Spiced Cauliflower Fritters with Lemon Coriander Yoghurt Sauce

11 Jan

I’ve been watching these cauliflowers growing over the last couple of months and up until a week ago I thought they were cabbages. Suddenly the creamy white florets appeared and grew very quickly inside their leafy layers.

Cauliflower is one of those vegetables that I used to hate but now love, like aubergines. I think I had a bad cauliflower cheese experience at some point that put me off them for a long time.

These fritters are a cross between a bhaji, a pakora and a pancake really. It’s another recipe from the amazing Yotam Ottolenghi. I am slightly obsessed and am desperate to get to one of his restaurants one day. His vegetarian food is some of the best I have ever seen. The Middle Eastern/Mediterranean flavours are right up my street, bold, colourful and spicy.

Spiced Cauliflower Fritters with Coriander Lemon Yoghurt Sauce

Serves 4, vegetarian. Adapted from Ottolenghi The Cookbook

  • 1 small cauliflower, about 400 gr, in small florets
  • 120 gr flour (I used spelt)
  • 3 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 spring onions, chopped
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 500 ml sunflower oil for frying

For the Yoghurt Sauce

  • 300 ml Greek yoghurt
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped coriander
  • 1/2 lemon zest & juice
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp honey
  • salt & black pepper

Put all the ingredients for the sauce in a small bowl and mix well. Taste and adjust lemon & salt as required.

Add the florets to large pan of boiling salted water and cook for 15 minutes or until very soft then drain in a colander.

Meanwhile put the flour, chopped coriander, garlic, onions, eggs and spices in a bowl and whisk together. When smooth add the hot cauliflower and whisk together to break down the cauliflower into the batter. Taste and add more salt if necessary.

Heat the oil in a large frying pan or wok. When the oil is hot carefully add large spoonfuls of the batter to the oil (about 3 tbsp per fritter). Separate them with a metal spatula. Fry in small batches and turn the oil down slightly so they don’t burn. They should take about 2 minutes per side to be golden & crispy.

Remove and drain on kitchen paper and keep warm in a low oven while you cook the rest.

Serve hot with the yoghurt sauce and a few lemon wedges to spritz over.

This is food you eat with your fingers and make a mess with the sauce. Or is that just me?

21 Responses to “Spiced Cauliflower Fritters with Lemon Coriander Yoghurt Sauce”

  1. Taffy January 11, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    This should still be ok to cook with out the egg?

    • foodblogandthedog January 11, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      I don’t think so no. The egg creates the batter that holds them together, sorry!

      • jennifer November 20, 2012 at 1:38 am #

        hmmm, this looks great but I’m vegan. Ground flax seed makes a great egg substitute. Will try this and post afterward.
        yum

      • jennifer December 19, 2012 at 4:21 am #

        I made egg replacer with ground flax – 1 Tablespoon / 3 Tablespoon Hot Water per egg so 4T finely ground flax 12T hot water in a bowl. Wisk well and allow to sit 5 minutes before adding to the mix. They came out perfectly!!! Thank you so much for posting this–it is devine.

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide January 11, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    Those look amazing. I love cauliflower, but Katherine doesn’t. These might bring her around.

  3. Daily Dose of Fresh January 11, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    wow! they look divine. I have to make this, thanks for sharing the recipe. Your photo’s are beautiful.

  4. peasepudding January 12, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    I love cauli too, especially warm with capers and lemon. These look delicious! I wonder whether you bought or foraged for your cauli? ;0)

  5. Tamara January 12, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    I just read the title aloud and hubby says “that sounds good.” Now we HAVE to try it. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Chica Andaluza January 12, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Lovely Natalie – we love cauliflower and I often make something similar when I have a little left over cooked cauliflower. Big Man likes them with Miel de Caña but I think this dressing would be fantastic! Love your new header – the oranges are amazing right now aren´t they?

  7. frugalfeeding January 12, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    What an amazing thing to do with cauliflower – I;d never have thought of it. I’ve never been the biggest fan of that vegetable, but I think I’d devour those.

  8. Jenné @ Sweet Potato Soul January 12, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Thanks for the comment on my blog!
    I see you are into cauliflower now. These look so tasty : )

  9. Caroline January 13, 2012 at 12:30 am #

    Absolutely lovely, Natalie! These sound and look fantastic. Oh gosh, and that lemon yogurt sauce…mmm!

  10. Three Well Beings January 13, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    Very unique, at least to my experience. It sounds just great! Debra

  11. baobabs January 13, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    i’m a fan of cauliflower and this just makes it look and taste a whole lot better!!! and lemon yogurt sauce!!! YUM

  12. Suzi January 13, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    I love little fritters but never thought of using cauliflower. I have some cauliflower coming up in my garden. They are still quite small but sooo cute. I’ve no idea how long until they are ready. I planted them months ago. I keep watching and waiting. Have great weekend.

  13. Tammy January 15, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Cauliflower is my favorite and these sound amazing. Maybe next weekend.

  14. harvey January 18, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    I have been following your blog, but never knew what to comment except that all your recipes sound good and your fotos are beautiful and the dog looks very dashing! 🙂

    This recipe sounds good!

    I also used to hate cauliflowers as a kid, but at that time I used to hate all vegetables except for a few. Coming from a vegetarian family that is hard. I think I used to live on potatoes and peas.
    Anyway, now I like most of the vegetables, that is good, since I am a vegetarian. 😉

    There was a question by Taffy, if one can get away by use one egg only. I think (not know), if one adds chick pea flour or semolina, it may bind as well. I use them quite often as binding agents. The semolina makes it a bit more crispy. Sorry for boasting around! I’ll stop now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to stay interested in cooking healthy? | Journey to 75kg - March 7, 2012

    […] Spiced Cauliflower Fritters with Coriander Lemon Yoghurt Sauce (vegetarian – should be fine to adapt to gluten-free) […]

  2. Sweet Potato and Feta Cigars with Tahini Yoghurt Sauce « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - October 31, 2012

    […] You can serve it just as a dip with flatbreads or raw veggies, or I have served it with these Cauliflower Fritters, these Baked Falafel Cakes and these Muhammara (Roasted Red Pepper & Walnut) Cigars […]

  3. 2012 in Review & A Celebratory Indian Cauliflower Fritter | life through the kitchen window - January 8, 2013

    […] four. This recipe is very lightly adapted from the lovely blog Cook Eat Live Vegetarian, and Natalie adapted it from Ottolenghi – The Cookbook. Trust me, you don’t need to […]

  4. Holidays. Thoughts. Thick Thick Yoghurt: How to make | A Life (Time) of Cooking - May 31, 2014

    […] Spiced Cauliflower Fritters with Lemon Coriander Yoghurt Sauce (foodblogandthedog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth