Tibetan Vegetable Momos with Coriander and Cashew Nut Pesto

4 Nov

Momos are a type of dumpling popular in Tibet and Nepal where they are sold as street food or fast food. The  main fillings include minced chicken or lamb/goat mixed with onions and spices, as well as finely minced vegetables or cheese. There are even sweet momos filled with chocolate.

They are traditionally steamed, or sometimes fried and served with a tomato based dipping sauce or in a  hot soup/broth.

Antonia, the lady that does the washing up at the restaurant, has grown some fresh coriander on her finca and gave us a huge bunch of it in a carrier bag. You may have noticed that I use a lot of fresh coriander in my cooking, but not that much! So, to use up a lot of it before it wilted I decided to make an Asian spiced coriander pesto to go with these momos.

To make the momos you have to roll out the pastry really thinly and cut out circles with a glass or cookie cutter.

Place a heaped teaspoon of the filling on one side of the circle, leaving the edges clear.

Then fold the pastry over the filling and push the edges together with your fingers and seal/crimp the edges with a chopstick or fork.

You can store them in the fridge at this point until ready to serve, then steam them for about 1o minutes or deep-fry until golden on both sides.

I had a lot of the filling leftover so I stir-fried it with some vermicelli rice noodles, soy and my sweet chilli sauce to serve with the momos and pesto.

Tibetan Vegetable Momos & Rice Noodles with Coriander & Cashew Nut Pesto

Serves 3 Makes about 16, Vegan.  Adapted from Love Food Eat

For the dough

  • 225 gr (1 1/2 cups) flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • approx. 100 ml (1/2 cup) water

Sieve the dry ingredients into a bowl and stir in the water, a little at a time, until you have a soft dough.You may need a little more water, just add a tablespoon more at a time. Knead on a lightly floured surface until smooth. Leave it in the bowl covered with a damp tea towel for at least an hour.

For the filling

  • 1/4 medium cabbage, core removed and roughly shredded
  • 1/4 cauliflower, core removed and roughly chopped
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 leek, halved lengthways, rinsed and roughly chopped
  • a handful of green beans, trimmed and roughly chopped
  • a handful of fresh coriander, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 2 chillis, deseeded and finely chopped
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp rice vinegar
  • salt & black pepper

Put each vegetable, one type at a time into a food processor and blitz until finely chopped. Tip into a large bowl while you do the rest. Add the finely chopped coriander and mix all the vegetables together well.

Heat 1 or 2 tablespoons of oil in a large pan, over a medium heat and add the ginger, chilli and garlic. Cook for a few seconds then add in the vegetables. Cook for 2 or 3 minutes until slightly softened but not mushy. Stir in the soy and vinegar and season with a little salt & black pepper, taste for seasoning. Set aside to cool.

On a floured surface roll out the dough into a very thin sheet. Using a 3 inch cookie cutter or a glass(dusted with flour), cut out discs, you can re roll the off cuts if necessary. You should get about 16.

Place a heaped teaspoon of filling in one half of each pastry circle, leaving the edges clear (see photos above). Then fold the pastry over the filling to make a semicircle, press the edges together with your fingers then seal/crimp the edges well with a chopstick or fork. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Spread the momos out in a greased steamer so they have space in between. I don’t have a steamer so I lined a sieve with greaseproof paper and balanced it above a saucepan of boiling water. Put on the lid and steam for 10-15 minutes until cooked through.

Serve immediately with sweet chilli sauce and this coriander & cashew nut pesto.

Asian Coriander & Cashew Nut Pesto

Makes 1 jar, Vegan. Adapted from Mission Delectable

  • 1 big bunch coriander, including stalks, remove tough root ends
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 75 gr cashew nuts
  • 1 green chilli, chopped
  • 2 tsp minced ginger
  • the zest & juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1 tbsp palm sugar or brown sugar
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • salt & black pepper
  • 4 tbsp (1/4 cup) olive oil, or more

Put all the ingredients except the oil in a blender and blitz until well combined. Add the oil a bit at a time with the processor running if possible and blend until the desired consistency is reached. Taste for seasoning and balance of flavours. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

 Vermicelli Rice Noodles

I had quite a bit of the filling left over so I used it in this noodle dish.

  • vermicelli rice noodles
  • leftover momo filling
  • sesame oil
  • soy sauce
  • sweet chilli sauce
  • fresh coriander

Soak the noodles in boiling water for a few minutes (or according to the instructions on the packet), drain in a colander and run under the cold tap to stop cooking and sticking together.

Heat a little sesame oil in a large pan or wok and add in the momo filling, stir fry for a minute then add in the vermicelli, a splash of soy and sweet chilli sauce and toss everything together. Once heated through, stir through some fresh coriander and taste. Add more soy/sweet chilli to taste.

 Have a great weekend!

31 Responses to “Tibetan Vegetable Momos with Coriander and Cashew Nut Pesto”

  1. ceciliag November 4, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Such a feast and i still have piles of coriander in my garden so i am dying to make that pesto.. it will be gorgeous! c

  2. veggiegrettie November 4, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    Natalie this looks fantastic! Homemade dumplings are SO MUCH BETTER than store-bought. I am spoiled because I seem to have an endless supply of homemade dumplings in my freezer (supplied my my Chinese in-laws)…now I wished I had a bag of yours in my freezer too 🙂

    Great post.

  3. Isabelle @ Crumb November 4, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    My favourite Tibetan restaurant closed a couple of years ago, and your recipe sounds almost exactly like the lovely vegetarian momos they used to serve. Yay! Must try these out soon.

  4. Christine November 4, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    This looks good. Nice photos.

  5. VogueVegetarian November 4, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Natalie, what gorgeous photos and effort you have put into this recipe. I just stumbled across your blog and I am so glad I did. It is amazing. I can’t wait to read some more… Thank you!

  6. sarah November 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Wow these look fantastic! I have a fear of pastry dough but I’m thinking that I might risk it for these- lovely post!

  7. thewobblingoblins November 4, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    These look delicious – I can’t wait to try making them! I could eat cilantro in/on everything.

  8. frugalfeeding November 5, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    This sounds fantastic. Thanks for teaching me about momos. This is exactly the reason why I trawl around wordpress, it allows me to read recipes regarding so many different foods and cuisines.

  9. Alli@peasepudding November 5, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Wow that coriander pesto is definitely on my hit list, one I’d my favorite ingredients. Love dumplings too but I am a bit lazy and buy the dumpling wrappers

  10. chicaandaluza November 5, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    This are so beautiful – so much love and work went into them and I can only imagine the taste. You really need to approach some publishers with a view to getting a book of all your wonderful recipes and photos out there – I´d be first in the queue at the launch!

    • foodblogandthedog November 5, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      Thanks so much Tanya, you don’t know any do you?!!

      • Chica Andaluza November 11, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

        If you´re serious I recommend you buy the Writers and Artists Yearbook – I did when I approached publishers, it has EVERYTHING you need to know about getting published plus the latest listings. Can highly recommend it!

      • foodblogandthedog November 12, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

        Thanks for that Tanya I’ll check it out now!

  11. Ayako Mathies November 5, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I love momo! I’ve had the best cheese momo at a family friend’s house in Paro, Bhutan. Yours looks sooooo goooood.

  12. Tony Ward November 5, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Just a mo mo, this is gonna be hard to say no no !! (sorry haven’t had my tablet yet!!) Looks great, I can almost taste the coriander.Love the pic’s they help to wet the appetite.Just had eggs benedict with coriander rosti @ Voila in the Cape Qtr, so this’ll have to wait ’till this evening dahling.
    I know a publisher here in C.T. !! ?? xx

    • foodblogandthedog November 5, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Coriander rosti sounds delicious, It’s going on my list!!

  13. alyssa November 6, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I don’t know what I like more, the dumplings or the left overs! They both sound delicious!

  14. d November 6, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    the momos look so delicious…. i have been wanting to make them for so long, but just the thought of making a long recipe like this, make me feel not to make it

  15. dassana@vegrecipesofindia November 6, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    the momos look so delicious…. i have been wanting to make them for so long, but just the thought of making a long recipe like this, make me feel not to make it…

    i have to muster enough patience and time, to make such a delectable and delicate recipe…

  16. kellie @ foodtoglow November 6, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Natalie these look amazing! I am very impressed that you made your own dough as it is so easy to pick up gyoza/potsticker/wonton wrappers – but these likely contain some unwanted ingredients. I am bookmarking this beauty to make on a day when I have the time to give it proper attention. Gorgeous! Who needs nasty pork mince…

  17. E November 7, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    These look so delicious!!! I hope you are doing well!

  18. Celia November 7, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    I never cease to be amazed at the wide world of dumplings. Thanks for introducing me to a new one!

  19. Miranda November 7, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I ADORE dumplings!!!! Looks soo yummy

  20. Richa@HobbyandMore November 7, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    all of of fave thigns rolled into one… lovely looking momos and such pretty pictures.. love the cilantro cashew pesto.. i can almost taste all these flavors together, now if only someone can make the dough and shape them and such and feed me lots of these:)

  21. Beth Michelle November 15, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I ate so many momos in Tibet this past summer. I loved them! My favorite was the potato momos. Your momos look amazing!!!

  22. tiffany November 20, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    I want all over this dish! … especially that pesto!

  23. Elisa Carbone November 25, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    I just tried this with my whole family and it was a success!! Ginger gave it a incredible taste, very fragrant and slightly spicy. Great recipe, thanks!

    • foodblogandthedog November 25, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks for letting me know I’m so pleased it worked out and you all enjoyed it!!

  24. peppermint and lemongrass December 31, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    They look and sound amazing. I love dumplings and corinader, so I’m definitely going to give these a try while I’m on my holiday break! Can’t wait 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A 7 Day Break From Holiday Eating | Chez M - December 6, 2011

    […] I am going to snack on Black Olive Hummus and a delicious White Bean Spread recipe from Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Everyday cookbook. I am going to make my Soba Noodles with Tofu and a warming Coconut Red Lentil Soup. I want to try this recipe for Ginger Roasted Carrots with Mellow Miso Dressing, this Fall Celariac Soup and if I have time I would love to try making my own Coconut Milk and this interesting recipe for Tibetan Vegetable Momos with Coriander and Cashew Nut Pesto! […]

  2. Reflections On Food: Five Foods To Live For… | Mirth and Motivation - February 18, 2012

    […] Tibetan Vegetable Momos with Coriander and Cashew Nut Pesto (foodblogandthedog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth