Pisto Con Huevos – A Rustic Spanish Classic

1 Oct

Pisto con huevos is a Spanish version of ratatouille (pisto) topped with an egg then baked in the oven, in my version anyway. Alternatively you can top it with a fried egg or mix the eggs into the pisto like scrambled.

This popular rustic dish is often referred to as Pisto Manchego because it was first developed in central La Mancha. Manchego means “from La Mancha”. You may not know that the true Manchego cheese is made only from whole milk of the Manchega sheep raised in the “La Mancha” region.  Hard cured sheep’s milk cheeses from other regions are called Queso de Oveja Curado.

Similar to the Provencal ratatouille, it’s a mixture of tomatoes, onions, green and red peppers, aubergines, courgettes and olive oil. I decided to make this dish because these are the vegetables I see growing while walking the dog at the moment.

In fact I see a lot of them rotting on the ground, such a shame. It’s definitely the time of year to make a big pot of pisto.

I added chilli to mine (not authentic) but it really enhances all the other flavours turning a basic dish into something really special, perfect for this time of year when all these vegetables are at their peak.

I served it with a Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread which was great for dunking into the delicious pisto and soft egg yolk.

I will be posting the cornbread recipe tomorrow. It was my first ever try at making or eating cornbread and I was really pleased with it. It’s a lot lighter than a thought it would be.

Pisto Con Huevos Recipe

serves 2-3, vegetarian, gluten-free

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finley chopped
  • 1 red chilli, finely chopped (optional)
  • 1 medium aubergine, 1 cm diced
  • 1 medium courgette, 1 cm diced
  • 1 large red pepper,deseeded 1 cm diced
  • 3 or 4 small green peppers, (see picture above) deseeded 1 cm diced
  • 3 -5 plum tomatoes (depending on size), chopped
  • salt & black pepper
  •  a few sprigs of fresh thyme, leaves removed from stem
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 3 tbsp tomate frito (tomato passata/puree)
  • a handful of fresh parsley, chopped plus extra for garnish
  • 1 large egg per person
  • finely grated manchego (or other hard cured cheese), for garnish

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over a medium heat then add the onions and a pinch of salt. Cook for 4-5 minutes until softened then add the garlic and chilli and cook for another 2 minutes.

Throw in all of the diced vegetables, season well with salt and black pepper and add in the thyme leaves, paprika and tomate frito/passata/puree. Stir everything together well and cook uncovered, stirring occasionally until all the vegetables are cooked and fairly soft, about 20-25 minutes.

Stir through the chopped parsley and taste for seasoning, add more salt if necesssary. You can keep it now until you are ready to serve.

To serve, preheat oven to 190 C. Divide the pisto between 2 or 3 ovenproof serving dishes, spread it out in an even layer and make a little dip in the centre for the egg. Crack the egg into the dip and bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes until the white of the egg is just set but the yolk is still runny.

Remove from the oven, season the egg with a little salt, pepper & paprika then sprinkle over the fresh parsley and grated cheese.

Serve with good bread for dipping in the pisto and egg yolk.

 Buen Provecho!!

25 Responses to “Pisto Con Huevos – A Rustic Spanish Classic”

  1. Mama J October 1, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    What a beautiful dish. I always love your garden shots too.

  2. The Pink Spoon October 1, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    I absolutely love your style of blogging, the photos really add something and the food looks so fresh and tasty! I will be trying this one 🙂 I look forward to the cornbread recipe.

  3. Savorique October 1, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Two dishes in one: zucchini cornbread and ratatouille! Your productivity rate is improving 😉
    Ratatouille can be quite complicated if you follow the true recipe where each and all veggies must be cooked separately. But I’m sure yours is amazing nonetheless.

  4. ceciliag October 1, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    I will make it, i have all those veges in my gardens as well.. well done.. and I will be back for that cornbread recipe as i have never made it. or eaten it either for that mattier so i look forward to it! c

  5. Kim Bee October 1, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    What a unique and beautiful dish. This is just lovely.

  6. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide October 2, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    I can’t wait to see your cornbread recipe. This looks just wonderful. You really have made the best of local ingredients this summer.

  7. happywhennothungry October 2, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    What a beautiful dish!!! Looking forward to the cornbread recipe as well!

  8. Joanne October 2, 2011 at 4:52 am #

    Oh my word. This looks like it is of EPIC DELICIOUSNESS! And the egg on top is the best part. Yum!

  9. alyssa October 2, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    That looks so good! Anything “con huevos” is good in my book. I’m so far from a vegetarian, but this meatless dish seems so tasty and comforting!

  10. The Chef Doc October 2, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    Oh, this looks amazing! I only wish the weather was cold and dreary here for me to enjoy this dish even more, haha 🙂 Are all those fallen veggies in your yard or are they free for the taking? That would be so cool! I love the egg part; I love eggs 🙂

  11. chicaandaluza October 2, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    How funny – this is what we ate on Friday night! I too put chilli in, and a few sliced up artichokes hearts as I have a fridge full! Lovely shots…

  12. kellie @ foodtoglow October 2, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I want that for lunch! It’s raining buckets here so looking at your sun-filled veg shots is transporting. Although I live in Scotland (hence the rain), I grew up in the Southern US where cornbread in all permutations is made. Your version sounds good – I’m a zucchini-ophile. I’ve recently put a more traditional version on my site, accompanying black bean chilli. Looking forward to seeing your version. And your gorgeous vegetable photos too.

  13. kellie @ foodtoglow October 2, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    PS Husband just said he wants this for dinner tonight. 🙂

    • foodblogandthedog October 2, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      I thought there was heatwave in the UK at the moment! Obviously didn’t get that far north… Enjoy if you have it for dinner tonight!!

  14. Tony Ward October 2, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    This looks stunning, princess. Its a good old fashioned hearty Spanish ‘campesino’ delight, with at wist (as always !).
    Cornbread is very popular here with everyone (not only the locals). Our local deli makes it with roasted veggies which is actually a meal in itself, and often is for us two too !!
    Great pics and I echo some of your fellows bloggers comments, its such a waste to see food rotting on the ground.One of the pleasures, if you happen to be a pig ? ! xx

  15. Beth Michelle October 2, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    This looks so wonderful. It is sort of like Israeli shakshuka which is a tomato based egg dish like this. I cannot take my eyes off of that beautiful bread that was in the background of these gorgeous photos. Very much looking forward to that recipe 🙂

  16. Mandy Vellacott October 2, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    We are all so greedy for your time!!! The recipes you post are fabulous and the energy and time you put into giving us the benefit of your knowledge and the wonderful photos is second to none. But like the others above I too am greedy for the cornbread recipe!!!!! How sad am I? Having a mild intolerance to wheat I recently purchased a bag of cornmeal but all the recipes look bland and boring. I know yours wont be (I too put chili in most things) – so bring on the cornbread recipe – your fans await. In the meantime I am a bit behind in making all your recipes so I will get to work!

  17. Ivan. October 3, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    This dish looks fantastic, I can only imagine how tasty it must be. Wonderful pictures.

  18. Tes October 3, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Oh it looks so comforting and delicious 🙂 I will definitely try this soon 🙂

  19. alican October 4, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    Love the filling of fresh

  20. Alli October 4, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Perfect brunch food, love the earthenware too! Terra-cotta is so expensive here in NZ

  21. Parsley Sage October 4, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    Ohmigoodness! That looks incredible! Love that you used eggplant for this dish. My favorite 🙂

    I bet Don Quixote would have been a big fan of this dish 😉

  22. Dani || Moderate Oven October 4, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    This looks amazing. I love how you are always telling us about dishes I’ve never heard of or considered.

  23. tiffany October 12, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    I love the colors in this dish! And although it’s rustic, to me, something about it screams elegant too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - October 4, 2011

    […] I served it with my Pisto Con Huevos… […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth