Homemade Aloe Vera Moisturising Gel and Some Exciting News!

4 Feb

The aloe vera plants on our roof terrace are out of control. They are in fairly small pots and they seem to produce new leaves overnight. So many leaves that the pots are actually splitting. The Washer Up decided to cut them back today which meant we had carrier bags full of aloe vera leaves.

It seemed such a shame to throw them all away so I did a google search to see how difficult it would be to make some aloe vera moisturiser. After all I buy aloe vera face cream from Mercadona. It turns out that it is really easy (if a little messy). All you do is blend the fresh aloe gel with some sweet almond oil (that you can get from the pharmacy) and there you have it. Your own 100% natural aloe vera  moisturising gel.

It admitedly looks a little bit like snot but disappears into your skin really quickly and leaves it feeling, soft, smooth and nourished. The Washer Up’s hands are reaping the benefits and I can defintely see the difference in my face.

Homemade Aloe Vera Moisturising Gel

Makes 1 jam jar.

  • about 200 gr aloe vera gel  (I used about 4 big leaves)
  • 1 or 2 tsp sweet almond oil
  • a few drops of your favourite essential oil if you want it to be scented (optional)

You  may want to use gloves and protect the worksurface with a plastic bag or something.

The aloe starts to oxidise (turn red) quickly once it is cut so you have to do it straight away.

Split the aloe leaves down the middle, open them out and scrape the slimy gel out onto the scales with a teaspoon.

When you have about 200 gr tip into a bowl or blender with 1 or 2 teaspoons of almond oil and blend until smooth and slimy.

Tip into a sterilised jar and keep in a cool place (my bathroom is freezing) or in the fridge in summer.

This can be used as a face, hand and body moisturiser but it is also excellent for burns, sunburn, skin irritations and mosquito bites.

Things That Made Me Smile Today…….

The almond blossom is really early this year because of the mild weather we have been having up until this weekend which has been freezing cold. I love the candy floss trees with their barely pink delicate blooms. It is one of my favourite things about living here, it signifies that spring is not too far away.

I have some very exciting news to tell you. Next week we will be going to Cape Town. As many of you will already know, my Dad lives there so we are primarily going to see him but also….

We are going for three weeks, during which time I will be travelling around the Cape eating in some of the best and most popular restaurants the region has to offer.

I am a contributor to Getaway Magazine which has won South African Travel Blog of the year for two years running. They recently held an award ceremony of their own in Cape Town (which my dad attended on my behalf) and to my complete surprise I won the award for best food blog!!

I will be compiling a list of the best restaurants for vegetarian food (not vegetarian restaurants) in the area with reviews, recommendations, and a Vegetarian Culinary Journey Route.

We  start the tour in Cape Town then move on to Knysna, Plettenberg Bay, Montagu, Robertson, Franschhoek, Stellenbosch and then back to Cape Town again.

We have lunch and dinner booked in a different restaurant every day. Such is the quality and choice of fabulous restaurants out there, there are still quite a few that I won’t have time to get to unfortunately.

I will be taking my camera to photograph the restaurants and food and will hopefully be posting a quick photo daily just to let you know where we are and what we’ve eaten.

I have also asked if the chefs in these gorgeous restaurants would be willing to share the recipe for one of  their favourite vegetarian dishes for me to recreate when I return home.

I have already received some fantastic recipes for such delights as, Goats Cheese & Beetroot Lollipops from Peter Tempelhoff, winner of award for Best Chef 2011. Peter is Executive Chef for three of the best restaurants in South Africa including The Greenhouse, winner of the award for Best Restaurant 2011.

As you can probably tell I can’t wait to get started. We leave on Tuesday, arrive on Wednesday morning and have lunch booked at Harbour House at The Waterfront in Cape Town.

For dinner we have reservations at The Mount Nelson Hotel’s restaurant Planet. The Mount Nelson (or Nellies as it is affectionately known) is a local institution famous for their afternoon tea. The Planet chef, Rudi Leibenberg has had the foresight and invention to create a four and six course vegan tasting menu. Yes, a vegan tasting menu! It must be the first one ever.

I will let you know the rest of our itinerary when we get there. But until then I’ve got some ironing and packing to be getting on with…

29 Responses to “Homemade Aloe Vera Moisturising Gel and Some Exciting News!”

  1. Mandy Vellacott February 4, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    We have loads of Aloe vera and I always keep some handy for burns etc but hadnt considered making a moisturiser. I shall be using this on my clients in future (although might not dwell on the fact it looks like snot!!!)
    We will miss your recipes so hurry back with loads to pass on – and eat a nice meal each day for one of us by proxy!!!
    xxx

  2. Chica Andaluza February 4, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    I am so excited for you – you get to see your Dad, be in SA AND eat all that amazing food! Have a wonderful and safe trip Natalie, we´re looking forward to reading all about it. PS. Am jealous about your Aloe Vera. mine all seems to have died off and I thought it was impossible to kill it (I blame the cold!).

  3. Marina@cowboycountryvegetarian February 4, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I use just plain Aloe Vera, but refrigerate leaves wrapped in foil for two weeks. Then I cut a small piece, open it lengthwise and apply to my face. Perfect moisturiser.

  4. thekalechronicles February 4, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Lovely spring blossoms, Natalie, and useful aloe vera cream. Enjoy your trip — I’ll look forward to the recipes you bring back.

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide February 4, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    I’m not surprised at all. You have a great blog. Can’t wait to read about your adventures.

  6. Andrew Sloan February 4, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Sounds a great trip. We got engaged at a camp-site in Plettenburg Bay so when I hear that name, fond memories……….Nice wine in S.Africa as well.

  7. Tammy February 4, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Congratulations on the award. I’m not at all surprised and so happy for you. And I also have a ton of aloe so shall be mixing it with almond oil!

  8. Three Well Beings February 4, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Natalie this is indeed very exciting! Woo-hoo! And I look forward to what you’ll be sharing with us from your extraordinary journey! I immediately opened your post from my phone to see what you were going to say about Aloe…I told you we have the same climate! I have so much aloe vera growing in my backyard right now I was starting to think I’d need to toss some…seriously! It has gone absolutely crazy, and I never even thought to google possibilities. I can see why you’ve been given this wonderful award…you are a tremendous resource. Have a great time and take more wonderful photos. Debra

  9. Kim Bee February 5, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    Such a great way to use your aloe plant. Love it. A friend of mine growing up had a huge one in her house and her mom always used it for burns and such. How exciting to be going to Cape Town. I cannot wait to see the posts. Have fun with your dad.

  10. Isabelle @ Crumb February 5, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    How exciting! SA is on my list of places I’d like to visit someday… lucky you, to have so many great reasons to visit. 🙂
    I’m also quite jealous of your aloe plants. Oh, how I wish it was warm and sunny enough here to grow them outdoors… I’ve tried indoors, but they never thrive enough for me to feel safe harvesting the leaves. 😦

  11. peasepudding February 5, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Have a fabulous trip Nat and enjoy all the food. I look forward to hearing about your adventures.

  12. dassana February 5, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    thats great natalie… i will be looking forward to your adventures in sa.

    congratulations on the award…..

    at my mom’s place they intake the white pulp before eating anything else in the morning. good for curing bone related problems.

  13. Tony Ward February 5, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    “all my bags are packed, I’m ready to go” etc. etc. Peter Paul and Mary, circa 1964 +/-.
    This looks great and we also fall over them here in S.A. infact there is a HUGE Aloe shop/factory/exhibition place next to the game reserve you are booked in at, on the way to Knysna. (1001 things to do with an Aloe plant !!)
    Hasta Miercoles guapiton. xx

  14. Medeja February 5, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    What a great thing that you can make at home! I have never thought of that..

  15. Margarita February 5, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    I could not wait until Monday to buy the almond oil, so I made it with olive oil and it works! Thanks Natalie, well done and have a great trip in SA, both of you.

    • foodblogandthedog February 5, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Really! I’ll definitely try it with some of your lovely olive oil next time!

  16. Vera February 5, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Welcome to the wonderful Cape Town…my home!Cannot wait to read about the restaurants you visit as well as trying your inspiring recipes.If you feel like a quick dosa do try Masala Dosa in Long Street.
    Congratulations on your award.
    Safe travels and scrumptious eating.

    • foodblogandthedog February 6, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      Might have to sneak a little breakfast dosa! Thanks for the recommendation Vera.

  17. therecanbeonlyjuan February 5, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    I’ve been using Nat’sure’s aloe vera gel ever since I was a chef. Back then it was for burns in the kitchen, but these days it’s a fantastic moisturiser when you don’t want something too heavy in this South African heat that clogs your pores.
    It’s never occurred to me to try making my own, so thanks for a cool recipe!

  18. magicofspice February 6, 2012 at 3:47 am #

    This is great, I have a few plants and will try this out!
    Wishing you a wonderful and safe trip 🙂

  19. Tes February 6, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    I really love to try the aloe vera gel, it sounds fantastic. Congrats on the exciting news! I can’t wait to hear more about it 🙂

  20. Caroline February 6, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Homemade aloe!? That’s too cool, Natalie, I’m so impressed. Congrats on all the good news. Hope you have a great time in Cape Town. I can’t wait to hear all about it/ see photos. 🙂

  21. sarah February 6, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Love this idea! Now if only I could get my hands on some fresh aloe…

    Have a fantastic trip! I can’t wait to read all about it!!

  22. Virginia February 9, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    Tea at the Mt. Nelson is one of the most memorable Food Joys of my 4 years in Africa! Was so blessed to visit Cape Town (& environs) several times, including a week celebrating Christmas in Franschhoek – AMAZING Food & Hospitality – but don’t forget all the Fabulous WINE & the beautiful wineries along the way (trust me, we visited 14 wineries in one week…& on another visit our Stellenbosch days coincided with their annual wine festival with 90 wineries giving tastings in One Place. Very Beautiful Wine!)

    Looking so forward to your traveling posts – have a Grand Time (& don’t forget to enjoy The Wine! : )

  23. Rhea April 17, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    Can i substitute the almond oil for coconut oil or olive oil?What is the almond oil for?

    • Natalie Ward April 17, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

      Yes you can, coconut oil would be nice, just melt it first if it’s solid. The oil just loosens the aloe gel a bit and makes it easier to use.

  24. aloe vera plant care June 14, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

    I love natural aloe-vera juice of gel for sunburn treatment,
    and I also think it is makes a great skin protector to use after shaving or
    on dry patches of skin. Due that the the Aloe Vera
    contains much water you will need to take this fact into mind when choosing the soil composite.

    If that you do not clean up after you’re harvest, you’ll
    be sorry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Featured Friday: Foodblogandthedog | Mouseblossom - February 17, 2012

    […] like for dinner, which is what I do, or try anyway). Sometimes, she just throws in a recipe for homemade Aloe Vera moisturising gel, how good is that. And at this moment, they’re enjoying the local cuisine in South Afrika! […]

  2. Know How To Make Aloe Vera Gel At Home! - July 4, 2014

    […] foodblogandthedog  & lovetoknow […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth