Tricolor Baked Avocado with Pesto Garlic Bread

29 Nov

The smooth skinned, green avocados are in season here at the moment. Where we walk the dog there are thousands of avocado trees and sometimes, if it has been windy, there will be a windfall or two. Gifts from heaven if you like.

For a change I wanted to make a dish where the avocado was the star rather than just being an ingredient in a salad or made into a guacamole. You can cook avocado, it intensifies the flavour and makes it even more creamy in my opinion. 

 This is a dish that The Washer Up and I came up with when we first moved to Spain and lived with my dad. It’s a hot Tricolor salad really. The avocado is surrounded by a pool of your favourite tomato pasta sauce, topped with sliced or ripped mozzarella and strewn with fresh basil leaves. 

This is a brilliant, quick and easy weekday lunch or supper if you can’t be bothered with long winded recipes and it is great for using up odd bits of cheese too. I’ve made it with crumbled feta, grated cheddar and our classic gouda with cumin seeds. When we first moved to Spain my dad introduced us to Gouda with cumin seeds, I haven’t had it for ages, it’s definitely been too long………..(Goes to write Gouda with Cumin Seeds on shopping list).

Recently, I served it with my pesto garlic bread and it is a fabulous combination, a true match made in heaven.

Tricolor Baked Avocado with Pesto Garlic Bread

serves 2, vegetarian

Prep time: 5 mins Cooking Time: 15-20 minutes

  • 1 or 2 avocados, depending on size & how hungry you are
  • 1 jar tomato pasta/marinara sauce
  • 1 ball mozzarella, sliced or ripped
  • fresh basil leaves
  • olive oil/chilli oil
  • salt & black pepper

You need two smallish ovenproof dishes. Preheat oven to 200 C.

Put one (or two) half (ves) of an avocado in the centre of each dish. Pour enough pasta sauce around each avocado to cover the bottom of the dish.  Lay the pieces of mozzarella around the avocado, top with some basil leaves, season with salt and pepper and drizzle with little olive/chilli oil.

Bake in the preheated for 15-20 minutes until the cheese is bubbling and slightly browned.

For the Pesto Garlic Bread

serves 2, vegetarian

Prep time 10 minutes Cooking time 15 minutes

(Can be cooked at the same time as the avocado)

  • A half baguette/ciabatta (part baked or fully baked)
  • about 45 gr softened butter/spread
  • 3 or 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • a big handful fresh basil leaves
  • 30 gr manchego/parmesan finely grated
  • olive oil
  • salt & black pepper

Preheat oven to 200 C.  Blend all the ingredients except the bread in a processor until well combined.

Slice baguette (but not all the way through so that it still holds together) into 2 inch pieces. Generously spread the pesto butter in the gaps between the slices. Wrap the bread in foil and bake for about 10 minutes. Unwrap the foil and bake for a further 5 or so minutes until browned.

Serve immedialtely with the baked avocado and dunk the pesto garlic bread in the hot tomatoey sauce….

Things That Made Me Smile Today…………..

Anouschka in the washing basket………

Rufus looking very elegant in his pink bandana…… don’t blame me he chooses the pink one very time!!

26 Responses to “Tricolor Baked Avocado with Pesto Garlic Bread”

  1. Taffy November 29, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    First!!!

  2. Kelly November 29, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    What a gorgeous picture, this looks so delicious! Great recipe! 🙂

  3. Suzi November 29, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    I have never thought to cook avocado but this looks truly delicious, what a wonderful recipe. Your photos are stunning as well. Thanks for sharing this. Cheers!

  4. Savorique November 29, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    I’ll be making the avocado dish, it seems quick and easy. Thanks for sharing.
    You know where avocado is also a star? In vegan chocolate mousse, yep!

  5. Smallpeace November 29, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Mmmm. This dish is like a taste of summertime. Growing up in San Diego, I used to climb the avocado trees in our neighbors’ orchard and eat them — skins and all! Creamy, nutty deliciousness. And so hard to find good ones here in New York!

  6. ceciliag November 29, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Divine, i love avocado and miss having a tree awfully, This would be really tasty I can tell. back when we had piles of them i used to make a quiche with avocado and butternut squash.. YUM! c

  7. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide November 29, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Oh Rufus… OK, dogs are color blind. He still looks smashing. I love this idea. I never tire of guac, but I should break out of my avocado rut. Or just buy twice as much.

  8. dassana November 29, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    what a fab and innovative recipe, natalie. i love avocadoes and you are so lucky to have these gifts falling from heaven.

  9. Ramona November 29, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Wow, that bread looks fantastic. I love how you presented it too. I have never cooked with avocado… so now I have something very new to try. 🙂 PS… I think your cat and dog are very cute. I love how Rufus picks the pink bandana. 🙂

  10. Chica Andaluza November 29, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    What a great recipe (well, two great recipes!). I haven´t had baked avocado for ages…and I have a couple sitting in my fruit bowl looking at me and saying “do something interesting with me for a change”!

  11. Carol Campbell November 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    This is tonight’s dinner despite other plans.We all except one love avocados and caprese,what more can I say?

    Carol

  12. Caroline November 29, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Absolutely brilliant!! I’ve never thought to cook avocado like this, but I can see how it would intensify the flavor. Sounds absolutely fantastic, Natalie. Oh, and Anouschka and Rufus are adorable in those photos. 🙂

  13. happywhennothungry November 30, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    Wow this looks delicious! Love the flavors too!

  14. Three Well Beings November 30, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    First things first…your Rufus knows fashion! He’s a gorgeous dog, too! As you know, I’m sure, avocados are abundant in Southern California…and yet I have never even heard of cooking them! Sure, they’re served “hot” as one ingredient in some Mexican dishes, but not cooked this way. Now I can’t wait. This looks simply amazing! Debra

  15. Tony Ward November 30, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    Obviously the regular trips to the ‘therapist’ with Rufus are taking their toll !! Bless him.. This is a great sounding post guapa, can almost taste it from here. Que memorias o Casa Del Rio, no ?? lol xx

  16. valene sampson November 30, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Now this looks like something I want to try right away.I love avo.Thanks for sharing Mr T

  17. Nami | Just One Cookbook November 30, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Hi Natalie! My goodness, the last picture made me painfully hungry for this dish! I mean this looks and sounds so delicious! I’ve never seen a dish like this yet it’s something that we can cook very easily too. I love your creativity Natalie!

  18. Medeja November 30, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Baked avocado! It really sounds interesting. You have so many interesting dishes with fresh vegetables, it’s just amazing.

  19. kathryn elliott November 30, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Oh this is such a lovely idea. I’ve never thought to bake avocado, but I like the idea that it intensifies the flavour. Lovely looking dish you’ve made and I do like the super-herby garlic bread. I shall be trying this soon.

  20. peasepudding December 1, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Beautiful, what a perfect dish. I think my hubby might try and sneak pasta into it but I would enjoy it as it is.

  21. magicofspice December 1, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    This looks so delicious…I adore avocado and love seeing them get a bit of the spotlight!

  22. Ana_IloveTdP January 6, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    Wow!! I love avocados! That bread must be great! I have to try it veeery soon! Gracias!

  23. Harini April 18, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    Never thought to cook avocado, but I’m intrigued. Your pictures are just great!
    -Harini from cleanplatter.blogspot.com

  24. Zest June 17, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    This sounds sooooo good, like my favourite pizza without the dough 🙂 I must try it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Basil Mint Pesto « Fresh Force - February 28, 2012

    […] Tricolor Baked Avocado with Pesto Garlic Bread (foodblogandthedog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Avocado Hummus With Coriander and Lemon | Cook Eat Live Vegetarian - March 27, 2013

    […] here at the market so I bought a kilo on Sunday. One of my favourite recipes using avocado is this Tricolor Baked Avocado. If you’ve never tried avocado cooked you should, it’s […]

Leave a comment

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Pease Pudding

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Chica Andaluza

Sometimes Up a Mountain in Andalucia and sometimes Down by the Sea on the English South Coast

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

for the love of yum

A girl who loves to cook fresh, fun, and global cuisine.

The Path To Authenticity

Mind, Body & Spiritual Growth