Mee Goreng – Malaysian Fried Noodles

22 Jun

Mee goreng which translates as fried noodles is a very popular dish in Indonesia, Malaysia & Singapore. Thought to be derived from Chow Mein, it is believed to have been brought over by Chinese immigrants.

There are hundreds of different variations of  Mee Goreng. It is sold from stalls as street food as well as in high-end restaurants. Some versions contain prawns, chicken or beef.  This recipe came from Ami’s Vegetarian Delicacies who lives in Malaysia. I changed the egg noodles to soba noodles to keep it vegan & gluten-free and used cashews instead of peanuts but apart from that it is fairly similar to her original recipe.

Malaysian Mee Goreng Recipe

serves 2-3, vegan, gluten-free. Adapted from Amis Vegetarian Delicacies

  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 150 gr mushrooms , cleaned & thinly sliced
  • a handful of cashew nuts (I used salted)
  • 150 gr chinese cabbage, shredded
  • 1 carrot, shaved into ribbons with a peeler
  • 1 stick celery, diagonally sliced
  • 1 tbsp chilli bean paste
  • 200 gr soba noodles (or egg noodles)
  • 2 or 3 spring onions, sliced diagonally (save some of the green parts for garnish)
  • 1 spring garlic, finely sliced

For the sauce

  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 spring onion, finely sliced
  • 1 tbsp dark soy sauce or kecap manis (Indonesian sweet soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp oyster sauce (vegetarian)
  • 1 tbsp curry paste (I used Massaman curry paste)
  • 1 tbsp sambal oelek (Indonesian chilli sauce)

To Garnish

  • a handful of fresh coriander/chives (optional)
  • a few slices of spring onion (green parts)
  • a handful of cashew nuts (I used salted)
  • a handful of crispy fried onions (bought in a bag/tub)

Heat the olive and sesame oils in a large frying pan or wok over a medium heat. Add the mushrooms and cashew nuts and cook for about 5 minutes until the mushrooms are browned. Tip this into a bowl and set aside.

In the same pan add a bit more of the oils, when hot , stir in the cabbage, carrot, celery and chilli bean paste and stir fry for 3-4 minutes. Tip this into the bowl with the mushrooms and mix well.

Meanwhile cook the noodles in boiling salted water according to the instructions on the packet, drain them in  a colander, rinse under the cold tap to stop them cooking and set aside.

For the sauce heat the sesame oil in the same frying pan over a medium heat and stir fry the spring onion, garlic and ginger for 2 minutes but don’t let it burn. Then add the rest of the sauce ingredients and stir everything together for a minute.

Reduce the heat slightly, stir in the noodles and cooked vegetables and mix everything to coat in the sauce and heat through. Serve immediately garnished with more cashews, spring onions, crispy onions and fresh coriander/chives.

This is also equally delicious served cold/room temperature the next day as a salad.  This gives the flavours time to develop and mingle together.

Enjoy!

Things That Made Me Smile Today……

A field of lilac flowers….

Apricot Oleander….

Bright orange/coral rose, amazing…..

20 Responses to “Mee Goreng – Malaysian Fried Noodles”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 22, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    You’ve trained me well. I was reading the recipe and thinking how good it looked, then I realized I hadn’t seen flowers yet! Glad they’re in there too!

    • foodblogandthedog June 22, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

      I know! I took some pictures of chive flowers for the garnish but they didn’t come out very well, well spotted!! 😀

  2. Andrew Sloan June 22, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I will certainly be making this one. Beautiful flowers!

  3. Caroline June 22, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    I love all of your ethnic cooking, makes me want to branch out a bit and try some different recipes! Gorgeous photos as always. Love the concept of fried noodles.

  4. Maris(In Good Taste) June 22, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Lovely dinner and gorgeous flowers

  5. Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts June 23, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    These noodles look delicious! I love trying different Asian Noodle dishes – thanks for sharing!

  6. happywhennothungry June 23, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    This dish looks fantastic! I love those noodles and I love all the flavors. Your photos are beautiful too!

  7. The Travelling Chopsticks June 23, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    Oh Mee Goreng – how I miss you! This is comfort food for me – I usually had prawn mee goreng every weekend when I lived in Singapore with extra blachan (fermented prawn paste) and lime squeezed over. Admittedly not the most apetizing if you are a vegetarian…but oh so good! Thanks for this post – I am going to try and recreate it 🙂 love the flowers too (although I am all about the food!)

  8. amisvegetarian June 23, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    Hi Natali,

    Mee Goreng looks delicious. Btw I’ve not used egg noodles in my recipe. I like ur idea of using soba noodles and throwing in fried onion for garnishing. I like my one, as well as your’s looks amazing.

  9. erinwyso June 23, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    YUM! This looks fantastic. I’ve been looking for some summery-dishes as the temp goes up in the following months. I like that this can be served cold. This will definitely get into the rotation — thanks for sharing!

  10. Medeja June 23, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    What a wonderful dish! What a wonderful pictures! I love it, but I never tried to make it.. I saved the recipe and hope I will remember to try it sometime 🙂

  11. Beth Michelle June 23, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Your recipes always look so amazing and this makes me wish I had everything in my kitchen to make it! Beautiful photos too 🙂

  12. sarah June 24, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    Oh my goodness this looks so so good- I love the soba noodles and all the different flavorings in this!

  13. tony ward June 24, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Nasi(if thats how you spell it ) Goreng is Pauls fave oriental dish, with prawns,it must be said. This one is a must especially with the new noodles we have at our disposal with the new food range he is handling.Wish me luck.lol xx

  14. Marmande in the Kitchen June 26, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    I bookmarked this one! I’ve been trying to learn more about Malaysian food, and this looks delicious. I like the idea of using soba noodles, can’t wait to give it a try!

  15. tiffany June 30, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    You had me at sesame oil and chili paste! 😀 And love the last picture of the rose!!!

  16. denise @ bread expectations July 7, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    This caught my eye earlier but I had to stop reading to cook dinner. Wow! The flavours in that bowl!! I cook mee goreng often at home as my boys LOVE it, but my version is much simpler than this symphony of flavours you’ve stirred up. It really does look incredible and I love that you used soba – one of my favourite noodles!

  17. msdemented July 15, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    really good recepie i am definitely trying it..

  18. kellie @ foodtoglow September 17, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    I’m making this tonight, substituting a homemade Indonesian curry powder which I’ll also use to flavour pan fried strips of firm tofu. Thanks to you both for the recipe.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kimchi – Korean Chilli and Ginger Cabbage Pickle | Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - March 25, 2013

    […] it to vegetable stir fries to add another level of flavour, or to this Soba Noodle Salad or this Mee Goreng. It’s great in Asian style soups with some miso.  I love it sautéed with some broccoli, soy […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth