Orange Curd and Little Tarts

13 Feb

Living here at the moment is like living in an orange world. People keep giving me bags full. The trees seem to produce so much fruit with so little work. Everyone has orange trees and nobody knows what to do with them all, so they give them away.

Not that I mind it gives me a chance to get creative, there is only so much orange juice you can drink…..

I’ve made lemon curd before and it was really easy and had been thinking about making curd with the oranges that were threatening to go off  in carrier bags in my kitchen.I wasn’t sure it would work or about the sugar ratio. The deciding moment came when I saw a recipe for orange passionfruit curd tarts on 6 Bittersweets. They looked so beautiful, I didn’t need any more encouragement……….

I used the same recipe I used to make lemon curd but I just used a bit less sugar. It worked!  It really is lovely on toast and the smell of  the orange zest while you are making it is intoxicating……

It is really easy to make into a tart as well. You just pour/ dollop it into a baked sweet tart case and leave it in the fridge to set.

Orange Curd Recipe

makes 3 jars, vegetarian

  • grated zest & juice of 4 oranges
  • 4 eggs
  • 300 gr caster sugar
  • 230 gr room temperature unsalted butter
  • 2 tsp cornflour

Lightly whisk the eggs in a medium saucepan, add the rest of the ingredients and put on a medium high heat. Whisk continuously until thickened (about 5-8 minutes). Lower the to minimum and simmer, still whisking for another minute. Remove from the heat and pour into hot sterilized jars (Just put them through the dishwasher). Seal immediately, leave to cool then store in the fridge.

Orange Curd Tart Recipe

  • orange curd (see recipe above)
  • baked sweet tart shell/cases see my recipe here or buy one/some
  • icing sugar
  • orange zest curls

Bake the tart shell/cases until golden, leave to cool slightly then pour/dollop in the orange curd. Spread it about evenly and chill in the fridge. Best eaten on the same day as filling the case. When ready to serve, dust with a little icing sugar and top with some orange zest curls.

It would be lovely topped with soft meringue and baked too. I will have to try that next time. I have a feeling there will be a next time, my friend Rhian has just invited our dog, Rufus, around to play. She said to bring a bag as she has loads of oranges………..

15 Responses to “Orange Curd and Little Tarts”

  1. Liz February 13, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Gorgeous tarts! The garnish is perfect~

  2. kateiscooking February 13, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I love making lemon curd so this will be a wonderful twist! Thanks 🙂 Kate @kateiscooking

  3. Jill February 13, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    I love where you live with all these oranges and sun! I also love your posts. The orange curd looks divine. Good idea also with the meringue but “plain” will do me any day!

  4. Cooking Pretty February 13, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Ooh, love this post. Amazing glowy pictures!!

  5. Mateja February 13, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    You are so luck to be surounded with all those orange trees! And your little tarts are so cute and photos so alive! Just delicious, thank you for sharing 🙂

  6. happywhennothungry February 14, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    This curd looks delicious and so fresh. Love your photos!

  7. tony ward February 14, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Gotta give these a whirl……they look divine, I can almost taste them from here !!! The choc’, fruit, nut Ialian creation worked out a treat….have the waistline to prove it !! lol xx

  8. Medeja February 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Look so bright, sunny an optimistic 🙂 I love sweets with orange flavor 🙂

  9. Stephanie @ okie dokie artichokie February 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Oh my gosh, how gorgeous is that! :-p I had a ton of oranges this past week…I should’ve made these! These totally remind me of Spring. Oooh, can’t wait! :-p

  10. Vicki @ WIlde in the Kitchen February 15, 2011 at 5:42 am #

    I want to live in your world where people give you bags of fresh oranges! I’m so jealous! Both of these treats look amazing.

  11. denise @ bread expectations February 15, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    Oh yes!!! I actually make my own orange curd when the mood strikes because I can only find lemon curd in the shops and I think orange smells and tastes better. Your orange curd is PERFECT! I can see it’s wobbly 😀 And that tart is so pretty, looking at it almost hurts 😉 This page is driving me nuts with all that baby/powder/duck egg blue. It just happens to be my absolute favourite colour. Even my Kitchenaid is the same colour….

  12. Rita February 15, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    OMG! It’s fantastic! I love all things orange (and citrus). I’m lucky enough to have my in-laws who bring me a lot of oranges. I’ve never tried to make curd but it’s something that charmes me. I’ll try it!

  13. Celia February 15, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    What lovely tarts! And your adorably topped curd jars are great…

  14. honeybeeluvsjackfruit February 16, 2011 at 5:36 am #

    I so wish I lived where you do. Those orange trees made my heart skip a beat. Beautiful!!
    The orange curd sounds so tempting too. I was going to make lemon curd this week but I made lemon meringue pie instead 🙂

  15. Xiaolu @ 6 Bittersweets March 11, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Mmm looks gorgeous! So glad my tarts helped you come up with these. Wish I could try your creation =D.

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth