
  • the juice of half a lime
  • salt & black pepper

Remove the butter from the fridge to soften if using. Mix the olive oil spread (or butter) with the rest of the ingredients, except the corn and season with salt & pepper. Store, covered in the fridge until you are ready to use it.

Carefully peel back the leaves of the corn without removing them and pull off the corn silk (strands). Smear the flavoured spread all over the corn kernels and replace the leaves to cover the corn.

Heat your griddle pan or barbecue to hot and cook the corn in the leaves for about 3 minutes on each side, using tongs to turn them, 12 minutes in total.

Serve immediately sprinkled with a little more salt. 

I served mine with some of my homemade Scotch Bonnet Hot Pepper Sauce.

As I said before, adapt this recipe to suit your preferences or the style of meal you are planning. I would always start by adding spring onions, garlic, salt & pepper to the butter and then add…

Thai: minced ginger, chilli, red/green curry paste, fresh coriander, lime juice.

Mexican: cumin, oregano, fresh coriander, chipotle sauce, lime juice

Indian: garam masala (or curry paste), minced ginger, fresh coriander, chilli powder, lemon juice

Middle Eastern: cumin, coriander, cinnamon, fresh coriander, harissa paste, lemon juice

Cajun/Creole: paprika, cayenne, oregano, thyme, dried basil, white pepper, lemon juice

Italian: dried oregano, fresh basil, sundried tomatoes, dried chilli flakes

Greek: dried oregano, fresh mint, fresh thyme, crushed fennel seeds,cinnamon, black olives, lemon juice

Things That Made Me Smile Today……

Beautiful bright coloured gerberas……

And sunflowers reaching for the sky…..

Also, I have a new camera which I am very excited about. I will still be using my trusty point and shoot for when I’m walking the dog but I am using a “proper” SLR camera for my food pictures. Please bear with me as I have no idea what I’m doing and the instructions are in Spanish, which could take a while. 

I’m learning as I go and loving it, any advice?

21 Responses to “Caribbean Chargrilled Sweetcorn”

  1. Tes August 11, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Oh I love the sassy flavour added in the juicy sweet corn 🙂

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide August 11, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I love all the different varieties. Great pictures too as always. Although, I haven’t seen Rufus in a while, ha!

  3. tiffany August 11, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out! 😀 And your corn is gorgeous (as is your photography… as usual!). I can’t wait to see your pictures with your new camera! HUGS!

  4. Maris (In Good Taste) August 11, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous photos!

  5. Jean Farmer August 11, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Stunning photos, David Bailey has nothing on you !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. chicaandaluza August 11, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    I so look forward to your posts – both for the delicious recipes and the stunning photos. Can´t imagine the wonders you are going to serve up to us now with your new camera!

  7. Clarkie @ Beloved Green August 11, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    That corn looks absolutely breathtaking (and believe me, that is not normally how I would describe that veggie!)

  8. frugalfeeding August 11, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Looks awesome. Last summer me and my girlfriend were walking through fields full of fresh sweetcorn, and I’m not ashamed to say that we may have forcibly “alighted” a few. Woops. Delicious.

  9. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts August 11, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Corn sounds wonderful! We grew Scotch Bonnets years ago – after all your great recipes with them, I wish we grew them again this year!

  10. Liz August 11, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Stunning photos…and your corn sounds delicious~

  11. janet@fromcupcakestocaviar August 11, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    What a great use of fresh corn. I saw Tiffanys version when she posted it and now I am torn over which I would love to try more 😛

  12. happywhennothungry August 12, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    Wow I love all the seasonings on this corn! It looks fantastic. Beautiful photos too!

  13. Parsley Sage August 12, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    Your scotch bonnet looks perfect! So beautiful! I hope you wore your latex gloves when you sliced it up 🙂 Buzzed

  14. Dzenana August 12, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Yummmmy! I love corn, and thanks so much for providing those flavour combinations too!

  15. thefooddoctor August 12, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Oh the flavor variations!
    I can’t wait to try each and every one 🙂
    Congrats on your new camera 🙂 I got my first SLR a couple of months ago and I am still figuring out what to do

  16. Tres Chic Bellevue August 13, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    The corn looks so yummy. I am glad I found this blog, I’ll try the recipes.

  17. sarah August 13, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Oh I am so looking for sweet corn at tomorrow’s market…and then I am so busting out my griddle pan! These look and sound fantastic!!

  18. egb August 17, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    This sounds (and looks) awesome! Good one!

  19. adpraisal August 18, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    I love food that sounds this good and is healthy at the same time. Great photos too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Caribbean Sweet Potato Patties with Spicy Coconut and Spinach Sauce « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - August 31, 2012

    […] served this with a side of Caribbean Chargrilled Sweetcorn to carry on with the […]

  2. Smoky Double Corn Fritters with Guacamole – a savoury summery treat | food to glow - July 26, 2013

    […] Caribbean Chargrilled Sweetcorn (how good would this be with my Jerk Paneer And Vegetable Kebabs?!) via Natalie at Cook Eat Live Vegetarian Roasted Corn Pudding In Acorn Squash via Heidi at 101 Cookbooks Corn Relish via Elise at Simply Recipes Roasted Corn Chowder with Lime via Gluten-Free Goddess […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth