A Really Good Hummus Recipe

9 May

At last, I’ve found an authentic tasting hummus recipe that comes somewhere close to replicating the gorgeous hummus at my favourite Lebanese restaurants. Sure, I can make a half decent tasty hummus, have been making it for years, but I have never been to get anywhere near to the creamy smooth addictiveness of the professionals. Until now that is.

The purists out there are going to say that it’s not authentic because I didn’t use dried chickpeas that I soaked overnight. They would be right and next time I will. If I remember. That’s the problem you see, I am never that organised. I have the best of intentions but it never seems to happen.

That is what is so great about this recipe, it is fabulous even if you don’t do the soaking overnight thing. The secret to the smooth and creaminess is that you rub the skins off of the chickpeas. I’d never heard of that before. It makes such a difference to the texture and flavour of the finished product. It is lighter in colour, much creamier, smoother and less bitter. It is a little bit of a faff but so worth it for the end result, I promise.

Hummus Bi Tahine (Chickpeas with Tahini) Recipe

Serves 3-4 as a snack, vegan, gluten-free. Adapted from Desert Candy

Prep time: 20-25 mins with cooked chickpeas. If using dried chickpeas see the original recipe here

  • 1 tin/jar (400 gr) cooked chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 4 tbsp tahini
  • 4 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • olive oil, cumin, sesame seeds to serve

Place the drained and rinsed chickpeas in a saucepan and cover them with water by at least an inch. Gently rub the chickpeas against each other with your hands in the pan. Do this for a few minutes. Skim off any visible skins from the top.

Bring to a boil then lower the heat and simmer for about 15 minutes until the chickpeas are very soft. Check by squishing one between your fingers, it should squish very easily. Remove from the heat and skim off any more visible skins but keep the cooking liquid as you will need it later.

 I actually removed the chickpeas from the cooking liquid with a slotted spoon and slipped any remaining skins off of the chickpeas. Fiddly but worth it.

Place the garlic and salt in a mortar and pestle and smush to a paste (you can also do this in a mini chopper). Add the tahini & lemon juice to a processor with the garlic & salt paste and blend until smooth and light coloured. Then add the skinned chickpeas and blend until very smooth. Thin the hummus to the desired consistency with the cooking liquid a tablespoon at a time. Taste and season with more salt as required.

To serve, swirl the hummus onto a deep plate or shallow bowl, drizzle with a little olive oil. Finish with a sprinkling of cumin/paprika and a few sesame seeds.

Use warmed flatbreads, raw carrots, salted crisps (so wrong but so right) or even clean fingers when you run out of everything else, to carry the hummus to your happy mouth and smile.

38 Responses to “A Really Good Hummus Recipe”

  1. ceciliag May 9, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    I make hummus at least once a week but I am thrilled to learn this new trick, the rubbing. I will try it today and send this to my daughter in law who is a hummus fan too.. thank you.. c

    • tony ward May 9, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

      mmmmm, sounds and looks fabulous guapa. FAFF (ing) and SMUSH are we rewriting the Oxford Dictionary dahling ??? Ill give it a try, just need to find someone to skin the peas for me. xx

      I’ll have a goo

  2. thekalechronicles May 9, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    I like it that you use cooking water instead of sloshing in the olive oil. I might try this. I might even remove the chickpea skins.

  3. frugalfeeding May 10, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    That looks delicious. I know about the whole rubbing thing, but it’s a pain in the arse. Besides, I like the texture. I guess it’s about what one likes, it does sound absolutely delicious though… I’m just a lazy sod.

  4. Isabelle @ Crumb May 10, 2012 at 1:24 am #

    Ah ha! So THAT’s the secret to smooth hummus… I always did wonder why I could never get mine to come out with that silky texture the restaurant stuff has.
    (Though now that I know, I’m not sure I can be bothered to rub the skin off chickpeas unless it’s a special occasion. My desire for instant gratification far outweighs my desire for creamy hummus. 🙂 )

  5. veggiegrettie May 10, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    I can’t wait to try this technique with my hummus recipes. I bet this will elevate my dessert hummus to a new level…smooth as silk.

    Thanks so much for the tip!!!

  6. Three Well Beings May 10, 2012 at 5:48 am #

    I have to be honest that I’ve only made hummus a few times, but I almost always have some on-hand. The rubbing “technique” is great…never would consider that, but I can see how it plays into the smoothness. I spent today at the hospital with a loved one, and had to get food from the hospital cafeteria. I came back to the room with a little bowl of hummus and some pretzels. That was lunch! I love this recipe. I could eat bowls of good hummus 🙂 Thank you! Debra

  7. Samantha May 10, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    I never would have thought the skins made that much difference! I don’t mind the texture, but now I’m curious how much smoother the hummus would be with this technique.

  8. Sawsan@ Chef in disguise May 10, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    I have tried to make hummus at home but it was never close to the stuff you get in restaurants, I can’t wait to try this new trick
    Thank you so much for sharing

  9. peasepudding May 10, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    You say your not organised but I am too lazy to rub the skin off the chickpeas. Certainly looks creamy and beautiful too. I must make some, I always have tinned chick peas lurking inthe pantry

  10. Chica Andaluza May 10, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Great tip – and I didn´t realise that cooked chick peas would continue to soften with further cooking. We get all these warnings from the experts who say you should not stop the cooking process or they will never soften! Sounds lovely, I adore hummus.

  11. April May 10, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    lovely photos and a very interesting technique i will have to try sometime

  12. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 11, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    You are too humble. I have a feeling this is way beyond really good.

  13. musingmar May 11, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Oh goodness, my mouth watered when I saw that glorious photo. I must make this!

    • tony ward May 11, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

      I’m making the hummus AND the spelt/fruit/nuts scones tomorrow. Martha WHO ?? xx

  14. Niki, unifiedspace May 14, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Oooh, this looks absolutely delicious. Lovely photos, makes the food look like I could reach in and touch it. Glad I found you through Kellie at Food to Glow.

  15. snenny July 22, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    I made this yesterday… fabulous. Peeling the chickpeas really was worth the extra effort, the skins came away surprisingly easy. It was also weirdly therapeutic, which perhaps says more about me than I would care for it to! The resulting hummus was just incredible. New favourite hummus recipe!

  16. jarrah August 12, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Made the hummus and you are so right about removing the skins. Yes, it was painstaking but totally worth it!! Delicious and creamy. Thank you!

  17. Jen Muir August 12, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    great recipe! the skins come off easily if you put the chick peas on a tea towel and rub them with a second tea towel. 🙂

  18. Wikaniko December 11, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    Fantastic recipe, I like houmous with boiled potatos and salad.

  19. The Table of Zekki January 1, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    Being a cypriot I do like a traditional homemade hummus, rather the shop bought stuff. This sounds good.

  20. tori January 15, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Made this today! took a little extra time and did take the skins off the chickpeas. totally worth it and turned out delicious! best hommus i’ve made! and much less oily! 🙂 thanks!

  21. kellie@foodtoglow February 4, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    OMG Natalie! I am just getting ready to post the same tip for my hummus! I can’t digest chickpeas – or so I thought – and have found that skinning them allows me to have more than a tiny teaspoon of it. I can’t believe the coincidence, but I hope you don’t mind that I will be posting this tomorrow – different measures though. Won’t be as pretty though. And haven’t grilled my bread. LOL! What are the chances, huh?

    • Natalie Ward February 4, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      Wow, I didn’t know that removing the skins made them easier to digest, there’s always a reason for everything I suppose! Don’t worry about it we have the same taste in food and I don’t own the “rubbing skins off chickpeas” copyright!!! I’m so glad you can eat it now, I couldn’t live without a hummus fix every now & then!

  22. kellie@foodtoglow February 4, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    What a div! I didn’t see that this post is from 2012 and I thought it was Feb 2013! Should’ve read this tip awhile ago as I only just figured this out for myself before Christmas. xx

  23. Ann March 14, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    I make hummus a lot. Great tip about removing the skins of the chickpeas and how great to have a recipe that doesn’t involve using yoghurt!

  24. Arnie March 17, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Mmmmmm…….that looks delicious. That is exactly how a hummus should look!!

  25. Sarah Eden April 3, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    Absolutely divine, easy and gorgeous, even better with a large glass of cold white wine! Thank you

  26. Isabel Warshaw April 20, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    Most delicious hummus I’ve ever made. I popped the skins off one by one before boiling, that way I was sure to get them all. Not a bother if there’s a good play on the radio while doing it! Anyway, the result was well worth the time spent.

  27. Sophie May 12, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    I made your recipe today and it turned out amazing.. The technique you explain is a lot easier than what i imagined and definitely worth the little extra effort.. Thats my first time making Hummus so im very happy right now 🙂 Thanks a lot for the great recipes..

  28. Rachael July 14, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    Mmmmmmm! This looks awesome! I’ve never made hummus, so this recipe will be my first try, thank you!

  29. Cilleriania August 10, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    I just made this, skins on with my stick mix and it is really smooth. I found it pretty potent, so I am not sure what I did wrong?! When I try it next, I think I’ll add more chickpeas.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Weeks Delish! - May 12, 2012

    […] never made my own hummus before but always wanted too. This hummus recipe looks […]

  2. A bit of the Middle East « A Bit of This & a Bit of That - July 20, 2012

    […] Cook Eat Live Vegetarian is a blog from which I get some great hints about vegetarian food.  While hummus is hummus to me, I loved the tip on how to remove the skins from the chickpeas.  I’ve never done it before and so used that method: “Place the drained and rinsed chickpeas in a saucepan and cover them with water by at least an inch. Gently rub the chickpeas against each other with your hands in the pan. Do this for a few minutes. Skim off any visible skins from the top. Bring to a boil then lower the heat and simmer for about 15 minutes until the chickpeas are very soft. Check by squishing one between your fingers, it should squish very easily. Remove from the heat and skim off any more visible skins.”  What a fab hint!  And I did it with my drained can of chickpeas as I got the rest of my ingredients all set up.  It wasn’t that much work and the results spoke for themselves – much smoother hummus than I’ve had before. […]

  3. Roasted Beetroot Hummus with Toasted Flatbread Crackers « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - January 1, 2013

    […] my most popular (or most visited) post of 2012 was this traditional hummus recipe. I don’t know why but if you search for Hummus or Hummus recipe in Google it’s […]

  4. Avocado Hummus With Coriander and Lemon | Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - March 27, 2013

    […] you are a bit of a hummus freak like me. Have at look at this Authentic Creamy Hummus and this Roasted Beetroot Hummus […]

  5. Pinedale, Wyoming’s Museum of the Mountain Man and Easy-travel Homemade Hummus | The Crafty Cook Nook - July 29, 2013

    […] Easy Homemade Hummus (a Cook Live Eat Vegetarian recipe, adapted from Desert Candy) Serves 3-4 as a […]

  6. Inexpensive Meals and Ideas on a Budget | Healthy Aggies - October 4, 2013

    […] Make a hummus dipping platter with pita bread and raw vegetables such as snap peas, sliced cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, broccoli, or cauliflower florets. Chickpeas, the main ingredient in hummus, are rich in fiber and protein. They also contain vitamins and minerals such as folic acid, zinc, and magnesium. Trader Joes sells hummus for less then $2, or create your own using the recipe here! […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth