Avocado Hummus With Coriander and Lemon

27 Mar

Avocado Hummus

We are coming to the end of the Hass avocado season here now and I can’t believe I haven’t shared a recipe with you using my favourite fruit/vegetable yet. Avocados are excellent for helping to lower cholesterol, keeping  your heart healthy, preventing cancer and alleviating symptoms of arthritis.

Avocados on TreeThey are still cheap and plentiful here at the market so I bought a kilo on Sunday. One of my favourite recipes using avocado is this Tricolor Baked Avocado. If you’ve never tried avocado cooked you should, it’s surprisingly delicious.

avocados

This is new recipe to me and I have to say it is definitely a keeper. Two of my favourite dishes fused together in a bowl.  It’s a hummus and guacamole hybrid. It shouldn’t work but it does, brilliantly. And it’s quick, easy, healthy and addictive.

Perfect for a snack or late night supper when you can’t be bothered with anything complicated.

Avocado Hummus

Avocado Hummus Recipe

Serves 2-3, vegan, gluten-free. Adapted from Kiran Tarun

  • 200 g cooked chickpeas (drained & rinsed)
  • 1 large avocado (I used 2 mini ones)
  • 1 large clove garlic
  • 3 Tbsp tahini
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • a big handful of fresh coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle chilli sauce (optional)
  • salt & black pepper
  • olive oil

Put all the ingredients into a food processor (or use a stick blender) with a splash of olive oil and puree until smooth. You can add more oil if you need to get the right consistency. Taste and check seasoning.

Avocado Hummus

Serve with raw veggies or toasted pita for dipping. You could try making your own flour tortilla or flatbread crackers by brushing them with oil, cutting into triangles with scissors, sprinkling with cumin, salt & pepper and baking at 125C for about 10 minutes until crispy.

Or just spread it on some wholemeal toast, sprinkled with sea salt. Heaven.

Avocado Hummus

If you are a bit of a hummus freak like me. Have at look at this Authentic Creamy Hummus and this Roasted Beetroot Hummus too.

Enjoy!

imagesCAFT0O3W

23 Responses to “Avocado Hummus With Coriander and Lemon”

  1. thesparkledsidewalk March 27, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    looks yummy!!

  2. annashortcakes March 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    This sounds wonderful. Two things I love – avocado and hummus!

  3. spree March 27, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    Hummus is a staple in our home…THIS will be the next version!

  4. dassana March 27, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    two of my fav recipes too. i had bookmarked this recipe from kiran’s blog and i have to try this hummus soon.

  5. frugalfeeding March 27, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

    Love this idea – cracking colour too. i’m always looking for new hummus ideas 😀

  6. musingmar March 27, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    I enjoy hummus but I hadn’t thought of putting avocado in it. Thank you for sharing this great idea!

  7. kellie@foodtoglow March 28, 2013 at 4:03 am #

    This makes me want to slap my head: why hadn’t I thought of this? Genius.

  8. Eha March 28, 2013 at 5:00 am #

    Oh! Oh! Oh! What an Easter present of a recipe of a fusion I probably would never have thought of. With our avocado season just beginning Down Under just cannot wait and try – and, as soon as Easter is over, want to share ‘with other likeminded’!!!!!!

  9. Chica Andaluza April 1, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    OOh I love th wound of this – a double whammy of gorgeousness!

  10. Andrew ForbesAndrew April 2, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    Looks great – will get R to give this receipe a go! 🙂

  11. curlyhairinmo April 5, 2013 at 5:47 am #

    This looks amazing and like such a simple recipe. Can’t wait to try it!

  12. sara April 7, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    This looks SO delicious! I Love trying out new recipes so I must give this one a try

    http://sarassweetstyle.blogspot.com/

  13. Luv'n Spoonfuls April 9, 2013 at 4:56 am #

    So many of my favorite flavors having a happy party in one bowl! Can’t wait to give this a try…the color is so gorgeous as well. Love, love, love this!

  14. coastalmom April 9, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

    I must send this one to my daughter! She is going to absolutely love it!
    http://thenakedbird.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/vanilla-cashew-milk-waste-not-want-not/

  15. Allison Day April 15, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    What a great idea! Love the colour and flavour combo. I’m always looking for new ways to jazz up hummus.

  16. Kiran April 15, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Looks so delish! And thanks for linking and adapting to my recipe 🙂

  17. 4plates2table April 16, 2013 at 1:51 am #

    Looks so good! One of my favorite combinations is a slice of toasted whole grain bread with avocado mushed on top and a little salt & pepper. Can’t get enough avocado these days. Nice post.

  18. Shivangi May 28, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Going to make it for adults for my DD’s 3rd bday party, looks awesome!!

  19. clothespin June 22, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    Can’t wait to try this! Two of my favorite things in one! And, I get to use my new fancy food processor!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Hummus | Happy Green Runner - July 10, 2013

    […] extra ingredients. Some unique examples include beet hummus, edamame hummus, pumpkin hummus, and avocado hummus. The sky is the […]

  2. Avocado Hummus With Coriander and Lemon | Super-powerful You with Sue - August 31, 2013

    […] Avocado Hummus With Coriander and Lemon. […]

  3. Week 8 – I quit sugar and chocolate | I quit chocolate - September 10, 2013

    […] week instead of meals and sugary treats, like Temptation Chocolate? I have found hummus, and lately avocado hummus to be a great thing to have in the fridge to have with carrot sticks.  It is easy to make up and […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth