Rosemary and Garlic Baked Camembert with Honey Glazed Pear and Almonds

17 Apr

This dish was inspired by a picnic lunch we enjoyed at the Bramon Wine Estate just outside Plettenberg Bay. Bramon Wine Estate is a boutique vineyard and it is the first and only Estate that far East of the Western Cape.

Their flagship Sauvignon Blanc wine is called The Crags which is the name of the “town” where the Wine Estate is situated. You couldn’t really call it a town though. It consists of a petrol station and a shop. Which is why it is such a pleasant surprise to find this beautiful place just off the main road. They also have two sparkling Sauvignon Blanc Cap Classiques. I went for the 2008 sparkling ” a  refreshingly clean palate with vibrant mousse and an exciting, limey, zesty lingering finish”. It was one of the best sparkling wines I have tried in a long time.

So I had another glass. As you do.

In the summer they offer a picnic lunch amongst the vines. It is a really special feeling to be drinking the wine that is growing all around you. It is a relaxed, informal dining experience (in a really good way). You order your drinks and then get a list of the foods available. You trick the boxes next to what you would like to order and then give it back to the very capable waiting staff. Sit back relax, enjoy your drink and the beautiful surroundings while your picnic is freshly prepared for you.

We chose the mini baked camembert with honey figs and nuts, a beautiful plaited bread with rosemary and sea salt, green fig preserve, avocado and parmesan crisp salad, fresh pesto with mixed herbs and almonds, sundried tomatoes and a creamy hummus.

There is a monkey park and a bird sanctuary very near to the Wine Estate, so in a very organised fashion we went to Bramon in the morning to book a nice table in the vines for lunch at 1pm and then went off to Monkeyland for the rest of the morning. You get a guided walking tour around the forest that is very informative for kids and adults. More than 450 primates live and free-roam around the forest. It is an amazing feeling to be that close to so many different types of monkeys and lemurs that are living in a natural habitat. 

After lunch we went to Birds of Eden which is the largest free flight bird aviary in the world. It is a great way to spend a a couple of hours, there are 3500 birds out in the open. You walk up wooden walkways that snake their way through ruins and waterfalls up into the canopy of the trees. It is a stunning place.

And again you get so close to them.

Monkeyland and Birds of Eden are next to each other so you can buy combination tickets for both, which is what we did. With an excellent lunch at Bramon in between of course. Which brings me back to the food.

I contacted Bramon to get the recipes for the baked camembert and the rosemary plaited bread. The gave me the camembert but then told me that the bread recipe was a secret! I can understand it of course, it was very good.

So I made my own version of the bread using spelt flour which I flavoured with roasted garlic and rosemary. It was lovely, especially dipped into the oozing  baked camembert.

I will give you the bread recipe in my next post but for now here’s the baked camembert. I used pears rather than figs because figs aren’t in season here yet and I had some in my fruit bowl.

 I also studded the cheese with sliced garlic and rosemary sprigs before baking it because we used to serve it like that when it was on the menu at the restaurant. It’s something I saw Jamie Oliver do somewhere that makes such a difference to the flavour.

Rosemary & Garlic Baked Camembert with Honey Glazed Pear & Almonds

serves 2, vegetarian, gluten-free

Prep time: 5 mins Cooking time: 30-35 mins

  • 1 boxed camembert (250 gr) wooden box is best but card is fine
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and finely sliced
  • a few tops of fresh rosemary
  • olive oil

Preheat the oven to 180C, remove the paper wrapping from around the cheese and put it back in the box. Make little slits all over the top of the cheese with a sharp knife and push in the slices of garlic and rosemary tops.

Drizzle with a little olive oil and bake for 30-35 minutes until soft and melting inside. Meanwhile make the honeyed pear and almonds.

Honey Glazed Pear & Almonds

serves 2, vegetarian, gluten-free

  • 1 pear, cored and sliced into 12 wedges
  • a squeeze of lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp finely chopped fresh rosemary
  • a drizzle of olive oil
  • a handful of whole toasted almonds (I used salted)
  • salt & black pepper
  • about 1 tbsp honey (rosemary honey if possible)

Toss all the ingredients apart from the honey together in a small bowl until evenly coated. Heat up a small frying pan over a medium high heat and throw in the pear & almond mix. Brown/caramelise slightly on both sides before adding the honey and stir to coat the pears.

Cook until the pears are soft but not mushy and remove from the heat.

Serve the warm honey glazed pear and almonds with the baked camembert and a nice bread for dipping. Or wait for my Roasted Garlic & Rosemary Braided Spelt Loaf in my next post…

For more information about the Bramon Wine Estate visit their webste here.

Enjoy!!

25 Responses to “Rosemary and Garlic Baked Camembert with Honey Glazed Pear and Almonds”

  1. frugalfeeding April 17, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    anything with rosemary and garlic as a flavouring is to-die-for in my opinion. This looks utterly delicious. I’m so envious of your photos.

  2. travelswithmyknifeandfork April 17, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    This looks fantastic! I’ve just discovered your blog and it’s full of inspiration for a fellow foodie vegatable lover! Looking forward to future posts.

  3. travelswithmyknifeandfork April 17, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    Or even vegEtable!

  4. Chica Andaluza April 17, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    I loved baked camembert and become ridiculously greedy when I make it. This looks so good but I am still chukling over the monkey with the crazy eyes!

  5. Renee @ Tortillas and Honey April 17, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    This looks so incredibily delicious! The flavors combine beautifully, I’m going to save this recipe! Also, wonderful pictures!

  6. Smallpeace April 17, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Thank you for the beautiful, if momentary, escape. I loved this post. Delicious!

  7. Lucy April 17, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    This looks absolutely fabulous! I wish I could just reach into the screen and grab it

  8. Kiri W. April 18, 2012 at 3:54 am #

    Ooooh yum! I loove baked cammembert, and this recipe looks to die for.
    Gorgeous photographs!

  9. Just A Smidgen April 18, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    I love this! Your photos of the camembert with the pretty pear slices over top! Your wine tour reminded me of our trip to Napa a year ago.. one of my favorite places ever! I can’t wait to see your bread recipe!! xo Smidge

  10. Conor Bofin April 18, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    Fantastic. I cooked a leg of lamb this way (without the pears) at the weekend. I post it tomorrow evening. While it was excellent, I can taste the cheese with that combination. It must be excellent. When the figs are back in, I may just give this a go, if my arteries can handle it.
    Best,
    Conor

  11. dassana April 18, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    such a nice outing and lovely pics natalie…. the bread is looking too good.

    • Pat Ward April 18, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      one of my favourite nibbles, baked camembert and healthy peppers, celery to dip!!

  12. mitzi's foodoo April 18, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    looks beautiful and dangerously delicious! 🙂

  13. SuI April 18, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Oh I love baked cheeses and this recipe sounds and looks delicious. Honey glazed pears and almonds, wonderful.

  14. Three Well Beings April 19, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    What a perfect day! The winery sounds just lovely, as does the wine you chose. The description of the sparkling wine was just exquisite. Animals, birds, picnics…all so lovely. I think everything about this recipe is just about perfect to fit my tastes. I do a lot of informal entertaining, and I’m always looking for something that just fits in nicely with some good conversation, wine and music. This would be perfect. I’ll be really interested in your bread recipe, too! Thank you. Debra

  15. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide April 19, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    Wow, that looks absolutely amazing. Such great photos all around.

  16. peasepudding April 19, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Wow Nat, that looks incredible, you are taking such beautiful pics lately, very mouth watering. I have two homemade Camembert in the fridge and one is going to become this dish over weekend. Thanks.

  17. kellieanderson April 19, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    I do the garlic and rosemary (and soak in white wine too) trick too, and we dip in boiled potatoes or fresh bread, and weirdly, radishes. BUT you have taken it to another level with the pears and almonds. Spectacular! And the view from the restaurant patio looks stunning. Sometimes simple is best.

  18. Tammy April 20, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    That looks tremendous and as always, your photos are amazing!

  19. Starr April 23, 2012 at 3:41 am #

    Oh, this sounds really amazing! I frequently drizzle Brie with truffled honey & almonds, but haven’t yet tried it with Camembert. The cheese/honey/garlic/pear combo is perfect!

  20. Beth Michelle April 25, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Oh my! Now that Im pregnant you for sure need to move in with me and cook for me everyday! There is absolutely nothing about this I dont LOVE! There is a restaurant that I love in Jerusalem that have a baked Camembert with rosted garlic and honey that I order all the time but the glazed pears and rosemary must be amazing additions as well.

    • foodblogandthedog April 25, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      I would love to! I have never been to Israel and know that I would love the food, so it’s a deal!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Garlic and Rosemary Spelt Flour Braid Loaf « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - April 20, 2012

    […] here it is, as promised, the recipe for the Garlic & Rosemary Braid that I made to go with the Baked Camembert with Honey Glazed Pear & Almonds in my last […]

  2. Spiced Cauliflower and Red Onion Savoury Picnic Cake « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - April 23, 2012

    […] The first at The Roundhouse overlooking the stunning coastline around Camps Bay. The second at Bramon Wine Estate just outside Plettenberg Bay where our table sat amongst the Sauvignon Blanc vines. And the third at […]

  3. Piccolo Tesoro Goat’s Cheese, Fig and Rocket Spelt Pizza « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - April 29, 2012

    […] exactly how I like them. Green fig preserve is used a lot in South Africa, we also had it at our picinic at Bramon Wine Estate with the baked camembert. It is made with unripe […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth