Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread

4 Oct

Sorry it has taken me a few days to get around to posting this recipe but I went out for Sunday lunch to Santiago’s with my friend Stacey and it turned into one of those long lunches that last all day, you know the type, very nice it was too. And Monday is The Washer Up’s only day off so no blogging happens on a Monday.

One of the fields I walk past every morning is this large field of sweetcorn. It was ripe and ready to harvest at least a month ago but it has been left to dry out completely.

I can’t believe that someone would leave a whole field of sweetcorn to rot so I am presuming that they are drying it out so that it can be ground into corn flour.

Let’s talk about the different types of corn flour and their uses. These are the three types that I use regularly.

The one on the left is really fine ground white corn flour, also known as corn starch. Mainly used as a thickener for soups, stews and sauces it has the consistency of baking powder or icing sugar. It is also used a lot in Chinese cooking. They roll the meat in it before frying to make it crispier and it also thickens the sauce at the same time.

The one in the middle is precooked white corn flour (I buy this in Mercadona). It is a South American product I use to make arepas which are small bread like pancakes I serve with these South American Bean Burgers instead of a bun. It is courser ground than corn flour but finer than polenta. I used this to make my cornbread and I use it a lot instead of breadcrumbs as a gluten-free binding agent for all sorts of  things like these corn cakes.

The one on the right is polenta, also known as cornmeal or grits. There are different size grounds of polenta. You can use it to make wet polenta with stock or milk or then bake or fry it in slices. Either way make sure you add lots of flavour too it. I also use polenta as a gluten-free breading agent instead of breadcrumbs to give something a crispy coating or topping. Like in these fried green tomatoes.

The field next to the sweetcorn has these courgettes growing in it. I have had this recipe for Zucchini Cornbread for a while and this felt like the perfect time to make it.

As I said above I used the cornflour in the middle of the picture, the South American precooked Arepa flour to make this because I thought it would be lighter but the original recipe used polenta/cornmeal. The recipe uses half cornflour and half normal flour and the bread turned out to be very light and soft. The Washer Up said the texture was like a Madeira cake!

All the recipes I looked at for cornbread used both flours, I wanted to make a gluten-free version just using the cornflour but as this was my first attempt I followed the recipe. I will definitely try it next time though.

Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread

Makes 1 small loaf, vegetarian. Adapted from Curry & Comfort

Wet Ingredients:

  • 220 ml (1 cup) milk (I used goat’s milk)
  • 100 gr (1 cup) grated courgette/zucchini
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 large onion, finely chopped
  • 55 ml (1/4 cup) olive oil
  • 2 green chillis/jalapenos, finely chopped

Dry Ingredients:

  • 190 gr (1  1/4 cups) cornflour (arepa flour) or polenta/cornmeal
  • 150 gr plain flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried chilli flakes
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric (for colour) not necessary if you are using polenta/cornmeal
  • 1 few sprigs of fresh thyme leaves removed
  • 60 gr (1 cup) grated cheese (I used Manchego & Red Leicester) plus extra for topping

Preheat oven to 180 C. Put all the wet ingredients in one bowl and whisk together well. Sieve the 2 flours into another bowl and add the rest of the dry ingredients to that bowl, mix well.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until just combined, do not over mix or it will be tough.

Oil and flour a loaf tin or baking dish (or line with baking paper). Tip the batter into the loaf tin/baking dish and even out the top.

Bake for 30 minutes then remove from the oven and sprinkle over a thin layer of grated cheese. Return to the oven for 5 minutes or until a cocktail stick stuck in the middle comes out clean. Leave to cool slightly before removing from the tin.

Slice and serve warm or at room temperature.

I served it with my Pisto Con Huevos

It would also be the perfect accompaniment to this Caribbean Chilli or this Chilli Sin Carne Soup or this Mexican Squash Chilli. Take your pick…

37 Responses to “Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread”

  1. Tes October 4, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Your cornbread looks really amazing! I really love to try this recipe. The color is so beautiful and lovely 🙂

  2. Savorique October 4, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Great cross section photos of the bread! I’m confident the gluten-free version will end up as good…

  3. Mandy Vellacott October 4, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Great looking bread – am going to try the “all corn meal” version – will let you know how I get on (or maybe NOT depending on the result!). Off to Santiago’s later – hope to see “The washer up”! x

  4. Tony Ward October 4, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Looks great princess and probably a great hangover cure with the pisto con huevos…no ??
    They must have something in mind for the drying corn >>>SURELY ?? xx

  5. johnson October 4, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    this looks really nice but where you can you get the arepa flour in england? I looked last time I made your bean burgers but couldn’t find it.

    Please help!!!

    • foodblogandthedog October 4, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      I don’t know where you are but try looking out for Latin American or Caribbean speciality food shops or mini markets. And I’m sure there must be a Latin American food supplier online, good luck!

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide October 4, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Very cool, I’ve been waiting for this one! I love the recipe and the tutorial.

  7. Kelly October 4, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Oh wow this looks SO delicious! What a great twist on classic cornbread, yum! 🙂

  8. Cynthia Reavis October 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    This looks delicious! I’m going to North Carolina next week and am going to take this recipe with me to make for my Dad. Can’t wait!

  9. ceciliag October 4, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I need to go and get some polenta first then i also shall be making this. Around here it is all cornfields and they wait until the corn is bone dry and all the stalk and leaf is absolutely bleached before harvesting. So it does not rot in the bins. They also often have to put it into big bin blow driers to get it even drier. c

  10. Caroline October 4, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Can’t get much fresher than that…corn and zucchini straight from the crop. Love the idea of adding these flavors to the average cornbread. Looks delicious!

  11. Veronica Gantley October 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    What a great idea to add zucchini to cornbread! Love the photos!

  12. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts October 4, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Zucchini added to corn bread is such a wonderful idea! I would love to try the all corn meal version!

  13. Steph@stephsbitebybite October 5, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Love this!! Why have I never thought to make cornbread in a loaf pan! DUH!!

  14. Carolyn October 5, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    I certainly do hope that the field of corn is drying out and not rotting! Your pictures of zucchini make me jealous as we got a single zuch out of our garden this year. But your bread is just gorgeous!

  15. Jessica October 5, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    Thank you for explaining the difference between corn flours. I understand better now!

    Your photos are gorgeous. I get hungry just looking at them!

    (Celi sent me. 😉 )

  16. Suzi October 5, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    This corn bread looks delicious and I want to try one of your chilis also. YUm!

  17. chicaandaluza October 5, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Gorgeous recipe and I love all the info on the cornfloir. I´ve always been a bit confused! The corn may be drying for corn oil or for animal feed. Ours this year wasn´t great for eating, so we´re drying it for our lucky chickens.

  18. peasepudding October 6, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    The bread looks great, I like the addition of courgettes to give it colour and texture. I looked at those Courgette flowers and knew if I was passing I would have done a little foraging :0) it’s not something you can buy here and I have always wanted to make stuffed flowers.

  19. Ramona October 7, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Wow!!! I came over here and was drooling over your cornbread. I jumped for joy when I realized that you adapted this recipe from Curry and Comfort! It looks absolutely amazing. Have a great weekend. ~ Ramona

  20. Beth Michelle October 8, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    So happy to finally see this recipe. I cannot wait to try it! Looks and sounds amazing. I love all the flavors you have going on in it!

  21. safari masai mara August 23, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    Awesome. Cheers for your points on the site Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian, they are highly
    important.. I appreciated checking out your article.
    .

  22. OrganisedPauper July 8, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Hi, when you hit the print button for this recipe it prints out all the comments too. That’s a lot of paper.

    • Natalie Ward July 8, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

      Bit late now sorry but if you highlight just the recipe, click print then chose “selection” it will just print what you have highlighted 🙂

  23. judyhavens August 9, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    This looks delicious! I have some Pan in the cabinet just waiting for something like this!
    Two small questions, though….you said “150 gr plain flour.” Would you mind converting that to cups for me? And by “plain” do you mean all-purpose flour, or bread flour?
    Thank you! I’m looking forward to trying this! I’m sure it will be a hit!

    • Natalie Ward August 12, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      Sorry for tardy respone! All purpose flour is fine, 150 g is 1 cup of flour, enjoy!

      • judyhavens August 13, 2013 at 2:24 am #

        Thank you very much!

  24. Sonya September 2, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

    I’ve made this twice now and we just keep on loving it even more 🙂 I’ve used a regular loaf pan aswell as mini loaf pans to make this..works both ways just fine. The bread is moist,delicious and LOVE the kick from the green chilies! thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simple Corn Bread | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide - October 9, 2011

    […] to Sweet Pea’s for her savory southwestern version. Cook, Eat, Live Vegetarian has a great zucchini green chili cornbread. She also has a wonderful tutorial on corn […]

  2. Smoky Turkey & Sausage Chili with Jalapeño & Zucchini Cornbread « Saucy & Bossy - October 10, 2011

    […] cornbread was something from Cook Live Eat Vegetarian, by way of The Kitchn. It gave me an opportunity to use a spare zucchini we had on hand as well as […]

  3. Italian Courgette Crostata with Goat’s Cheese, Garlic and Basil « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - October 11, 2012

    […] certain times of the year so maybe, like me,  you could have a go at making this deliciously light Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread or these very moreish Baked Zucchini Fries as […]

  4. Farmer's Market Recipes - July 31, 2013

    […]  Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread via Cook Eat Live Vegetarian […]

  5. Farmer's Market Friday: Zucchini | Pocket Change Gourmet - August 5, 2013

    […] Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread […]

  6. Shak In Style » A to Z(ucchini) - August 20, 2013

    […] Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread. […]

  7. Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread | Sweet Dreams Creations - August 21, 2013

    […] Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread adapted from Cook Eat Live Vegetarian […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth